clear space clear space clear space white space
 r c h i v e s   o f   M a r y l a n d   O n l i n e

PLEASE NOTE: The searchable text below was computer generated and may contain typographical errors. Numerical typos are particularly troubling. Click “View pdf” to see the original document.

  Maryland State Archives | Index | Help | Search
search for:
clear space
white space
Maryland Manual, 1991-92
Volume 185, Page 56   View pdf image (33K)
 Jump to  
clear space clear space clear space white space

56/Maryland Manual


Appointed by Senate President & House Speaker: Carl
E. Eastwick; M. Nicholas Humphries; William S.
James; Matthew P. Mellin; Donald B. Robertson;
Henry A. Smith III; Carol S. Sugar; James F.
Truitt, Jr.; Robert Zarnoch.


Appointed by Senate President & House Speaker: not
yet appointed

Lynda C. Davis, Director

Baltimore area 841-3810
TDD for Deaf: 841-3814
fax: 841-3940

Washington area 858-3810
TDD for Deaf: 858-3814
fax: 858-3940

Other areas 1-800-492-7122, ext. 3810

The Library and Information Services Division
provides reference and legislative information ser-
vices to committees, members, and staff of the
General Assembly, and the public as well.

The Library collection of 60,000 volumes con-
sists of Maryland laws and related legislative and
legal materials, laws and publications of other
states, federal documents, and general reference
materials. The Department serves as an official
depository for the publications of Maryland State
agencies and for all local codes published by county
and municipal governments (Code 1957, Art. 25,
sec. 32A; Art. 25A, sec. 7; Art. 25B, sees. 7, 12;
State Government Article, sec. 2-1312; Education
Article, sec. 23-2A.-01}. Maryland Documents, a list
of State agency publications, is issued monthly.
Library materials circulate to General Assembly
members, their staff and Stare agencies.

Bill status and other legislative information is
provided through the information desks and toll free
telephone numbers for the public. Speakers, tours and
materials on the legislative process are available for
constituents, visitors, and school groups.
The Division coordinates the Department's
publication program and is responsible for publica-
tion of the Committee Meetings and Hearing
Schedule, Daily Synopsis, and Maryland Clipper, as
well as various rosters, flyers, videos, and brochures
about the General Assembly and the Department
and indexes to bills, laws, and journals.

Myron H. Miller, Director

The Research Division responds to inquiries or
requests from legislators, committees, and their staff
on nonlegal issues with information, surveys, research,
policy analysis, and problem-solving options.
Research analysts are trained in sodal sciences
disciplines and participate in a nationwide information
network of universities, governments, private
laboratories, research centers, and professional or-
ganizations. Division analysts also provide staff sup-
port to spedal legislative committees, joint task forces,
commissions, and the standing committees on special-
ized issues. Their support complements the legal
counsel provided by the Legislative Division.
Although the Research Division primarily
responds to questions raised by legislators, research
analysts also initiate independent research on topi-
cal issues of potential interest to legislators. This
research is published in the Legislative Report Series
and may be found in the Department's Library

Michael C. Coffin, Director

The Computer Services Division operates data
processing equipment for the preparation of bills,
the entry and maintenance of data into the bill
status system, and the preparation of several
departmental publications. These publications in-
clude Loiiiinktee healing schedules, synupses uf
laws, and legislative indexes. The work of the
Division's proofreading staff complements the
Division's data processing.


William S. Ratchford II,-Director

Legislative Services Building
90 Stare Circle
Annapolis, MD 21401 841-3761

The Department ofFiscal Services originated as the
fiscal Research Bureau in 1947 (Chapter 605, Acts of
1947). The Bureau was reorganized in 1968 as the
Department of fiscal Services (Chapter 456, Acts of
1968). The Department is the financial service arm of
the General Assembly and operates under the policies
and directives of die President of the Senate, the
Speaker of the House of Delegates, the Legislative
Policy Committee, and the Joint Budget and Audit
Committee. The Department provides staffservices to
the fiscal committees of the Legislature and to any
commissions or committees that the General Assemb-
ly or the Legislative Policy Committee may appoint to
study taxation or related questions.


clear space
clear space
white space

Please view image to verify text. To report an error, please contact us.
Maryland Manual, 1991-92
Volume 185, Page 56   View pdf image (33K)
 Jump to  

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

An Archives of Maryland electronic publication.
For information contact

©Copyright  August 02, 2018
Maryland State Archives