clear space clear space clear space white space
 r c h i v e s   o f   M a r y l a n d   O n l i n e

PLEASE NOTE: The searchable text below was computer generated and may contain typographical errors. Numerical typos are particularly troubling. Click “View pdf” to see the original document.

  Maryland State Archives | Index | Help | Search
search for:
clear space
white space
Maryland Manual, 1994-95
Volume 186, Page 511   View pdf image
 Jump to  
clear space clear space clear space white space

Maryland Manual 1994-1995

The Authority consists of twelve members. Four
serve ex officio and eight are appointed to five year
terms by the Governor with Senate advice and
consent. One appointed member must be a resident
of Howard County.


The Authority has an eleven-member Advisory
Council. Five Council members are appointed by
the Maryland Agricultural Commission, and five are
appointed by produce merchants who are tenants
in the Maryland Wholesale Produce Market. The
Executive Director of the Authority serves as the
nonvoting chairperson of the Council (Code 1957,
Art. 83A, secs. 6-101 through 6-121).


John W. Tieder, Jr., Chairperson

Appointed by Governor: Deborah R. Chambliss;
Marshall M. Meyer; Marion H. Phelps; John W.
Tieder, Jr.; T. Joseph Touhey, Esq.

Appointed by Senate President: Phyllis B. Brotman;
Aris Mardirossian.

Appointed by House Speaker: Edwin F. Hale; Charles
H. Rush.

Terms expire 1994.
Staff: William S. Ratchford II

c/o Department of Fiscal Services
90 State Circle
Annapolis, MD 21401 (410) 841-3761
TTY for deaf: (410) 841-3814

The General Assembly Compensation Commis-
sion was created by Constitutional amendment,
ratified November 3, 1970 (Chapter 576, Acts of
1970). The Commission determines the compensa-
tion and allowances due members of the General
Assembly. The Legislature may reduce but not in-
crease the amounts proposed. As of January 1994,
the annual salary of a legislator is $28,000. The
annual salary for the Senate President and the
House Speaker is $38,000.
The Commission consists of nine members, five
appointed by the Governor, two appointed by the
President of the Senate, and two appointed by the
Speaker of the House of Delegates. Members serve
four-year terms. Officers and employees of the State
or local governments are not eligible for appoint-
ment to the Commission (Const., Art. III, sec. 15).

Independent Agencies /511


Chairperson: Martin W. Walsh, Jr., Secretary of
General Services

Ex officio: Hilda Mae Snoops, designee of Governor;
Nancy M. German, designee of Senate President;
Casper R. Taylor, Jr., House Speaker; J. Rodney
Little, Director, Maryland Historical Trust.

Nonvoting members: Wendy Cooper, designee of
Director, Baltimore Museum of Art; Dennis Fiori,
designee of Director, Maryland Historical Society;
Joseph Anderson, designee of Executive Director,
Historic St. Mary's City Commission; Georgia Adler,
Director, Talbot County Historical Society; William
Johnston, designee of Director, Walters Museum of
Art; Jean Woods, Director, Washington County
Museum of Fine Arts; Dr. George Callcott, designee
of Chairperson, History Department, University of
Maryland College Park; Elaine Reed, designee of
Horticulturist, William Paca Gardens.

Secretary: Edward C. Papenfuse, Ph.D., State Archivist

c/o State Archives
350 Rowe Blvd.
Annapolis, MD 21401 (410) 974-3867

The Governor's Mansion Trust began in 1980 as
Government House Trust (Chapter 267, Acts of
1980). It was reorganized as the Governor's Man-
sion Trust in 1988 (Chapter 494, Acts of 1988).
The Trust supervises and directs the renovation,
design, and furnishing of the seven State rooms of the
Governor's Mansion, the official residence of the Gov-
ernor. The State rooms include the center hall, the
conservatory, the private reception room, the State
dining room, the State drawing room, the State parlor,
and the State reception room. The Trust also is respon-
sible for landscaping the Mansion grounds; conserv-
ing and restoring objects in the State rooms; and
carrying out the maintenance of the State rooms. An
inventory of furnishings in the Governor's Mansion is
maintained by the Department of General Services.
On behalf of the State, the Trust may receive and
accept gifts and loans of property for use in the State
rooms of the Governor's Mansion. No improvement,
alteration, addition, removal, or other change in the
internal design or furnishings of any State room of the
Governor's Mansion is authorized unless approved by
the Trust. In performing its duties and responsibilities, the
Trust consults with and seeks the advice of the Commis-
sion on Artistic Property, and the Board of Trustees and
Council of the Maryland Historical Society.
The Trust consists of thirteen members. Five voting
members include the Governor, the Senate President, the
Speaker of the House of Delegates, the Secretary of
General Services, and the Director of the Maryland
Historical Trust, or their designees. Eight advisory non-
voting members also serve on the Trust. The Secretary of


clear space
clear space
white space

Please view image to verify text. To report an error, please contact us.
Maryland Manual, 1994-95
Volume 186, Page 511   View pdf image
 Jump to  

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

An Archives of Maryland electronic publication.
For information contact

©Copyright  August 02, 2018
Maryland State Archives