clear space clear space clear space white space
 r c h i v e s   o f   M a r y l a n d   O n l i n e

PLEASE NOTE: The searchable text below was computer generated and may contain typographical errors. Numerical typos are particularly troubling. Click “View pdf” to see the original document.

  Maryland State Archives | Index | Help | Search
search for:
clear space
white space
Maryland Manual, 1994-95
Volume 186, Page 181   View pdf image
 Jump to  
clear space clear space clear space white space

Maryland Manual 1994-1995 Department Secretaries /181


TORREY C. BROWN, Secretary of Natural Resources since 1983. Born in Chicago,
Illinois, February 28, 1937. Attended Chicago public schools; Wheaton College, A.B.,
1957; The Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine, M.D., 1961. Physician. Served
with the U.S. Public Health Service, 1963-65. Member, Alpha Omega Alpha; The Johns
Hopkins Medical Society; American Heart Association; Southern Salt, Water and Kidney
Club; American Federation for Clinical Research; American Society of Nephrology;
American Board of Internal Medicine. Fellow, American College of Physicians. Contributor
to many medical journals. Member of House of Delegates, 1971-83 (chair, environmental
matters committee, 1979-83; member, legislative policy committee, 1979-83; member,
rules & executive nominations committee, 1979-83). Member, Commission on High Blood
Pressure, 1976-83. Chair, Statewide Health Coordinating Council, 1980-83. Office address:
Tawes State Office Building, Annapolis, MD 21401; tel. (410) 974-3041.


JOSEPH ADLER, Secretary of Personnel since 1994. City College of New York, B.A.,
1970; Woodrow Wilson School of Public and International Affairs, Princeton University,
M.A. (public affairs), 1972. Research specialist. New York State School of Industrial and
Labor Relations, Cornell University, 1972-75. Assistant Director, Department of Research
and Collective Bargaining Services, American Federation of State, County and Municipal
Employees, AFL-CIO, 1975-78. Director, Public Sector Labor Relations Center, and
Assistant Professor, Department of Management, College of Business Administration,
Memphis State University, 1978-80. Executive Director, Maryland Classified Employees
Association, 1981-89. Member, Governor's Committee on Contracting for Services,
1982-83; Productivity Planning Committee, 1984-85; University of Maryland Medical
System Salary Gap Task Force, 1986-87; State Employees' Health Insurance Advisory
Council, 1986-88, Subsequent Injury Fund Board, 1987-91 (chair, 1990-91). Director,
Office of Employee Relations, Baltimore County, 1989-90. Executive Assistant, Office of
the Governor, 1990-92. Deputy Secretary of Personnel, 1992-94. Office address: 301 West
Preston St., Baltimore, MD 21201 ; tel. (410) 225-4715


BISHOP L. ROBINSON, Secretary of Public Safety and Correctional Services since
1987. Born in Baltimore, Maryland, January 16,1927. Attended Frederick Douglass High
School. Served in U.S. Army, 1945-46. University of Baltimore, B.S., 1971; Coppin State
College, M.Ed., 1973; University of Baltimore School of Law, J.D., 1986. Southern Police
Institute, certificate, 1969; National Executive Institute, certificate, 1984. Police
Commissioner, Baltimore City, 1984-87. Member, Maryland Chiefs of Police Association;
Major Cities Chiefs of Police Association; National Organization of Black Law Enforcement
Executives (NOBLE); National "State of the Art" Law Enforcement Planning Committee,
U.S. Department of Justice; International Association of Chiefs of Police. Honorary Doctor
of Laws degree, John Jay College of Criminal Justice. Recipient of numerous civic and
superior public service awards. Office address: 6776 Reisterstown Road, Suite 310,
Baltimore, MD 21215; tel. (410) 764-4004.


O. JAMES LIGHTHIZER, Secretary of Transportation since 1991. Born in Ashtabula,
Ohio, March 20, 1946. Attended Ashtabula parochial schools; Dayton University, B.A.,
1968; Georgetown University Law Center, J.D., 1975. Attorney. Member, Maryland State
and Anne Arundel County Bar Associations. Member of House of Delegates, 1979-82
(member, ways & means committee; chair, house advisory board on liability). County
Executive, Anne Arundel County, 1982-86, 1986-90. Chair, Greenways Commission,
1990—; Maryland Civil War Heritage Commission, 1992—. Member, Governor's
Commission on Growth in the Chesapeake Region, 1989—. Office address: P.O. Box 8755,
Baltimore/Washington International Airport, Baltimore, MD 21240; tel. (410) 859-7600.

clear space
clear space
white space

Please view image to verify text. To report an error, please contact us.
Maryland Manual, 1994-95
Volume 186, Page 181   View pdf image
 Jump to  

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

An Archives of Maryland electronic publication.
For information contact

©Copyright  October 06, 2023
Maryland State Archives