clear space clear space clear space white space
 r c h i v e s   o f   M a r y l a n d   O n l i n e

PLEASE NOTE: The searchable text below was computer generated and may contain typographical errors. Numerical typos are particularly troubling. Click “View pdf” to see the original document.

  Maryland State Archives | Index | Help | Search
search for:
clear space
white space
Maryland Manual, 1994-95
Volume 186, Page 73   View pdf image
 Jump to  
clear space clear space clear space white space

Maryland Manual 1994-1995 Legislature /73

House of Delegates Chamber, architectural drawing from Historic American Buildings Survey,
Maryland State House Project Collection, MSA SC1773, Maryland State Archives.
[see image]

Appointed by Chair, Ways & Means Committee:
Thomas H. Hattery; W. Ray Huff; James F.
Ports, Jr.; Robert A. Thornton, Jr.


Hattie N. Harrison,Chairperson (410) 841-3325
Rose Mary Hatem Bonsack, Vice-Chairperson

Appointed by House Speaker: Gary R. Alexander;
Michael E. Busch; Mary A. Conroy; Gerald J.
Curran; Ulysses Currie; Richard N. Dixon;
Michael R. Cordon; Ronald A. Guns; Kenneth H.
Masters; Pauline H. Menes; Louis P. Morsberger;
Howard P. Rawlings; Ellen R. Sauerbrey; Joseph
F. Vallario, Jr.


Casper R. Taylor, Jr., Speaker . . (410) 841-3800
Kenneth H. Masters, Majority Leader
(410) 841-3464
Ellen R. Sauerbrey, Minority Leader
(410) 841-3401



Pauline H. Menes, Chairperson . (410) 841-3870

Appointed by House Speaker: Curtis S. Anderson;
Frank D. Boston, Jr.; Kenneth C. Montague, Jr.;
Carol S. Petzold; Joan B. Pitkin; Jean W. Roesser;
J. Anita Stup; Virginia M. Thomas.


Gary R. Alexander, Chairperson (410) 841-3391

Appointed by House Speaker: Kumar P. Barve; John
J. Bishop; Ruth M. Kirk; Mary Louise Preis; Victor
A. Sulin.



In Maryland, the House of Delegates originated as the Lower House of the General Assembly in 1650,
when the legislature became a bicameral body (Chapter 1, Acts of 1650). To the Lower House freemen
in each hundred elected burgesses as their representatives. From 1654, the county replaced the hundred
as the local area represented.

The Constitution of 1776 established the House of Delegates whose members represented the voters
who elected them from each county and the towns of Annapolis and Baltimore (Const. 1776, secs. 1-6).
With four delegates representing each county, two representing Annapolis, and two Baltimore, the House
of Delegates originally was based on geographic representation. After 1837, however, population became
the basis of legislative apportionment for the House of Delegates. Since the legislative apportionment plan
of 1972 took effect in the 1974 elections, the House of Delegates has had 141 members.

clear space
clear space
white space

Please view image to verify text. To report an error, please contact us.
Maryland Manual, 1994-95
Volume 186, Page 73   View pdf image
 Jump to  

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

An Archives of Maryland electronic publication.
For information contact

©Copyright  August 02, 2018
Maryland State Archives