clear space clear space clear space white space
 r c h i v e s   o f   M a r y l a n d   O n l i n e

PLEASE NOTE: The searchable text below was computer generated and may contain typographical errors. Numerical typos are particularly troubling. Click “View pdf” to see the original document.

  Maryland State Archives | Index | Help | Search
search for:
clear space
white space
Maryland Manual, 1994-95
Volume 186, Page 662   View pdf image
 Jump to  
clear space clear space clear space white space

662 /Judicial Agencies

law, evidence, real property, torts, and constitu-
tional law. The MBE test usually is given on the
second day of the examination. The first day usually
is devoted to the traditional essay examination,
prepared and graded by the Board.
Pursuant to the Rules Governing Admission to
the Bar, adopted by the Court of Appeals, June 28,
1990 (effective August 1, 1990) and Rules of the
Board adopted October 8, 1990, the subjects cov-
ered by the Board's essay examination encompass
but need not include all of the following subject
areas: agency, business associations, commercial
transactions, constitutional law, contracts, criminal
law and procedure, evidence, Maryland civil proce-
dure, property, professional conduct, and torts. Sin-
gle questions may encompass more than one
subject area and subjects are not specifically labeled
on the examination paper.
The Board also processes applications for admission
filed under Rule 13, which permits out-of-State attor-
neys who have practiced law for a total of ten years or
at least five years of the ten years preceding application
to apply for admission to the Maryland bar. The law-
yers' examination is an essay test limited in scope and
subject matter to Maryland's Rules of Practice and
Procedure and Rules of Professional Conduct. The test
is three hours long and is administered on the first day
of the regularly scheduled bar examination.
The requirement that all applicants to practice
law in Maryland be domiciled in the State when
admitted to the bar was abolished in 1982.
The Board is composed of seven lawyers ap-
pointed to five-year terms by the Court of Appeals.
Authorization for the Board continues until July 1,
1999 (Code Business Occupations and Professions
Article, secs. 10-201 through 10-218).


James J. Cromwell, Esq., Chairperson, 1995

Appointed by Court of Appeals (which names chair):
Barry P. Gossett, 1994; Alfred Nance, Esq., 1994;
Nancy L. Slepicka, Esq., 1994; Darryl G. Fletcher,
Esq., 1995; Donna H. Staton, Esq., 1995; C. Daniel
Saunders, Esq., 1996; Martin P. Lessans, Esq., 1997;
Seymour B. Stern, Esq., 1997; Leonard P. Steuart,

Melvin Hirshman, Esq., Bar Counsel

100 Community Place, S-3301
Crownsville, MD 21032 (410) 514-7051
toll free: 1 800-492-1660

By Rule of the Court of Appeals, the Attorney
Grievance Commission was created in 1975 to ad-
minister discipline and supervise the inactive status
of lawyers. The Commission appoints, subject to

Maryland Manual 1994-1995

approval of the Court of Appeals, a lawyer to serve
as bar counsel and principal executive officer of the
disciplinary system. The bar counsel and staff inves-
tigate all matters involving possible misconduct,
prosecute disciplinary proceedings, and investigate
petitions for reinstatement (Md. Rules, Chapter
1100, subtitle BV). By the same Rule of Court, the
Court of Appeals also established a disciplinary
fund to cover expenses of the Commission and
provided for an Inquiry Committee and a Review
Board to act upon disciplinary cases.
The Commission consists of eight lawyers and
two lay persons appointed by the Court of Appeals
for four-year terms. The chairperson is designated
by the Court.

Harry Wolpoff, Chairperson
(301) 951-6230
Appointed by the Attorney Grievance Commis-
sion, the Inquiry Committee consists of attorneys
selected by the Bar Associations of the appropriate
county or Baltimore City, and lay members.

James V. Anthenelli, Esq., Chairperson, 1994
Lucien T. Winegar, Esq., Vice-Chairperson, 1994

Selected by Board of Governors, Maryland State Bar
Association, & appointed by Attorney Grievance
1st Appellate Circuit: James V. Anthenelli, Esq.,

2nd Appellate Circuit: Anne T. Brennan, Esq.,
1994; William M. Hesson, Jr., Esq., 1996.

3rd Appellate Circuit: Gary Everngam, Esq., 1994;
Joseph Truhe, Esq., 1995; Lucian T. Winegar,
Esq., 1996.

4th Appellate Circuit: Midgett S. Parker, Jr., Esq.,
1995; Stephen A. Markey, Jr., Esq., 1996.

5th Appellate Circuit: Elliott I. Siskind, Esq., 1994;
Charles M. Preston, Jr., Esq., 1995.

6th Appellate Circuit: Kerry D. Staton, Esq., 1994;
Mary N. Humphries, Esq., 1995; Paula M. Junghans,
Esq., 1995; Harry S. Johnson, Esq., 1996; Susan M.
Souder, Esq., 1996.

Appointed by Attorney Grievance Commission:
Thomas V. Clagett, 1995; William J. Schwindt,
1995; Rosalynde K. Soble, Ph.D., 1995.

(410) 514-7051

The Review Board consists of eighteen persons
appointed to three-year terms by the Commission.
Fifteen are attorneys selected by the Board of Gov-
ernors of the Maryland State Bar Association. Three
are lay members from the State at large. Judges are
not permitted as members of the Board.


clear space
clear space
white space

Please view image to verify text. To report an error, please contact us.
Maryland Manual, 1994-95
Volume 186, Page 662   View pdf image
 Jump to  

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

An Archives of Maryland electronic publication.
For information contact

©Copyright  October 06, 2023
Maryland State Archives