clear space clear space clear space white space
 r c h i v e s   o f   M a r y l a n d   O n l i n e

PLEASE NOTE: The searchable text below was computer generated and may contain typographical errors. Numerical typos are particularly troubling. Click “View pdf” to see the original document.

  Maryland State Archives | Index | Help | Search
search for:
clear space
white space
Maryland Manual, 1991-92
Volume 185, Page 506   View pdf image (33K)
 Jump to  
clear space clear space clear space white space

506/Maryland Manual

of Results to the Governor, who issues commissions
to the persons elected.
The Board consists of five ex officio members
(Code 1957, Art. 33, sees. 18-1,18-2).


Chairperson: Martin W. Walsh, Jr., Secretary of
General Services

Ex officio: Ronald M. Kreitner, Director of
Planning; Brad Davidson, Chairperson, State
Commission on the Capital City.

Dept. of General Services
301 W Preston St., Room 1401
Baltimore, MD 21201 225-4960
TTY for Deaf: 383-7555

The Council on the State Capital was estab-
lished in 1975 (Chapter 850, Acts of 1975). For
the enhancement and preservation of the An-
napolis area, the Council advises the Board of
Public Works on the impact of State programs on
the City of Annapolis and its immediate environs.
The Council, with the approval of the Board of
Public Works, acts in matters involving the acquisi-
tion, management, and disposition of any real
property if the State is involved to enhance or
protect the character of the Annapolis area. The
Council also manages and maintains the Paca
House and Gardens in Annapolis.
The Council consists of three ex officio mem-
bers. The chairperson is designated by the Board of
Public Works (Code State Government Article,
sees. 9-701 through 9-709).


Brad Davidson, Chairperson, 1991

Appointed by Governor (who also designates chair):
Paul Pearson, 1989; W. Minor Carter, 1991; two

Ex officio: William Donald Schaefer, Governor;
Thomas V. Mike Miller, Jr., Senate President; R.
Clayton Mitchell, Jr., House Speaker; Martin W.
Walsh, Jr., Secretary of General Services; Ronald
M. Kreitner, Director of Planning; Gerald W.
Winegrad, State Senate; John C. Astle, Michael
Busch, Philip D. Bissett, Anne Arundel County
Delegation, House of Delegates; Robert R. Neall,
Anne Arundel County Executive; Alfred A.
Hopkins, Mayor, City of Annapolis; Rear Admiral
Virgil L. Hill, Superintendent, U.S. Naval

GO. Box 1909
Annapolis, MD 21404 263-3250

BUDGET (CODE 23.01.0S.08)

FY1991 Total Appropriation ........ .$49,295
General Funds ..................... $49,295
FY1991 Total Authorized Positions ........ 0.5


Annual Report to Governor, Anne Arundel County
Executive, &Annapolis Mayor due July 1.

The State Commission on the Capital City is an
advisory body that examines ways to preserve the
colonial and historic features of Annapolis while
planning for the city's orderly growth and develop-
ment. The Commission makes recommendations to
the Governor, the Anne Arundel County Execu-
tive, and the Mayor of Annapolis on landmark
resources, the needs for governmental activities and
community resources and facilities, the city's physi-
cal development, and any other community needs.
Created in 1965, the Commission is comprised
of seventeen members (Chapter 202, Acts of
1965). Twelve members serve ex officio and five
members are appointed to four-year terms by the
Governor (Code State Government Article, sees.
9-401 through 9-408).


Chairperson: Lucille Maurer, State Treasurer
Appointed by Governor: Paul B. Meritt

Ex officio: Louis L. Goldstein, Comptroller of the
Treasury; Charles L. Benton, Jr., Secretary of
Budget & Fiscal Planning; 0. James Lighchizer,
Secretary of Transportation.

Goldstein Treasury Bidg., Room 109
60 Calvert St.
Annapolis, MD 21401 974-3533


Annual Estimate to Governor & General Assembly of
New State Debt that may be authorized fir next
fiscal year due Aug. 1.

The Capital Debt Affordabilicy Committee was
created in 1978 (Chapter 43, Acts of 1978). On a
continuing basis, the Committee reviews the size
and condition of the State debt. The Committee
annually submits to the Governor and the General
Assembly its estimate of the maximum amount of
new general obligation debt that prudently may be
authorized for the ensuing fiscal year. The Commit-
tee, in making this estimate, considers: 1) the
amount of general obligation debt that will be
issued and outstanding during that next fiscal year;
2) the amount of general obligation debt that will
be authorized but unissued during such fiscal year;
3) the capital program plan prepared by the Depart-


clear space
clear space
white space

Please view image to verify text. To report an error, please contact us.
Maryland Manual, 1991-92
Volume 185, Page 506   View pdf image (33K)
 Jump to  

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

An Archives of Maryland electronic publication.
For information contact

©Copyright  October 06, 2023
Maryland State Archives