clear space clear space clear space white space
 r c h i v e s   o f   M a r y l a n d   O n l i n e

PLEASE NOTE: The searchable text below was computer generated and may contain typographical errors. Numerical typos are particularly troubling. Click “View pdf” to see the original document.

  Maryland State Archives | Index | Help | Search
search for:
clear space
white space
Maryland Manual, 1989-90
Volume 184, Page 601   View pdf image (33K)
 Jump to  
clear space clear space clear space white space

State Central Committees/601


The two main political parries in Maryland are each governed by a state central committee. The state central
committee is composed of the members of the central committee of the party for the counties and Baltimore City
Each political party functions under its own constitution and bylaws (Code 1957, Art. 33, secs. 11-1 through 11-3).


Nathan Landow, Chairperson
Vera P Hall, Vice-Chairperson
Delores Kelley, Secretary
James C. Rosapepe, Treasurer
Carolyn W Smith, Executive Director

National Committeepersons: Clarence W Blount; Lanny J. Davis; Juanita Miller; Mary Jo Neville.

Regional Chairpersons: Thomas Dixon III (Anne Arundel County); James C. Dugent, Charles Kelly,
Brian K. McHale, Michele L. Rosenberg (Baltimore City); John Appel, Leslie Hutchinson,
Kathryn J. Peters (Baltimore County); Judith E. Clancy, Gregory Pecoraro (CentralMaryland);
Nancy C. Voss (Eastern Shore); Thomas E. Bratten, Jr., Mary Law Miller, Marjorie Stanley
(Montgomery County); Rose Cobb, Joel D. Rozner, Patricia Williamson (Prince George's County);
Robert H. Goldsmith (SouthernMaryland); Thomas G. Slater (WesternMaryland).

Leslie Hutchinson (President), David Olstein, Young Democrats of Maryland

Maybelle Jones, United Democratic Women's Clubs of Maryland

Frank Gorman, Counsel

Terms expire 1990.

224 Main St.

Annapolis, MD 21401                                                                                                             280-2300

The governing body of the Maryland Democratic Party is the Democratic State Central Committee.
Committee members are elected from their respective county or legislative district or are honorary members
(nonvoting) designated by the Committee. Honorary members may include elected Democratic officials such
as the Governor, Lieutenant Governor, Attorney General, Comptroller, U.S. Senator, or U.S. Representative.
Honorary memberships also may be extended to former Democratic governors and representatives of the
Ifbung Democrats of Maryland, the United Democratic Women's Clubs of Maryland, Maryland members of
the Democratic National Committee and any others so designated by the State Central Committee.

Local Democratic central committees are elected by local voters in each gubernatorial primary election.
Members serve four-year terms. A member of a local Democratic central committee must be a registered
Democratic voter and a bona fide resident of the county or legislative district represented. Any qualified
person may run for the office by filing a candidacy with the local Board of Supervisors of Elections.



John Coyle, Jr., Chairperson.
William Baker; Mary Keating; John McGreevy;
James J. Ortiz; Mary Jane Stakem; Dolores Turner.


Trevor Kiessling, Jr., Dist. 31, Chairperson.
Dist. 29A: Francis Hall Chaney II. Dist. 30: Gerald
Ackerman; Ellen Mover. Dist. 31: Luke T. Anthony;
Ashby Jenkins, Jr. Dist. 32: Richard H. Carter;

Thomas H. Dixon III; C. Edward Middlebrooks.
Dist. 33: Gilda Atas; Jeanette Colter; James A. Hoage.


Agnes Welch, Dist. 41, Chairperson.
Dist. 39: Daisy Bradford; John D. Jefferies; Clarence
M. Mitchell IV; Jeffrey Paige; Michael Scales. Dist.
40: Mary B. Adams; Sheila Dixon-Smidi; Roland
Holmes; Howard P. Rawlings; Ruth Robinson. Dist.
41: Earl C. Banks; Clarence W. Blount; Vera P. Hall;
Margaret H. Murphy. Dist. 42: George Bailey; Irwin
Cohen; Michele L. Rosenberg; Phyllis Sachs; David
Shapiro. Dist. 43: Thomas N. Biddison, Jr.; William


clear space
clear space
white space

Please view image to verify text. To report an error, please contact us.
Maryland Manual, 1989-90
Volume 184, Page 601   View pdf image (33K)
 Jump to  

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

An Archives of Maryland electronic publication.
For information contact

©Copyright  October 06, 2023
Maryland State Archives