clear space clear space clear space white space
 r c h i v e s   o f   M a r y l a n d   O n l i n e

PLEASE NOTE: The searchable text below was computer generated and may contain typographical errors. Numerical typos are particularly troubling. Click “View pdf” to see the original document.

  Maryland State Archives | Index | Help | Search
search for:
clear space
white space
Maryland Manual, 1991-92
Volume 185, Page 48   View pdf image (33K)
 Jump to  
clear space clear space clear space white space

48/Maryland Manual

Legislative Services Bidg., Room 103
Annapolis, MD 21401 841-3457

The Protocol Committee organizes, plans, and
schedules social activities of the General Assembly

The Organization and Procedure Committee
meets as required. Membership consists of the
members of the Senate Rules Committee and an
equal number of members from the House Rules
and Executive Nominations Committee (Senate


_______________STATUTORY COMMITTEES_______________

Statutory committees are created by act of the General Assembly and their duties, membership, and
tenure are specified either in the Annotated Code of Maryland or the Laws of Maryland. Most commonly,
statutory committees are joint committees with an equal number of members from the Senate and House
of Delegates.


Thomas V. Mike Miller, Jr., President of the Senate
R. Clayton Mirchell, Jr., Speaker of the House of

Appointed by Senate President: F. Vernon Boozer;
Barbara A. Hoffman; Julian L. Lapides; Ida G.
Ruben; James C. Simpson; Charles H. Smelser.

Appointed by House Speaker: Ulysses Currie; Hattie
N. Harrison; Kenneth H. Masters.

Ex officio Senate members: Frederick C. Malleus, Jr.,
President Pro Tern; Clarence W. Blount, Majority
Leader; John A. Cade, Minority Leader; Laurence
Levitan, Chairperson, Budget & Taxation
Committee; Thomas P. O'Reilly, Chairperson,
Finance Committee; Walter M. Baker,
Chairperson, Judicial Proceedings Committee.

Ex officio House members: Nancy K. Kopp, Speaker
Pro Tern; D. Brace Poole, Majority Leader; Ellen
R. Sauerbrey, Minority Leader; Charles J. Ryan,
Chairperson, Appropriations Committee; Anne S.
Perkins, Chairperson, Constitutional &
Administrative Law Committee; Casper R. Taylor,
Jr., Chairperson, Economic Matters Committee;
Ronald A. Guns, Chairperson, Environmental
Matters Committee; John S. Arnick, Chairperson,
Judiciary Committee; Tyras S. Athey, Chairperson,
Ways & Means Committee.

Staff: Michael I. Volk

90 State Circle
Annapolis, MD 21401 841-3848

The Legislative Policy Committee originated in
1939 as the Legislative Council (Chapter 62, Acts
of 1939). The Council was reorganized as the
Legislative Policy Committee in 1976 (Chapter
362, Acts of 1976).

The Legislative Policy Committee coordinates
and supervises the work of the standing committees
of the General Assembly. The Committee studies
the rules and procedures of the Senate and House,
and appoints special committees and subcommit-
tees to study legislative matters. During the interim
between sessions of the General Assembly, the
Committee refers any recommended subject matter
it receives to interim committees, holds hearings on
any subject matter, and subpoenas witnesses and
records as required. The Committee may prepare its
own legislative recommendations, and may endorse
a legislative program in the form of bills, resolu-
tions, or other proposals to be submitted to the
General Assembly
Prior to each regular session of the legislature,
the Legislative Policy Committee is required to
compile and make public in a report to the General
Assembly recommendations of the standing,
statutory, and special committees.
The Committee consists of twenty-six members,
thirteen from the Senate and thirteen from the
House of Delegates. The Senate is represented by
the President of the Senate; President Pro Tern;
Majority Leader; Minority Leader; and the chair-
persons of the standing committees on Budget and
Taxation, Economic and Environmental Affairs,
Finance, and Judicial Proceedings. The President
appoints five additional Senators to represent the
various areas and interests of the Scare. The House
of Delegates is represented by the Speaker of the
House; Speaker Pro Tern; Majority Leader;
Minority Leader; and the chairpersons of the stand-
ing committees on Appropriations, Constitutional
and Administrative Law, Economic Matters, En-
vironmental Matters, Judiciary, and Ways and
Means. The Speaker appoints three additional
Delegates to represent the various areas and inter-
ests of the State. The President and Speaker serve
as co-chairpersons (Code State Government Ar-
ticle, sees. 2-401 through 2-410).


clear space
clear space
white space

Please view image to verify text. To report an error, please contact us.
Maryland Manual, 1991-92
Volume 185, Page 48   View pdf image (33K)
 Jump to  

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

An Archives of Maryland electronic publication.
For information contact

©Copyright  October 06, 2023
Maryland State Archives