clear space clear space clear space white space
 r c h i v e s   o f   M a r y l a n d   O n l i n e

PLEASE NOTE: The searchable text below was computer generated and may contain typographical errors. Numerical typos are particularly troubling. Click “View pdf” to see the original document.

  Maryland State Archives | Index | Help | Search
search for:
clear space
white space
Maryland Manual, 1994-95
Volume 186, Page 516   View pdf image
 Jump to  
clear space clear space clear space white space

516 /Independent Agencies

Janice Breslin Doyle, Director

16 Francis St.
Annapolis, MD 21401 (410) 974-2462

The State Scholarship Administration began in
1961 as the State Scholarship Board (Chapter 412,
Acts of 1961). The Board was reorganized in 1988 as
the State Scholarship Administration under the Mary-
land Higher Education Commission (Chapter 246,
Acts of 1988). The Administration is responsible for all
State student financial aid programs, except the Guar-
anteed Student Loan Program, which is administered
by the Maryland Higher Education Loan Corporation.


David Manning, Executive Director

2100 Guilford Ave.
Baltimore, MD 21218 (410) 333-6555

BUDGET (CODE 36.10.00)

............... FY1992 ............... FY1993 ............... FY1994
Funds ............ (actual) ............ (actual) ............ (approp.)

Special ....... $3,656,335 . . . $3,635,410. .... $4,452,934
Total Funds . . . $3,656,335 . . . $3,635,410. .... $4,452,934


Authorized. .......... 11 .......... 11............ 11
Contractual (FTE) ......0 ........... 0.............0
Total Staff ........... 11 .......... 11............ 11


Annual Report to Governor, General Assembly, State
Bank Commissioner, & Maryland Higher
Education Commission due at end of fiscal year.




Charles B, Saunders, Jr., Chairperson, 2000
Marge Stanley, Vice-Chairperson, 1998

Appointed by Governor (who names chair & vice-chair) with
Senate advice & consent:
June E. Streckfus, 1996; Kathryn
C. Turner, 1996; Margie B. Warres, 1996; William S.
Phelps, 1998; Larry D. Unger, 1998; J. Glenn Beall, Jr.,
2000; Richard P. Streett, Jr., V.M.D., 2000.

Ex officio: Ronald A. Phipps, Ed.D., designee of Secretary
of Higher Education; Janice Breslin Doyle, Director, State
Scholarship Administration; Joseph Brandon, designee of
Chancellor, University of Maryland System.


David Manning ............... (410) 333-6555

Judith A. Maynor, Director . (410) 333-6555

Harry E. Knapp, Director . . (410) 333-6555

The Maryland Higher Education Loan Corpora-
tion was created in 1963 (Chapter 589, Acts of 1963).
The Corporation lends money or directly guarantees

Maryland Manual 1994-1995

loans made by approved lenders to State residents
who attend or plan to attend colleges or vocational,
trade and technical schools. Aid may extend to
dependent undergraduate, graduate or professional
students; independent undergraduates; or the par-
ents of such students to help meet students' educa-
tional expenses. Eligible displaced homemakers also
may receive such aid (Chapter 773, Acts of 1984).
The Corporation establishes the rules and regula-
tions by which student loans are granted, adminis-
tered, and repaid. It also may accept gifts, bequests,
and governmental appropriations or grants for its
purposes. In addition, the Corporation may enter into
agreements with the U.S. Department of Education
by which the federal government provides repayable
advance funds to be added to the student loan reserve.
Such agreements also may make Maryland residents
eligible to receive a federal subsidy for part of the
interest on their loans.
The Corporation is subject to the supervision
and examination of the State Bank Commissioner.
The Corporation's Board of Directors has twelve
members. With Senate advice and consent, the Gov-
ernor appoints nine members for six-year terms. Three
members serve ex officio. The Governor designates the
chairperson and vice-chairperson (Code Education
Article, secs. 18-1001 through 18-1014).



Alice G. Pinderhughes, Esq., Chairperson, 1995

Appointed by Governor: Thomas A. Cardaci, 1989;
Mimi Selig, 1991; John G. Brandenburg, 1993;
Mark H. Friedman, 1993; James E. Matthews,
1993; Duane E. Yoder, 1994; Evelyn T. Beasley,
1995; Ronald L. Leonard, 1995; Bernard L.
Tetrault, 1995; one vacancy.

Ex officio: Jacqueline H. Rogers, Secretary of
Housing & Community Development

330 North Charles St., Suite 304
Baltimore, MD 21201 (410) 625-0100

The Maryland Housing Resource Corporation
originated in 1985 as the Rental Housing Resource
Corporation, a nongovernmental entity established
to stimulate the construction and rehabilitation of
low-income rental housing in the State (Chapter
732, Acts of 1985). The Corporation received its
present name in 1987 (Chapter 309, Acts of 1987).
The Corporation operates a special fund that con-
sists of interest money earned on trust accounts
held by real estate licensees or on escrow accounts
held by vendors or builders of new houses, and
grants, donations, and federal funds. The Corpora-
tion is exempt from State and local taxes.


clear space
clear space
white space

Please view image to verify text. To report an error, please contact us.
Maryland Manual, 1994-95
Volume 186, Page 516   View pdf image
 Jump to  

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

An Archives of Maryland electronic publication.
For information contact

©Copyright  August 02, 2018
Maryland State Archives