clear space clear space clear space white space
 r c h i v e s   o f   M a r y l a n d   O n l i n e

PLEASE NOTE: The searchable text below was computer generated and may contain typographical errors. Numerical typos are particularly troubling. Click “View pdf” to see the original document.

  Maryland State Archives | Index | Help | Search
search for:
clear space
white space
Maryland Manual, 1994-95
Volume 186, Page 660   View pdf image
 Jump to  
clear space clear space clear space white space

660 /Judicial Agencies


(Montgomery County)
Devin J. Doolan, Esq., Chairperson

Appointed by Governor (who names chair): Mary Lou
Fox; Esther Kominers; Aris Mardirossian; Carmen D.
Votaw; Charles F. Wilding. Terms expire 1995.

Elected by lawyers in 11th Commission District: Paul T.
Glasgow, Esq.; Thomas L. Heeney, Esq.; Robert R.
Michael, Esq.; William H. Rowan III, Esq.; Harry C.
Storm, Esq.; Charles E. Wilson, Jr., Esq.


(Calvert & St. Mary's Counties)
James M. Banagan, Chairperson

Appointed by Governor (who names chair): Samuel A.
Bergin; William T. Bowen; Shirley E. Colleary; Robert
Jeffries; Albertine Thomas Lancaster; John K. Parlett,
Jr. Terms expire 1995.

Elected by lawyers in 12th Commission District: Janice
Briscoe Baldwin, Esq.; David S. Bruce, Esq.; Laurence
W. B. Cumberland, Esq.; Julian J. Izydore, Esq.;
Michael G. Kent, Esq.; Renee J. LaFayette, Esq.


(Prince George's County)
James H. Taylor, Jr., Esq., Chairperson

Appointed by Governor (who names chair): Annette
Funn; Emory A. Harman; William J. Jefferson, Jr;
Ricardo C. Mitchell; Goldi Ziff Nussbaum; Georgia
J. Perry. Terms expire 1995.

Elected by lawyers in 13th Commission District: Robert
C. Bonsib, Esq.; Edward P. Camus, Esq.; G. Richard
Collins, Jr., Esq.; Joseph A. Dugan, Jr., Esq.; Bruce L.
Marcus, Esq.; Ralph W. Powers, Jr., Esq.


(Baltimore City)
Nelson I. Fishman, Esq., Chairperson

Appointed by Governor (who names chair): Evelyn T.
Beasley; John B. Ferron; Michael M. Hart; Sally J.
Michel; Rosetta Stith; William H. C. Wilson. Terms
expire 1995.

Elected by lawyers in 14th Commission District: Peter F.
Axelrad, Esq.; Paul D. Bekman, Esq.; Paula M.
Junghans, Esq.; Theodore S. Miller, Esq.; Sheila K.
Sachs, Esq.; Kenneth L. Thompson, Esq.


(Charles County)
John M. Sine, Chairperson

Appointed by Governor (who names chair): H. Cecil
Deihl; H. Celeste Downs; James O. Drummond;
Salome F. Howard; Julie T. Mitchell; Sanford H.
Wilson, Ph.D. Terms expire 1995.

Elected by lawyers in 15th Commission District: Amy J.
Bragunier, Esq.; Michael A. Genz, Esq.; Thomas C.
Hayden, Jr., Esq.; Gordon R. Moreland, Esq.; Carolyn
C. Woodside, Esq.; George F. Zverina, Esq.

In 1970, the Governor by executive order estab-
lished a statewide judicial nominating commission
to propose nominees for appointment to the appel-
late courts, and regional trial court nominating
commissions to perform the same function for trial
court vacancies. The commissions began operation
in 1971. The commissions were reconstituted by

Maryland Manual 1994-1995

the Governor in 1991 (Executive Order
01.01.1991.05). Each judicial vacancy filled pursu-
ant to the Governor's appointing power must be
filled from a list of nominees submitted by one of
these nominating commissions.
When a judicial vacancy occurs or is about to
occur, the Administrative Office of the Courts notifies
the appropriate commission and then solicits applica-
tions from interested persons through an-
nouncements in the press and by contacting
interested bar associations. Applications received
are distributed to the commission members.
After the filing deadline for a vacancy has passed,
the commission meets to consider applications and
relevant information, such as recommendations
from bar associations or individual citizens. Each
candidate is interviewed by the full commission or by
commission panels. The commission then prepares a list
of those candidates deemed legally and professionally
most fully qualified for judicial office. This list is pre-
pared by secret written ballot. No applicant may be
added to the list unless that applicant has the affirmative
vote of a majority of the commission members present
at a voting session. The list is forwarded to the Gover-
nor, who must make an appointment from the com-
mission list.

Albert D. Brault, Esq., Chairperson

361 Rowe Blvd.
Annapolis, MD 21401 (410) 974-2141

The Appellate Judicial Nominating Commission
nominates candidates for the Court of Appeals and
the Court of Special Appeals.
The Commission is composed of fifteen mem-
bers. The Governor, who chooses the chairperson,
appoints one member from each of the six appellate
judicial circuits, and one at large member. The re-
maining seven members are lawyers elected by the
Maryland State Bar Association.


Courts of Appeal Bldg.
361 Rowe Blvd.
Annapolis, MD 21401 (410) 974-2141

Fifteen Trial Courts Judicial Nominating Com-
missions recommend nominees for Circuit Courts
and District Courts. Each commission consists of
thirteen members. Six are lawyers elected by mem-
bers of the Maryland State Bar Association within
designated geographical areas. Six are lay members
appointed by the Governor. The chairperson, who
may be either a lawyer or a lay person, also is
appointed by the Governor. The terms of members
extend to the date of qualification of the Governor


clear space
clear space
white space

Please view image to verify text. To report an error, please contact us.
Maryland Manual, 1994-95
Volume 186, Page 660   View pdf image
 Jump to  

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

An Archives of Maryland electronic publication.
For information contact

©Copyright  October 06, 2023
Maryland State Archives