clear space clear space clear space white space
 r c h i v e s   o f   M a r y l a n d   O n l i n e

PLEASE NOTE: The searchable text below was computer generated and may contain typographical errors. Numerical typos are particularly troubling. Click “View pdf” to see the original document.

  Maryland State Archives | Index | Help | Search
search for:
clear space
white space
Maryland Manual, 1996-97
Volume 187, Page 539   View pdf image (33K)
 Jump to  
clear space clear space clear space white space

The Board consists of five ex officio members
(Code 1957. Art. 33, sees. 18-1, 18-2).


Chair: Richard N. Dixon, State Treasurer
Appointed by Governor: Paul B. Meritt

Ex officio: Louis L. Goldstein, Comptroller of the
Treasury; Frederick W. Puddester, Secretary of
Budget & Management; David L. Winstead,
Secretary of Transportation.

Goldstein Treasury Building, Room 109
80 Calvert St.
Annapolis, MD 21401 (410)974-3533

Annual Estimate to Governor & General Assembly
of new State debt that may be authorized for
next fiscal year
due Sept. 10

The Capital Debt Affordability Committee was
authorized in 1978 (Chapter 43,Acts of 1978). On
a continuing basis, the Committee reviews the size
and condition of the State tax-supported debt, as
well as other debt of State units, including the
University of Maryland System, Morgan State Uni-
versity, St. Mary's College of Maryland, and Balti-
more City Community College.
Annually, the Committee submits to the Governor
and the General Assembly its estimate of the maxi-
mum amount of new general obligation debt that
prudently may be authorized for the ensuing fiscal
year. In making this estimate, the Committee consid-
ers: 1) the amount of general obligation debt that will
be issued and outstanding during that next fiscal year;
2) the amount of general obligation debt that will be
authorized but unissued during such fiscal year; 3) the
capital program plan prepared by the Department of
Budget and Management for the ensuing five fiscal
years; 4) projections of school construction and capital
improvement needs prepared by the Interagency
Committee on School Construction for the ensuing
five fiscal years; 5) projections of debt service require-
ments for the ensuing ten fiscal years; 6) other factors
relevant to the ability of the State to meet its projected
debt service requirements for the ensuing five years;
7) criteria established or used by recognized bond
rating agencies in judging the quality of State bond
issues; 8) other factors relevant to the marketability of
State bonds; and 9) the effect of additional debt
authorizations on each of the factors enumerated
above. The Committee's estimate is advisory and not
binding upon the Governor, the Board of Public
Works, or the General Assembly.
The Committee has four ex officio members and
one member appointed by the Governor. The State
Treasurer is the chair (Code State Finance and
Procurement Article, sees. 8-104 through 8-116).


Edward M. Ranier, Esq., Chair

Appointed by Governor (who names chair): Rebecca
G. Bowman, Esq.; Charles S. Brown; Earl L.
Canapp; Judith B. Donaldson; Margot G. Gilison;
David M. Goodman; Frank R. Haswell; Joe Jenkins
III; Michael R. Lachance; Lisa E. Maddux, Esq.;
Frank J. Markowski; Thomas J. Murphy III; Frank
A. Porter; John E. Smiaiek, M.D.; Sheila G.
Stewart-Duncan; Harriet K. Suskin; Linda Whitby,

Appointed by Senate President: John J. Hafer;
Martin G. Madden; DecaturW. Trotter.

Appointed by House Speaker: Hattie N. Harrison;
Dan K. Morhaim; C. Anthony Muse.

Ex officio: Susan E. Elson, designee of Secretary of

Staff: Ross K. Goldstein, Esq.
Shauna G. Mitchell, Esq.

c/o Dept. of Legislative Reference
Legislative Services Building
90 State Circle
Annapolis, MD 21401 (410) 841-3870

Report to Governor & General Assembly due Jan. I,

The Task Force to Examine the State's Ceme-
tery and Funeral Industry was organized in 1996
(Chapter 209, Acts of 1996).


Appointed by Governor (who names chair): not yet

Appointed by Senate President: one vacancy
Appointed by House Speaker: one vacancy
Ex officio: John T. Willis, Secretary of State

c/o Office of Secretary of State
State House
Annapolis, MD 21401 (410)974-5534

Annual Report to Governor & General Assembly
due Dec. I (through 2001).

The Task Force on Charitable Giving (known as
Maryland Gives!) was formed in 1996 (Chapter
383, Acts of 1996). The Task Force is to develop a
strategy to increase contributions to charities in
Maryland by individuals and corporations.
Authorization for the Task Force ends December
1, 2001 (Code 1957, Art. 41, sec. 18-310).



clear space
clear space
white space

Please view image to verify text. To report an error, please contact us.
Maryland Manual, 1996-97
Volume 187, Page 539   View pdf image (33K)
 Jump to  

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

An Archives of Maryland electronic publication.
For information contact

©Copyright  October 06, 2023
Maryland State Archives