clear space clear space clear space white space
 r c h i v e s   o f   M a r y l a n d   O n l i n e

PLEASE NOTE: The searchable text below was computer generated and may contain typographical errors. Numerical typos are particularly troubling. Click “View pdf” to see the original document.

  Maryland State Archives | Index | Help | Search
search for:
clear space
white space
Maryland Manual, 1989-90
Volume 184, Page 603   View pdf image (33K)
 Jump to  
clear space clear space clear space white space


Mary Covington, Chairperson.
Vernon Clark; Paul Comfort; James Dudley;
Jeffery Moore; Pauline White; Williams Woofers.


Robert H. Goldsmith, Chairperson.
Charles Louis Clements; Timmerman T.
Daugherty; James Hodges, Jr.; William Mattingly;
John Pleisse; Salvatore Raspa.


Robert Price, Chairperson.
Donald Lee Howard; Michael Mclntyre; Robert
Purnell, Sr.; Kirk Gates Simpkins; Earl Warwick.

State Central Committees/603


Robert Valliant, Chairperson.
Ellsworth Andrew; Jacques Baker, Jr.; Kathryn
Corbin; Gary Fairbank, Jr.; David Weise.


Paul G. Pittman, Jr., Chairperson.
Michael G. Callas; Richard Ebersole; Dennis Koogle;
Terry Smith; Bruce Snyder; Kenneth Wade.


Michael Weisner, Chairperson.
Jill Barbon; Josh Farlow; Renzilo Foxwell; Mary
O'Brien; Arthur Webster; Eleanor Wilson.


Charlotte Cathell, Chairperson.
Ames Byrd; Bill Cropper; Frederick H. Joyner;
Barry Laws; Benjamin Nelson, Jr.

CONVENTION, JULY 18, 1988          ________________________________

Maryland was allocated seventy-seven delegates and twenty-two alternates for the 1988 Democratic
National Convention in Atlanta, Georgia. The delegation was composed of equal numbers of men and women
with consideration also given to minority representation. Four categories of delegates were selected.

Delegates Elected by Voters. Forty-four delegates and twenty-two alternates were elected direcdy by the
registered Democratic voters in the March 8, 1988 primary election. The delegates and alternates were
apportioned among Maryland's eight congressional districts according to a formula based on population
and the average of the Democratic vote in the last two presidential elections. In the selection process, any
registered Democratic voter who is a bona fide resident of a congressional district is eligible to run for
election as a convention delegate. Each candidate also is required to file a pledge of support for a
Democratic presidential candidate or a declaration of uncommitted status.

Unpledged Party and Elected Officials. In 1988, ten persons were designated as delegates by virtue of
their office. They included the Governor and nine members of the Democratic National Committee
residing in Maryland (State Party Chairperson, Vice Chairperson, three State Party representatives, and
four at-large members).

Pledged Party and Elected Officials. Nine pledged party leader and elected official delegates were chosen
by the Democratic State Central Committee on May 17,1988. In this selection, priority was given to city
mayors, State legislative leaders and legislators, members of Congress not previously selected, and other
State, county and local elected officials and parry leaders.

Pledged At-large Delegates. Also selected by the Democratic State Central Committee on May 17,1988,
were fourteen at-large delegates and eight at-large alternates. Here priority was given to minority groups,
political subdivisions not represented, and an equitable balance of men and women delegates. Delegates
selected by the State Central Committee were allocated to presidential candidates according to the
percentage of the vote a candidate received in the statewide presidential primary In addition to the
delegates allocated to Maryland, some members of the U.S. Congress from Maryland were chosen by the
Democratic Caucus of their respective chamber to serve as voting delegates. Seven of Maryland's
Congressional Delegation were selected as delegates to the 1988 Democratic National Convention.


clear space
clear space
white space

Please view image to verify text. To report an error, please contact us.
Maryland Manual, 1989-90
Volume 184, Page 603   View pdf image (33K)
 Jump to  

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

An Archives of Maryland electronic publication.
For information contact

©Copyright  October 06, 2023
Maryland State Archives