clear space clear space clear space white space
 r c h i v e s   o f   M a r y l a n d   O n l i n e

PLEASE NOTE: The searchable text below was computer generated and may contain typographical errors. Numerical typos are particularly troubling. Click “View pdf” to see the original document.

  Maryland State Archives | Index | Help | Search
search for:
clear space
white space
Maryland Manual, 1994-95
Volume 186, Page 809   View pdf image
 Jump to  
clear space clear space clear space white space

Maryland Manual 1994-1995 State Central Committees / 809


Each of the two main political parties in Maryland is governed by a state central committee. The state
central committee is composed of the members of the party's local central committees for the counties
and Baltimore City. Each political party functions under its own constitution and bylaws (Code 1957, Art.
33, secs. 11-1 through 11-3).


Vera P. Hall, Chairperson
Michael D. Barnes, Vice-Chairperson
Isabelle C. Lynch, Secretary
Thomas T. Koch, Treasurer

National Committee members: Clarence W. Blount;
Susan Turnbull; Beatrice P. Tignor.

Regional Chairpersons & Vice-Chairpersons selected
by local central committees:
Anne Arundel County:
Daniel D. Nataf, Chairperson;
Kenneth Pippin, Vice-Chairperson. Alternates:
Sylvia Jennings; Daryl Jones; Kimberly McCoy.
Baltimore City: Timothy J.O'Malley, Chairperson;
Michele L. Rosenberg, Vice-Chairperson.
Alternates: Pamela Carter-Goodwin; Thomas
Driscoll; James C. Dugent; Tyrone Johnson;
Shirley Pulliam; T. Michael Scales
Baltimore County: Edmund C. Dotterweich, Jr.,
Chairperson. Alternates: John J. Appel, Jr.;
Diane DeCarlo; Dianne Madoni; James
F.McKenney; Daniel Morhaim.
Central Maryland: Dennis E. Beard, Chairperson;
Kathryn Mann, Vice-Chairperson. Alternate:
Pearline Atkinson-Stewart.
Eastern Shore: James Brown, Chairperson
Montgomery County: Kenneth P. Reichard,
Chairperson; Myrna B. Rosen Byer,
Vice-Chairperson. Alternate: Susan Turnbull.
Prince George's County: Joyce A. Beck, Chairperson;
Donald G. Beach, Vice-Chairperson. Alternates:
Virginia C. Burnette; Joel D. Rozner.
Southern Maryland: Vacancy, Chairperson.
Alternate: A. Shane Mattingly.
Western Maryland: Richard L.Hemphill,
Chairperson; Mary Jane Stakem, Vice-Chairperson.
Jennifer Barron, Young Democrats of Maryland
Shirley Hill, United Democratic Women's Clubs of
Frank Gorman, General Counsel
Terms expire 1994.
Shannon Mouton, Executive Director

224 Main St.
Annapolis, MD 21401 (410) 280-2300

The governing body of the Maryland Demo-
cratic Party is the Democratic State Central Com-
mittee. Committee members are elected from their
respective county or legislative district or are hon-
orary (nonvoting) members designated by the
Committee. Honorary members may include
elected Democratic officials such as the Governor,
Lieutenant Governor, Attorney General, Comp-
troller of the Treasury, U.S. Senator, or U.S. Rep-
resentative. Honorary memberships also may be
extended to former Democratic governors and rep-
resentatives of the Young Democrats of Maryland,
the United Democratic Women's Clubs of Mary-
land, Maryland members of the Democratic Na-
tional Committee, and any others designated by the
State Central Committee.
In each gubernatorial primary election, Demo-
cratic central committees are elected locally by vot-
ers in each county and Baltimore City. Members
serve four-year terms. A member of a local Demo-
cratic central committee must be a registered
Democratic voter and a bona fide resident of the
county or legislative district represented. Any quali-
fied person may run for the office by filing a candi-
dacy with the local Board of Supervisors of



James J. Ortiz, Chairperson

Jean Carolan; Delores Cifala; Dianna
Denham-Parks; Clarence Fansler; David A. Goad;
John McGreevy; Mary Jane Stakem.

William C. Waldecker, Jr., Dist. 31, Chairperson

Dist. 30: John Eldridge, Jr.; Susie Jablinske;
Madeleine Winegrad.
Dist. 31: Grant Acker; Elmer Dunn.
Dist. 32: Daryl Jones; Mary Ann Love; Kenneth
Dist. 33: William Burlison; Sylvia Jennings;
Kimberly McCoy.


clear space
clear space
white space

Please view image to verify text. To report an error, please contact us.
Maryland Manual, 1994-95
Volume 186, Page 809   View pdf image
 Jump to  

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

An Archives of Maryland electronic publication.
For information contact

©Copyright  October 06, 2023
Maryland State Archives