clear space clear space clear space white space
 r c h i v e s   o f   M a r y l a n d   O n l i n e

PLEASE NOTE: The searchable text below was computer generated and may contain typographical errors. Numerical typos are particularly troubling. Click “View pdf” to see the original document.

  Maryland State Archives | Index | Help | Search
search for:
clear space
white space
Maryland Manual, 1991-92
Volume 185, Page 50   View pdf image (33K)
 Jump to  
clear space clear space clear space white space

50/Maryland Manual

Paula C. Hollinger, Senate Chairperson
Kenneth H. Masters, House Chairperson

Appointed by Senate President: Mary H. Boergers;
Howard A. Denis; Arthur Dorman; Leo E. Green;
Philip C. Jimeno; Christopher J. McCabe; Charles
H. Smelser; Larry Young,

Appointed by House Speaker: Gary R. Alexander; Joel
Chasnoff; Gene W. Counihan; Elijah E.
Cummings; Gerald J. Curran; Howard P.
Rawlings; Elizabeth S. Smith; Virginia M. Thomas.

Staff: Robert K. Smith; Jolie Matthews

The Joint Committee on Administrative, Execu-
tive and Legislative Review (AELR Committee)
was created in 1984 as a joint standing committee
known as the Committee on Legislative Review
(Chapter 96, Acts of 1964). It was renamed the
Committee on Administrative, Executive and
Legislative Review in 1972 (Chaptcis 400 and 699,
Acts of 1972).

The Committee reviews State agency regula-
tions with regard to the legislative prerogative and
procedural due process. The Committee also may
inquire into any failure of an officer or employee of
the legislative, executive, or judicial branch of State
government to comply with State statutory or con-
stitutional law. Further, the Committee sits as a
legislative advisory board for the Code of Maryland
Emulations (COMAR).
The AELR Committee receives copies of all
regulations of each State agency. Unless submitted
to the Committee, certain regulations or standards
may be invalid (Code State Government Article,
sees. 10-101 through 10-139).
The Committee is required to receive emergency
energy executive orders promulgated by the Gover-
nor (Chapter 1, Acts of 2nd Special Session of
1973). This legislative authority has been updated
The Committee is composed of nine Senators
and nine Delegates, who are appointed by the
President of the Senate and the Speaker of the
House of Delegates at the beginning of each regular
session. Members serve for one year. The chairper-
son and vice-chairperson alternate each year be-
tween the two houses. Representation of each
political party is approximately in the same propor-
tion as its membership in each house (Code State
Government Article, sees. 2-501 through 2-507).

Julian L. Lapides, Senate Chairperson
Richard N. Dixon, House Chairperson

Appointed by Senate President: William H. Amoss;
Clarence W. Blount; F. Vernon Boozer; Laurence
Levitan; Donald F. Munson; Thomas P. O'Reilly;
IdaG Rnhen; James C Simpsnn; Albert R Wynn

Appointed by House Speaker: Gene W. Counihan;
Ulysses Currie; Robert L. Flanagan; Henry R.
Hergenroeder, Jr.; Martha S. Klima; Timothy F.
Maloney; Howard P. Rawlings; James C.
Rosapepe; Samuel I. Rosenberg.

Staff: Dana Thompson 841-3710

The Joint Budget and Audit Committee was
created in 1968 (Chapter 456, Acts of 1968). The
Committee studies and reviews State fiscal policies
and post audits, and other matters relating to fiscal
affairs. From the Executive Department and the
Department of Fiscal Services it receives annual
reports on how long-term State debt affects the
State's financial condition.
Annually, the Committee reviews federally-
funded projects requiring future State funds and
nonbudgeted funds used for capital programs. It
also reviews rules and regulations that require in-
creased expenditures, establishes policies and direc-
tives for the Department of Fiscal Services, and
submits an annual report to the General Assembly
The Committee's twenty members include the
Senate President, the House Speaker, and the
majority and minority floor leaders or designees.
Other members are divided equally between legis-
lators from the fiscal committees of the Senate and
House of Delegates. The presiding officers name
the chairperson and vice-chairperson (Code State
Government Article, sees. 2-601 through 2-606).

C. Bernard Fowler, Senate Chairperson
Michael H. Weir, House Chairperson

Appointed by Senate President: William H. Amoss;
Frederick C. Malkus, Jr.; Lewis R. Riley; Gerald W.

Appointed by House Speaker: Samuel Q. Johnson III;
George W. Owings III; Michael J. Sprague; J.
Lowell Scoltzfus.

Staff: Myron H. Miller 841-3875

The Joint Committee on Chesapeake Bay Criti-
cal Areas was created in 1984 (Chapter 794, Acts
of 1984). Periodically, the Committee meets with
the Chesapeake Bay Critical Area Commission to
review the progress of the critical areas program for
the Bay


clear space
clear space
white space

Please view image to verify text. To report an error, please contact us.
Maryland Manual, 1991-92
Volume 185, Page 50   View pdf image (33K)
 Jump to  

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

An Archives of Maryland electronic publication.
For information contact

©Copyright  August 02, 2018
Maryland State Archives