clear space clear space clear space white space
 r c h i v e s   o f   M a r y l a n d   O n l i n e

PLEASE NOTE: The searchable text below was computer generated and may contain typographical errors. Numerical typos are particularly troubling. Click “View pdf” to see the original document.

  Maryland State Archives | Index | Help | Search
search for:
clear space
white space
Maryland Manual, 1994-95
Volume 186, Page 49   View pdf image
 Jump to  
clear space clear space clear space white space

Maryland Manual 1994-1995

ernment budget to be considered at the next Gen-
eral Assembly session. Committee recommenda-
tions cover levels of State spending, new debt
authorization, and State personnel, as well as how
any anticipated surplus may be used.
The Committee consists of the Senate President
and House Speaker; chairpersons of the Senate
Budget and Taxation Committee and House Ap-
propriations Committee; the majority and minority
leaders of the Senate and House or their designees;
and an equal number of other senators and dele-
gates as designated by the President and Speaker
(Code State Government Article, secs. 2-1001
through 2-1010).


Norman R. Stone, Jr., Senate Chairperson
Anthony M. DiPietro, Jr., House Chairperson

Staff: J. Patrick Ford (410) 841-3870

The Special Joint Committee on the Vehicle
Emissions Inspection Program was created in 1979
when the Motor Vehicle Emissions Inspection Pro-
gram (VEIP) was established within the Motor
Vehicle Administration (Chapter 421, Acts of
1979). The Committee, however, was not active
until it was reconstituted in 1988 when the Pro-
gram was continued (Chapter 108, Acts of 1988).
The Committee consults regularly with the Sec-
retary of the Environment and the Secretary of
Transportation on the administration of the Motor
Vehicle Emissions Inspection Program. The Com-
mittee alsu advises them on any contract made by
the Motor Vehicle Administration and the Secretary
of the Environment for administering the Program.

Legislature /49

The Committee is composed of three senators
appointed by the Senate President and three dele-
gates appointed by the House Speaker (Code
Transportation Article, sec. 23-203(c)).


Thomas L. Bromwell, Senate Chairperson
Elijah E. Cummings, House Chairperson

Staff: Stephen M. Ports (410) 841-3710


Annual Report to Governor & Legislative Policy
Committee due Dec. 31.

The Workers' Compensation Benefit and Insur-
ance Oversight Committee was created in 1987
(Chapter 590, Acts of 1987). The Committee
evaluates and examines the structure for workers'
compensation and benefits in Maryland. The Com-
mittee also monitors the effects on that structure of
the changes enacted by Chapters 590 and 591, Acts
of 1987. To enable the Committee to carry out its
function, the Maryland Insurance Commissioner
and the Workers' Compensation Commission sub-
mit an annual report to the Committee, cooperate
with, and keep the Oversight Committee fully in-
formed as to the condition of workers' compensa-
tion benefits and insurance in Maryland.
Members of the Committee are appointed by the
Senate President and House Speaker, who also
designate the chairperson. The members include
two senators; two delegates; one representative
each from the business community, labor organiza-
tions, and the building and construction labor or-
ganizations, two public members; and one member
each from the insurance industry and a workers'
compensation rating organization.




Michael J. Collins, Senate Chairperson
Richard A. Palumbo, House Chairperson

Staff: John R. Stierhoff (410) 841-3700

The Investigation Committee inquires into abuses
in expenditures of public monies, when referred by
resolution of either house of the General Assembly.

John W. Derr, Senate Chairperson
Clarence Davis, House Chairperson

Staff: Edith R. Lehman
Legislative Services Bldg., Room 103
Annapolis, MD 21401 (410) 841-3457

The Protocol Committee organizes, plans, and
schedules social activities of the General Assembly.

The Organization and Procedure Committee
meets as required. Membership consists of the
members of the Senate Rules Committee and an
equal number of members from the House Rules
and Executive Nominations Committee (Senate
Rule 18(a)(2)(iii)).


clear space
clear space
white space

Please view image to verify text. To report an error, please contact us.
Maryland Manual, 1994-95
Volume 186, Page 49   View pdf image
 Jump to  

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

An Archives of Maryland electronic publication.
For information contact

©Copyright  August 02, 2018
Maryland State Archives