clear space clear space clear space white space
 r c h i v e s   o f   M a r y l a n d   O n l i n e

PLEASE NOTE: The searchable text below was computer generated and may contain typographical errors. Numerical typos are particularly troubling. Click “View pdf” to see the original document.

  Maryland State Archives | Index | Help | Search
search for:
clear space
white space
Maryland Manual, 1991-92
Volume 185, Page 194   View pdf image (33K)
 Jump to  
clear space clear space clear space white space

2 94/Mmyland Manual

W. Drew Stabler, Chairperson, 1991

Appointed by Governor: Jesse I. Bun-all, Sr., 1991;
Norman G. Fischer, 1991; Edward W. Quidas, Jr.,
1991; Michael W. Radebaugh, D.V.M., 1991;
John W. Strickland, 1991; Earl F. Hance, 1992;
Robert K. Holland, 1992; Patricia A.
Langenfelder, 1992; G. Laurence Moore, 1992;
David Weiczer, 1992; John M. Burner, 1993; John
W. Jarrett, 1993; Leon J. LaChance, 1993; A.
Orrell Saulsbury III, 1993; Richard W. Wilcke,
1993; three vacancies.

~Ex officio: Raymond J. Miller, Vice-Chancellor for
Agriculture & Natural Resources, University of
Maryland System

Laurie Green, Executive Secretary

50 Harry S Truman Parkway
Annapolis, MD 21401 841-5894

The Maryland Agricultural Commission was
formed in 1961 as the Agricultural Advisory Board
(Chapter 470, Acts of 1961). The Board was
renamed the Maryland Agricultural Commission in
1968 (Chapter 552, Acts of 1968). The Com-
mission's chief function is to advance Maryland
agriculture and advise the Secretary of Agriculture
on agricultural matters. The Commission proposes
agricultural improvements, promotes State agricul-
tural industries and products, and reviews legisla-
tion for its impact on agriculture.
The Commission consists of twenty members.
Nineteen are appointed by the Governor for three-
year terms. They include representatives of the
dairy, poultry, livestock, tobacco, nursery, horticul-
ture, field crops, turf, horse breeding, food process-
ing and vegetable industries; the veterinary
profession; the Maryland State Grange; the
Maryland Farm Bureau; services related to agricul-
ture; and one consumer member. The principal
administrative officer for agricultural affairs at the
University of Maryland System serves ex officio.
(Code Agriculture Article, sees. 2-201 through 2-


Bradley H. Powers, Aquaculture Coordinator

50 Harry S Truman Parkway
Annapolis, MD 21401 841-5724

The National Aquaculture Act of 1980 set forth
the federal policy of encouraging development of
an aquaculture industry. Maryland's interest in
aquaculture culminated in 1988 when the Depart-
ment of Agriculture was designated to promote

development of aquaculture and coordinate State
efforts in this field (Chapter 534, Acts of 1988).
In Maryland, aquaculture has been defined as an
agricultural activity—the controlled cultivation and
harvest of aquatic planes and animals. Potentially
viable aquaculture crops in the State include striped
bass and hybrids, oysters, and soft-shell crabs.
Established by the Department in 1988, the
Office of Aquaculture Programs coordinates the
aquaculture programs of the Department of
Agriculture, the Department of Natural Resources,
and the University of Maryland System.


Ernest F. Tresselt, Chairperson, 1991

Appointed by Governor: John F. Tucker Brown,
1991; Reginal M. Harrell, Ph.D., 1991; James A.
Pcrdue, Ph.D., 1991; Eva M. Devine. 1992;
George H. Harris, 1992; George Kimble Horn,
1992; Michael C. Rubino, Ph.D., 1992; James M.
Banagan, 1993; Max E. Chambers, 1993; Robert
P. Eurice, 1993; Frank P. Palmer, Jr., 1993.

Designated by Senate President: Lewis R. Riley
Designated by House Speaker: John F. Slade III

Designated by Secretary of Agriculture: F. William

Designated by Secretary ofNatural Resources: Lt. Col.
W. C. Wiling, Natural Resources Police; W. Peter
Jensen, Tidewater Administration.

Designated by Chancellor, University of Maryland
System: Frederick W. Wheaton, Ph.D., University
of Maryland College of Agriculture

Nonvoting members: Pradeep Ganguly, M.D.,
designee of Secretary of Economic & Employment
Development; Mary Jo Garreis, designee of
Secretary of the Environment; Betty Harden,
designee of Secretary of Health & Mental Hygiene.


The Aquaculture Advisory Committee was
created in 1988 (Chapter 534, Acts of 1988). In
consultation with the Senate Economic and En-
vironmental Affairs Committee and the House of
Delegates Environmental Matters Committee, the
Committee proposes legislation that promotes a
major aquaculture industry for Maryland's tidal
waters. In 1990, the Committee drafted legislation
to create the Maryland Seafood and Aquaculture
Loan Fund for expanding aquaculture or modern-
izing the seafood processing industry (Chapter 511,
Acts of 1990).
The Committee consists of twenty-one mem-
bers. Twelve are appointed to three-year terms by
the Governor. Remaining members include a State
senator designated by the Senate President; a
delegate designated by the House Speaker; one


clear space
clear space
white space

Please view image to verify text. To report an error, please contact us.
Maryland Manual, 1991-92
Volume 185, Page 194   View pdf image (33K)
 Jump to  

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

An Archives of Maryland electronic publication.
For information contact

©Copyright  August 02, 2018
Maryland State Archives