clear space clear space clear space white space
 r c h i v e s   o f   M a r y l a n d   O n l i n e

PLEASE NOTE: The searchable text below was computer generated and may contain typographical errors. Numerical typos are particularly troubling. Click “View pdf” to see the original document.

  Maryland State Archives | Index | Help | Search
search for:
clear space
white space
Maryland Manual, 1994-95
Volume 186, Page 505   View pdf image
 Jump to  
clear space clear space clear space white space

Maryland Manual 1994-1995


Vacancy, Chairperson
David E. Harmon, Vice-Chairperson, 1994

Appointed by Governor (who names chair): Edith
Gordine Blount; Howard N. Hall; David E,
Harmon; one vacancy. Terms expire 1994.

Representative of Md. Disability Law Center appointed
by Governor:
Elizabeth Jones

Ex officio: Rosalie S. Abrams, Director on Aging; Carolyn
W. Colvin, Secretary of Human Resources; Nelson J.
Sabatini, Secretary of Health & Mental Hygiene.

Staff: Barbara M. Strein

c/o Office of Planning
301 West Preston St.
Baltimore, MD 21201 (410) 225-4514

The Domiciliary Care Facilities Board was cre-
ated by the Governor at the request of the General
Assembly in 1984 (Joint Resolution no. 23, Acts of
1984). In 1986, the Board was established by law
(Chapter 726, Acts of 1986).
Because the Department of Health and Mental
Hygiene, the Department of Human Resources,
and the Office on Aging all license and regulate
domiciliary care facilities, the Board formulates and
implements policy and coordinates agency respon-
sibility. The Board also reviews and approves poli-
cies and regulations that govern domiciliary care
facilities and related programs. Such facilities pro-
vide domiciliary, personal or nursing care to unre-
lated individuals who are dependent on the facility
for assistance with daily living activities in a safe,
sanitary and healthful environment.
The Board has nine members. Four are ap-
pointed to four-year terms by the Governor and
include a domiciliary care facility provider, and three
consumers. One member, appointed by the Gover-
nor, represents the Maryland Disability Law Center.
Four serve ex officio. The Governor designates the
chairperson (Code 1957, Art. 41, sec. 10-601).



Merle S. Elliott, Chairperson, 1995

Appointed by Governor with Senate advice & consent:
H. Lee Boatwright III, 1992; W. Edwin Cole, Jr.,
1994; Gerald K. Holthaus, 1994; Walter H.
Plosila, Ph.D., 1994; Jerry C. Lymas, 1995;
Vernon C. Terry, 1995; Leonard R. Sachs, 1996;
Martha A. Smith, Ph.D., 1996; Mario F.
VillaSanta, 1996.

Independent Agencies /505

Ex officio: Mark L. Wasserman, Secretary of
Economic & Employment Development; O. James
Lighthizer, Secretary of Transportation.

Hans F. Mayer, Executive Director

36 South Charles St.
Baltimore, MD 21201 (410) 625-0051

Established in 1984, the Maryland Economic
Development Corporation is a public instrumental-
ity of the State (Chapter 498, Acts of 1984). The
Corporation enables the State to develop property
for economic purposes. To serve the public interest,
the Corporation develops vacant or unused indus-
trial sites and facilities and other economic resources
in which the private sector has shown no significant
interest or development capability.
The Corporation operates in economically dis-
tressed areas of the State. It helps State and local
economic development agencies expand, modern-
ize, and retain businesses, and attract new ones.
The Board of Directors is appointed by the
Governor with Senate advice and consent. It con-
sists of twelve members, including two ex officio
voting members. Members serve four-year terms.
With the Governor's approval, the Board appoints
the Executive Director (Code 1957, Art. 83A, secs.
5-101 through 5-116).


Herbert H. Fincher, Chairperson

Representing Maryland Higher Education
Osborne A. Payne; Walter Sondheim,
Jr.; Constance Cornell Stuart.

Representing State Board of Education: Robert C.
Embry, Jr.; Christopher E. Grant; Harry D.
Shapiro, Esq.

Ex officio: Nancy S. Grasmick, Ph.D., State
Superintendent of Schools; Shaila R. Aery, Ed.D.,
Secretary of Higher Education.

c/o Maryland Higher Education Commission
16 Francis St.
Annapolis. MD 21401 (410) 974-2971

The Education Coordinating Committee was
formed in 1976 (Chapter 538, Acts of 1976). The
Committee coordinates the policies and activities of
the State Board of Education, the State Superinten-
dent of Schools, the Maryland Higher Education
Commission, and the Secretary of Higher Educa-
tion. The Committee studies and makes recommen-
dations regarding educational policies that concern
or affect elementary, secondary or higher education.
The Committee is comprised of eight members:
three members of the State Board of Education
selected by its president; three members of the


clear space
clear space
white space

Please view image to verify text. To report an error, please contact us.
Maryland Manual, 1994-95
Volume 186, Page 505   View pdf image
 Jump to  

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

An Archives of Maryland electronic publication.
For information contact

©Copyright  October 06, 2023
Maryland State Archives