clear space clear space clear space white space
 r c h i v e s   o f   M a r y l a n d   O n l i n e

PLEASE NOTE: The searchable text below was computer generated and may contain typographical errors. Numerical typos are particularly troubling. Click “View pdf” to see the original document.

  Maryland State Archives | Index | Help | Search
search for:
clear space
white space
Maryland Manual, 1991-92
Volume 185, Page 607   View pdf image (33K)
 Jump to  
clear space clear space clear space white space

(Calvert & St. Mary's Counties)
John Milton Sine, Chairperson

Appointed by Governor (who also designates chair):
James M. Banagan; Samuel A. Bergin; Shirley E.
Colleary; Albertine Thomas Lancaster; Julie T.
Mitchell; Dr. Sanford Hardaway Wilson.

Elected by lawyers in 12th Commission District: Karen
H. Abrams; David Harris Chapman; Michael
Andrew Genz; Thomas C. Hayden, Jr.; David F.
Jenny; Thomas Lamer Starkey.

(Prince George's County)
Vacancy, Chairperson

Appointed by Governor (who also designates chair):
Linda W. Bocts; James T. Culbreath; Otis Ducker;
Annette Funn; Emory Harman; Dorothy

Elected by lawyers in 13th Commission District:
Edward P. Camus; Ralph W. Powers, Jr.; G.
Richard Collins, Jr.; Howard Edward Goldman;
Bruce Lawrence Marcus; James H. Taylor, Jr.

(Baltimore City)
Nelson I. Fishman, Chairperson

Appointed by Governor (who also designates chair):
JohnB. Ferron; Michael M. Hart; William L. Jews;
Sally Michel; Rosetta Stith; William H. C. Wilson.

Elected by lawyers in 14th Commission District: Peter
F. Axelrad; Paul D. Bekman; Louise Michaux
Gonzales; Paula M. Junghans; Theodore S. Miller;
Kenneth L. Thompson.

(Charles County)

Appointed by Governor (who also designates chair): not
yet appointed

Elected by lawyers in 15th Commission District: not yet


Chairperson: Theodore G. Bloom, Associate
Judge, Court of Special Appeals, 1995

Appointed by Governor: George J. Helinski, 1992;
Barbara Kerr Howe, 1992; Martha Eleanor
Church, Ph.D., 1993; Nathan Patz, 1993; Charles
0. Fisher, Sr., 1995; G. R. Hovey Johnson, 1995.

Howard E. Wallin, Executive Secretary


University of Baltimore
1420 N. Charles St.
Baltimore, MD 21201 625-3086

The Commission on Judicial Disabilities was
established in 1966 by constitutional amendment
(Chapter 773, Acts of 1965; Const., Art. IV sec.
4A). The Commission is empowered to investigate
complaints against members of the Maryland
Judiciary It conducts hearings or takes informal
action as it deems necessary, provided that the judge
involved has been properly notified.
To determine whether to initiate formal
proceedings, the Commission conducts a prelimi-
nary investigation after which a hearing may be held
regarding the judge's alleged misconduct or dis-
ability If, as a result of these hearings, die Commis-
sion, by majority vote, decides that a judge should
be retired, removed, censured, or publicly
reprimanded, it recommends that course of action
to the Court of Appeals. The Court of Appeals may
order a more severe discipline of the judge than the
Commission recommends. The Commission also
has the power, in limited situations, to issue a
private reprimand.
The Commission's primary function is to receive,
investigate, and hear complaints against Maryland
judges. Formal complaints must be in writing and
notarized, but no particular form is required. In-
dividuals also may write or call the Commission to
express dissatisfaction concerning the outcome of a
case or some judicial ruling.
The Commission also supplies judicial nominat-
ing commissions with confidential information con-
cerning reprimands to or pending charges against
those judges seeking nomination to judicial offices
(Md. Rule 1227).
The Commission consists of seven members ap-
pointed by the Governor. Members include four
judges presently serving on the bench, two mem-
bers of the bar who have been engaged in legal
practice for at least fifteen years, and one lay person
representing the public (Code Courts and Judicial
Proceedings Article, sees. 13-401 through 13-403;
Md. Rule 1227).


Charles H. Dorsey, Jr., Chairperson, 1993

Appointed by Court of Appeals: William F. Abell, Jr.,
1991; Jonathan A. Azrael, 1991; John F. Mudd,
1992; Christopher B. Kehoc, 1994; Robert H.
Reinhart, 1995; Pamela J. White, 1995.

Bedford T. Bentley, Jr., Secretary

District Court Building, Suite 403
580 Taylor Ave
Annapolis, MD 21401 974-2140


clear space
clear space
white space

Please view image to verify text. To report an error, please contact us.
Maryland Manual, 1991-92
Volume 185, Page 607   View pdf image (33K)
 Jump to  

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

An Archives of Maryland electronic publication.
For information contact

©Copyright  October 06, 2023
Maryland State Archives