clear space clear space clear space white space
 r c h i v e s   o f   M a r y l a n d   O n l i n e

PLEASE NOTE: The searchable text below was computer generated and may contain typographical errors. Numerical typos are particularly troubling. Click “View pdf” to see the original document.

  Maryland State Archives | Index | Help | Search
search for:
clear space
white space
Maryland Manual, 1991-92
Volume 185, Page 528   View pdf image (33K)
 Jump to  
clear space clear space clear space white space


563, Acts of 1949). Later, responsibilities were
broadened to encompass disaster relief and emer-
gency resources management as well. Changes in
State law and the agency name reflected this shift:
Maryland Civil Defense and Emergency Planning
Agency (1970-74) andMaryland Civil Defense and
Disaster Preparedness Agency (1975-80). Duties
concerned floodplain management, flood insurance
initiatives, community preparedness programs for
weather emergencies, earthquake hazard reduction,
dam safely emergency broadcast system, emergen-
cy warning, and terrorist incidents.
The 1970s also brought changes in Agency
responsibilities for nuclear attack preparedness. In
1972, the Defense Civil Preparedness Agency was
established in the U.S. Department of Defense. At
this time, increased awareness of the U.S.S.R.'s
impressive crisis evacuation capability inspired the
development of the present Population Protection
Program (PPP). This Program is adaptable to all
natural disasters, peacetime emergencies, and
nuclear attack. In-place shelter protection is to be
used when time docs not permit relocation.
The Three Mile Island Incident of 1979 focused
more federal emphasis on radiological emergency
planning. In 1980 and 1981, the Agency produced
radiological emergency plans to cope with accidents
at Calvert Cliffs Nuclear Power Plant in Maryland
and Peach Bottom Atomic Power Station near
Maryland's northern border in Delta, Pennsylvania.
These plans were tested in 1981 and 1982. Annual-
ly; the State Radiological Plan is rested with a
full-scale operational exercise.
The Agency was renamed in 1981 as the State
Emergency Management and Civil Defense Agency
At the same time, the Governor was made respon-
sible for emergency management in the State. The
Governor has emergency powers to suspend State
statutes temporarily direct evacuations, control ac-
cess, dear debris, and use private property when
necessary. When the Governor declares a state of
emergency the Director of the Maryland Emergen-
cy Management Agency coordinates the emergency
activities of State government offices and those of
political subdivisions included in the declaration.
The Agency is responsible for the Integrated
Emergency Management System (IEMS). The Sys-
tem applies emergency preparedness and response
resources to all hazards and uses similarities that
exist in planning and response functions for all
hazards. In 1984, the System was implemented at
all levels of government statewide. The System
consists of three components: Hazard Analysis,
Capability Assessment, and Multi-Year Develop-
ment Planning (Code 1957, Art. 16A, sees. 1-12).

Chairperson: Brig. Gen. Donald B. Barshay,
Assistant Adjutant General for Air
Vice-Chairperson: Col. Ernest M. Snyder (retired)

Government representatives appointed by Governor:
]. Basil Wisner, Office of the Comptroller
Bcrnadette T. Benik, Office of State Treasurer
Jacob Casper, D.V.M., Dept. of Agriculture
Arthur H. Hilscnrad, Dept. of Budget & Fiscal
J. Randall Evans, Dept. of Economic &
Employment Development
Richard F. Pecora, Dept. of the Environment
Vacancy, Dept. of General Services
Robert W. Eastridge, Dept. of Health & Mental
Jacqueline H. Rogers, Dept. of Housing &
Community Development
Herbert M. Sachs, Depr. of Natural Resources
Vacancy, Dept. of Public Safety & Correctional
Elizabeth L. Homer, Depr. of Transportation
Vacancy, Office of Planning
Peter C. Cobb, Executive Assistant, Public Safety
Lt. Col. Roland H. Hayman, Maryland State Police
Ameen I. Ramzy, M.D., Maryland Institute for
Emergency Medical Services Systems
David McMillion, Director, Maryland Emergency
Management Agency
Rocco J. Gabriele, State Fire Marshal
John W. Hoglund, Director, Fire & Rescue
Charles W. Riley, Maryland Fire-Rescue
Education & Training Commission
Chief Peter J. O'Connor, Baltimore City Fire Dept.
Chief Elwood H. Banister, Baltimore County Fire
Chief Steven T. Edward, Prince George's County
Fire Dept.
J. Kenneth Schroeder, Jr., Prince George's
County Office of Emergency Preparedness
William E. Clark, U.S. Public Health Service
Vacancy, Maryland Association of Counties

Private sector representatives appointed by Governor:
Paula Purviance, American Red Cross; Robert H.
Shimer, State Firemen's Association; Kathleen G.
Henning, Maryland Emergency Management
Association; Sanford W. Daily, Maryland
Municipal League; Jerome S. Doubroff; William J.
Evans, Jr.; Marvin J. Odesky; Thomas N. Pritchett;
Paul E.Welsh.

June L. Swem, Secretary

State Emergency Operating Center
Reisterstown Road & Sudbrook Lane
Pikesville, MD 21208 486-4422


clear space
clear space
white space

Please view image to verify text. To report an error, please contact us.
Maryland Manual, 1991-92
Volume 185, Page 528   View pdf image (33K)
 Jump to  

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

An Archives of Maryland electronic publication.
For information contact

©Copyright  October 06, 2023
Maryland State Archives