clear space clear space clear space white space
 r c h i v e s   o f   M a r y l a n d   O n l i n e

PLEASE NOTE: The searchable text below was computer generated and may contain typographical errors. Numerical typos are particularly troubling. Click “View pdf” to see the original document.

  Maryland State Archives | Index | Help | Search
search for:
clear space
white space
Maryland Manual, 1991-92
Volume 185, Page 546   View pdf image (33K)
 Jump to  
clear space clear space clear space white space

546/Maryland Manual

Delena A. Woods Murphy, Director
......................... 333-6538

The Board ofTrustees of Maryland Teachers and
State Employees Supplemental Retirement Plans
was created in 1985 to administer the State's sup-
plemental retirement plans (Chapter 741, Acts of
1985). Voluntary plans for tax-sheltered income
deferral, tax-deferred annuity and profit sharing
and salary reduction enable Stare employees and
teachers to secure tax advantages.
The Board consists of nine members appointed
by the Governor. Three are appointed from any of
the following agencies: Department of Budget and
Fiscal Planning; State Department of Education;
Department of Personnel; Comptroller of the
Treasury; State Treasurer; State Retirement Agen-
cy; or Maryland Higher Education Commission.
Three are appointed who are eligible to participate
in one or more of the supplemental retirement
plans. Three are public members not eligible to
participate in any plan. At least one public member
inu&t liavc experience with deferred compensation
and salary reduction plans. Members serve four-
year terms. The Governor designates the chairper-
son (Code 1957, Art. 73C, sees. 1-8).


Paul Richards, Chairperson, 1991

Appointed by Governor with Senate advice & consent:
Angelo F. Palmisano, 1991; Clement Joseph
Prucha, 1991.

Marshall H. Feldman, Director
Charles R. Goldsborough, Jr., Principal Counsel

Hampton Plaza, Suite 402
300 E. Joppa Rd.
Towson, MD 21204 321-4136

BUDGET (CODE 22.10.00)

FY1991 Total Appropriation ........ $470,237
General Funds* .................. $470,237
FY1991 Total Authorized Positions .......... 8

*Cost of administering the Board shall be paid from
general funds, and the general funds of the State
shall be reimbursed by Workers' Compensation
Fund (Code 1957, Art. 101, sec. 91(6)).


Annual Report to Governor due Oct. 1.

The Uninsured Employers' Fund Board was
created in 1983 to protect workers whose
employers are not insured under Workmen's Com-
pensation (Chapter 576, Acts of 1983). The Board
supervises the operation and administration of the

Uninsured Employers' Fund (Code 1957, Art. 101,
sees. 90-102).
The Board's three members are appointed to
four-year terms by the Governor with Senate advice
and consent. One member each represents manage-
ment, labor, and the public.



George V. McGowan, Chairperson, 1992

Appointed by Governor with Senate advice & consent:
Joann M. McCartney, student member, 1991;
Richard 0. Berndt, 1991; Roger R. Blunt, 1991;
Henry R. Lord, 1991; Ann R. Hull, 1992;
Constance M. Unseld, 1992; Margaret Alton,
1993; Benjamin L. Brown, 1993; Frank A.
Gunther, Jr., 1993; Mary Arabian, 1994; Charles
W. Cole, Jr., 1994; Earle Palmer Brown, 1994;
Ilona Modley Hogan, 1995; Dr. Albert N.
Whiting, 1995; Franklin P. Perdue, 1996.

Ex officio: Wayne A. Cawley, Jr., Secretary of


Donald N. Langenberg, Ph.D., Chancellor
& Chief Executive Officer 853-3601
Jean E. Spencer, Ph.D., Deputy Chancellor
Raymond J. Miller, Ph.D., Vice-Chancellor
for Agriculture & 'Natural Resources 405 -6803
Donald L. Myers, M.B.A., Vice-Chancellor
for General Administration 853-3625
John K. Martin, M.B.A., Acting Vice-Chancellor
for External Relations 853-3641
David S. Sparks, Ph.D., Vice-Chancellor
jwAcadmiic Affairs 853-3692

University of Maryland System
Adelphi, MD 20783 853-3600
Public Service Hotline: 405-6970


University of Maryland at Baltimore
Errol L. Reesc, D.D.S., Ph.D., 'President

University of Maryland College Park
William E. Kirwan, Ph.D., President 405-5803

Bowie State University
James Earl Lyons, Sr., Ph.D., President 464-6500

Towson State University
Hoke L. Smith, Ph.D., President 830-2356

University of Maryland Eastern Shore
William P Hytche, Ed.D., President
651-2200, ext. 200


clear space
clear space
white space

Please view image to verify text. To report an error, please contact us.
Maryland Manual, 1991-92
Volume 185, Page 546   View pdf image (33K)
 Jump to  

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

An Archives of Maryland electronic publication.
For information contact

©Copyright  August 02, 2018
Maryland State Archives