clear space clear space clear space white space
 r c h i v e s   o f   M a r y l a n d   O n l i n e

PLEASE NOTE: The searchable text below was computer generated and may contain typographical errors. Numerical typos are particularly troubling. Click “View pdf” to see the original document.

  Maryland State Archives | Index | Help | Search
search for:
clear space
white space
Maryland Manual, 1991-92
Volume 185, Page 236   View pdf image (33K)
 Jump to  
clear space clear space clear space white space

236/Maryland Manual

grant applications for federal Drug-Free Schools
funds, and selects schools to serve as models for the
Drug-Free Schools Program. Annual reports to the
State Superintendent of Schools are due from the
Council each July

Nancy S. Grasmick, Co-Chairperson
Mary Ellen Gunther, Co-Chairperson

Appointed by Governor (who also designates chair):
Barbara C. Apple; Carol Ann Baglin; Beverly K.
Beander; Dorothy Burrus, Ph.D.; Marilyn L.
Dolbeare-Mathews; Dennis K. Rohde; Novella
Sargusingh; Brenda Schaab; Patricia Scully; Janet
Singerman; Helen P. Spence; Antoinette S.
Ungaretti, Ph.D.; Ocie Watson-Thompson; Jean
L. Williams-Valentine. Terms expire 1993.

Appointed by Senate President: Idamae Garrott
Appointed by House Speaker: Christine M. Jones

Appointed by State Superintendent of Schools: not yet

Appointed by Special Secretary for Children, Touth, &
Families: not yet appointed

Appointed by Secretary of Health & Mental Hygiene:
not yet appointed

Appointed by Secretary of Human Resources: not yet

Staff: Frances 0. Win 333-2348

The Interagency Advisory Committee for Early
Childhood Development and Education was
created within the State Department of Education
in 1990 (Chapter 405, Acts of 1990). The Com-
mittee promotes and encourages early childhood
education in Maryland.
In planning public preschool programs, the
Committee considers the availability of private and
public child care services. The Committee also
devises methods by which to evaluate and monitor
preschool programs.
The Committee recommends standards for dis-
tributing early childhood development funds to
local governments and promotes the designation of
local interagency advisory councils in Maryland's
twenty-four local jurisdictions. In addition, the
Committee provides technical assistance and sup-
port to local councils and encourages each local
council to plan comprehensive services for children.
The Committee is composed of twenty-one
members. The Governor designates the chairper-
son. Authorization for the Committee continues
until June 30,1993 (Code Education Article, sees.
24-301 through 24-303).

Mona-Lee Bretall, Chairperson

Appointed by Governor: Beverly K. Beander; Bernard
Bell; Thomas E. Bellavance, Ph.D.; William R.
Burroughs, Ed.D.; Gwendolyn M. dark; Jennifer
S. Collins; Doris A. Eugene; Solomon Gnatt,
Ed.D.; Megan McCarthy; American Joe
Miedusiewski; Michael J. Morris; Regina Pellegrini;
KadKirby Pence, Jr.; Hercules Pinkney, Jr., Ed.D.;
Howard P. Rawlings; William H. Rohrer; Patricia
Allen Smith; Donnadine Spilman; Donald Lewis
Sudbrink; Harrison DeWayne Whittington, Ed.D.

Staff: Mary Keath

200 W Baltimore St.
Baltimore, MD 21201-2595 333-2294

The Advisory Committee for Educational
Block Grants, formerly the Education Advisory
Committee, was established by Executive Order in
1981. Pursuant to the federal Education Con-
solidation and Improvement Act of 1981, the
Committee advises the State Department of
Education on allocating federal funds for instruc-
tional improvement among eligible State educa-
tion programs. It also advises the Department on
how to plan, develop, support, implement, and
evaluate these programs.
Committee members are appointed by the
Governor for one-year terms. They represent public
and private elementary and secondary school-
children, teachers, parents of elementary and secon-
dary schoolchildren, local boards of education, local
and regional school administrators, institutions of
higher learning, and the General Assembly

Chairperson: Joseph L. Shilling, Stare
Superintendent of Schools

Appointed by Governor: Rudolph V. DcPaola

Ex officio: Shaila R. Aery, Secretary of Higher
Education; Richard L. Lanham, Sr., Commissioner
of Correction; Wayne F. Gersen, Washington
County Superintendent of Schools.

200 W Baltimore St.
Baltimore, MD 21201 333-2251
Chairperson: 333-2100

The Education Coordinating Council for Cor-
rectional Institutions was created in 1975 to
develop educational programs in each correctional
institution within the Division of Correction
(Chapter 539, Acts of 1975).
The Council has four ex officio members, and
one public member appointed to a four-year term
by the Governor. The State Department of Educa-
tion provides technical and clerical assistance to the


clear space
clear space
white space

Please view image to verify text. To report an error, please contact us.
Maryland Manual, 1991-92
Volume 185, Page 236   View pdf image (33K)
 Jump to  

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

An Archives of Maryland electronic publication.
For information contact

©Copyright  August 02, 2018
Maryland State Archives