clear space clear space clear space white space
 r c h i v e s   o f   M a r y l a n d   O n l i n e

PLEASE NOTE: The searchable text below was computer generated and may contain typographical errors. Numerical typos are particularly troubling. Click “View pdf” to see the original document.

  Maryland State Archives | Index | Help | Search
search for:
clear space
white space
Maryland Manual, 1991-92
Volume 185, Page 44   View pdf image (33K)
 Jump to  
clear space clear space clear space white space

44/Maryla.nd Manual


Standing committees are defined as those committees set forth in the Rules of the Senate or the Rules
of the House of Delegates (Code State Government Article, sec. 2-101 (f)). Their primary function is to
consider all legislation referred to them by the Senate President or House Speaker.

The Senate has six standing committees (Senate Rule 18). The House has eight standing committees
(House Rule 18). In addition, there are three joint standing committees. At the beginning of each session,
the Senate President and House Speaker appoint the members of standing committees and designate
chairpersons and vice-chairpersons. A senator or delegate may not be appointed to more than one standing
committee whose main function is to consider legislation.

The rules of each chamber require every bill to be referred by the presiding officer to the appropriate
standing committee (Senate Rule 33; House Rule 33). An exception is made for bills which are strictly
local with no statewide impact. Such bills are referred instead lu select committees. A select committee is
usually composed of a county's delegation in the House or its senators, with other members appointed
as necessary to make up the minimum number of three. Counties without home rule keep their select
committees busy

The House or Senate may suspend its Rules in order to consider a bill or resolution without referring
it to a standing committee as long as each member receives a copy of the bill or resolution to be so
considered (Senate Rule 33(f); House Rule 33(f)). _____________________


Laurence Levitan, Chairperson
Barbara A. Hoffinan, Vice-Chairperson

Appointed by Senate President: William H. Amoss;
John A. Cade; Nathan C. Irby, Jr.; Julian L.
Lapides; Nancy L. Murphy; Lewis R. Riley; Ida G.
Ruben; Charles H. Smelser; Decatur W. Trotter;
Albert R. Wynn; Thomas M. Yeager.

Staff: Robbin S. Marks; Gregory A. Brown;
Douglass R. Mann

100 James Senate Office Building
Annapolis, MD 21401 841-3710

The Budget and Taxation Committee considers
legislation relating to State operating and capital
budgets, including revenues and expenditures; sup-
plementary appropriations; State and county bond
authorizations; legislative budgetary procedures;
taxation and property assessments; and proposals
requiring significant expenditures. The Committee
consists of thirteen members.

Clarence W. Blount, Chairperson
Arthur Dorman, Vice-Chairperson

Appointed by Senate President: Michael J. Collins; C.
Bernard Fowler; Idamae Garroct; Larry E. Haines;
Paula C. Hollinger; Gloria Lawlah; Christopher J.
McCabe; American Joe Miedusiewski; Gerald W.

Staff: Carol L. Swan; Lynne S. Blume; Simon G.

200 James Senate Office Building
Annapolis, MD 21401 841-3870

The Economic and Environmental Affairs Com-
mittee considers legislation relating to agriculture
and land preservation; natural resources; alcoholic
beverages; housing and economic development;
elections; veterans and defense; education; fire
prevention and safety; procurement; environmen-
tal health; local government; administrative law;
State government reorganization and procedures;
and business and occupational licensing and regula-
tion (including health occupations). Eleven
senators serve on this committee.

Thomas P. O'Reilly, Chairperson
James C. Simpson, Vice-Chairperson

Appointed by Senate President: F. Vernon Boozer;
Thomas L. Bromwell; George W. Delia, Jr.; John
W. Derr; Leo E. Green; John J. Hater; Patricia R.
Sher; Michael J. Wagner; Larry Young.

Staff: Isabella Firth; Stephen M. Ports; N.
Christopher Usiak

Presidential Wing
James Senate Office Building
Annapolis, MD 21401 841-3710

The Finance Committee considers legislation
relating to banks and financial institutions; credit
regulation and consumer financing; commercial
law; economic and community development; in-
surance; horse racing; lottery and gambling;
health; pensions and retirement; State personnel;
social services; transportation; utility regulation;
labor and employment; unemployment insurance;
and worker's compensation. The Committee con-
sists of eleven members.


clear space
clear space
white space

Please view image to verify text. To report an error, please contact us.
Maryland Manual, 1991-92
Volume 185, Page 44   View pdf image (33K)
 Jump to  

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

An Archives of Maryland electronic publication.
For information contact

©Copyright  August 02, 2018
Maryland State Archives