clear space clear space clear space white space
 r c h i v e s   o f   M a r y l a n d   O n l i n e

PLEASE NOTE: The searchable text below was computer generated and may contain typographical errors. Numerical typos are particularly troubling. Click “View pdf” to see the original document.

  Maryland State Archives | Index | Help | Search
search for:
clear space
white space
Maryland Manual, 1991-92
Volume 185, Page 510   View pdf image (33K)
 Jump to  
clear space clear space clear space white space

510/Maryland Manual

Orville S. Fowler, Jr. ........ 465-9611

Gerard B. McMahon, Jr. 662-4159

Mark S. Scwell............. 662-4159


Dr. Kenneth W. KziCt^Asnstant
SuperintcmUnt for Instruction . . 662-4159

Stanley C. Baker ........... 662-4159

Deborah P. Clark, fh.D.,Assist»nt
Principal ............ 662-4159

J. Wayne Sinclair, Assistant Principal
................... 662-4159

Mark A. Wait, Assistant Principal
................... 662-4159

Dr. Richard C. Steffan, ]t.,Assistltnt
Superintendent/Principal ...... 465-9611

Gertrude S. Galloway, Assistant Principal
...................... 465-9611

John K. Snavlin, Assistant Principal
...................... 465-9611

The Maryland School for the Deaf was estab-
lished in 1868 as a free public residential school for
deaf and hard-of-hearing children who reside in the
State (Chapter 247, Acts of 1867; Chapter 409,
Acts of 1868).
The Maryland Schools for die Deaf offer an
academic education similar to that of public
schools. The Schools also provide thorough in-
struction in communications skills, including
speech and speech reading, signs and finger spell-
ing, auditory training, and use of individual hearing
aids. In addition to the academic program, courses
of study in vocational education also are provided.
The Schools offer a broad athletic and physical
education program, as well as a wide range of social
and recreational activities. Vocational rehabilitation
services are available for all graduating students to
help secure employment, vocational or technical
training, or higher education. Information pertain-
ing to the program is available upon request.
Legislation in 1968 authorized a branch of the
Maryland School for the Deaf to be located near
the population center of the State (Chapter 462,
Acts of 1968). This branch, called Columbia Cam-
pus Maryland School for the Deaf, is administered
and operated as part of and subject to the Maryland
School for the Deaf. The first phase of the Columbia
Campus opened in September 1973 (Code Educa-
tion Article, sec. 8-304).
The Governor appoints the thirty members of
the Schools' Board of Visitors for indefinite terms.


Chairperson: RonaldM. Kreitner, Director of Planning
Vice-Chairperson: David E. Harmon, 1994

Appointed by Governor: Edith Gordine Blount; Sarah
R. Galloway; Howard N. Hall. Terms expire 1994.

Representative ofMd. Disability Law Center appointed
by Governor: Elizabeth Jones

Ex officio: Rosalie S. Abrams, Director on Aging;
Carolyn W. Colvin, Secretary of Human
Resources; Nelson J. Sabatini, Secretary of Health
& Mental Hygiene.

c/o Office of Planning
301 W Preston St.
Baltimore, MD 21201 225-4530


Annual Report to Governor & General Assembly due
Dec. 1.

The Domiciliary Care Facilities Board was
created by the Governor at the request of the
General Assembly in 1984 (Joint Resolution no.
23, Acts of 1984). In 1986, the Board was estab-
lished by law (Chapter 726, Acts of 1986).
The Board formulates and implements policy
and coordinates agency responsibility for im-
plementing policy and programs related to
domiciliary care. The Board also reviews and ap-
proves policies and regulations that govern
domiciliary care facilities and related programs.
Chaired by the Director of Planning, the Board
has nine members. Four are appointed to four-year
terms by the Governor and include a domiciliary
care facility provider, and three consumers. One
member, appointed by the Governor, represents the
Maryland Disability Law Center. Four serve ex
officio (Code 1957, Art. 41, sec. 10-601).



Merle S. EUiott, Chairperson, 1991

Appointed by Governor with Senate advice & consent:
Jerry Lymas, 1991; Leonard R. Sachs, 1991;
Vernon C. Terry, 1991; H. Lee Boatwright III,
1992; Martha A. Smith, Ph.D., 1992; Mario F.
VillaSanta, 1992; Ronald L. Bowers, 1994; Irving
L. Kidwell, 1994; Walter H. Plosila, Ph.D., 1994.

Ex officio: J. Randall Evans, Secretary of Economic
& Employment Development; 0. James
Lighthizer, Secretary of Transportation.

Hans F. Mayer, Executive Director


clear space
clear space
white space

Please view image to verify text. To report an error, please contact us.
Maryland Manual, 1991-92
Volume 185, Page 510   View pdf image (33K)
 Jump to  

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

An Archives of Maryland electronic publication.
For information contact

©Copyright  October 06, 2023
Maryland State Archives