clear space clear space clear space white space
 r c h i v e s   o f   M a r y l a n d   O n l i n e

PLEASE NOTE: The searchable text below was computer generated and may contain typographical errors. Numerical typos are particularly troubling. Click “View pdf” to see the original document.

  Maryland State Archives | Index | Help | Search
search for:
clear space
white space
Maryland Manual, 1989-90
Volume 184, Page 469   View pdf image (33K)
 Jump to  
clear space clear space clear space white space



Jerome J. Ryscavage, Superintendent of Schools,
Garrett County

Ex officio: Donald L. Alexander, President, Allegany
Community College; Herb. F. Reinhard, President,
Frostburg State University; Harold J. Winstanley,
Superintendent of Schools, Allegany County; Norman
P. Shea, President, Hagerstown Junior College;
Wayne Gersen, Superintendent of Schools, Wash-
ington County; Stephen J. Herman, President,
Garrett Community College; John S. Toti.,Chancellor,
University of Maryland System; George Marx,

Frank C. Peto, Executive Director, Executive
Secretary-Treasurer of the Board

153 Baltimore St.
Cumberland, MD 21502 777-3525
MARCOM: 777-5982

The Regional Education Service Agency of Ap-
palachian Maryland (RESA) works to raise the
educational level of all people in Appalachian Mary-
land (Allegany, Garrett, and Washington counties).
In this way, they may develop socially, culturally, and
economically. Member institutions include Al-
legany Community College, Frostburg State Uni-
versity, Allegany County Board of Education,
Hagerstown Junior College, Washington County
Board of Education, Garrett Community College,
Garrett County Board of Education, and the Uni-
versity of Maryland System.

The Agency originated in 1967 as the Educa-
tional Subcommittee of the Appalachian Regional
Commission. A formal organization with office and
staff by 1970, it became a separate administrative
unit of government in 1973. The Agency was cre-
ated by Chapter 533, Acts of 1973, and by the
Attorney General's approval of a joint agreement by
the eight member institutions.

The chief executives of the signatory members
to the joint agreement comprise the ex officio vot-
ing membership of the Board of Directors. The
Board establishes policies for programs, operations,
and fiscal affairs.

RESA fosters cooperation among all educa-
tional institutions and organizations concerned
with the needs of the people in the region. The
Agency establishes goals, policies, and procedures
for regional education projects, which it plans, co-
ordinates, and implements. It also promotes the
improvement of educational, scientific, and literary

Independent Agencies/469

facilities and programs at and among participating

The Agency provides technical assistance and
recommendations to the Governor concerning
plans and programs directed toward education's
role in the development of the region. These recom-
mendations are the basis for education programs
funded by the Appalachian Regional Commission
through the Department of Housing and Commu-
nity Development.

The Agency helps member institutions identify
needs that could be met by regional programs or
services. Based on Board policy, the staff provides
direct support and leadership for interagency/insti-
tutional liaison, project development and imple-
mentation, and project review and evaluation.

Operations and programs of the Agency are
supported by budget allocations of the member
institutions and from grants and contracts with
local, State, and federal agencies, such as the Appa-
lachian Regional Commission.

The Agency is described in two publications:
What's a RESA? and Appalachian Maryland—A
Great Place to Learn, A Great Place to Live. Both are
available upon request.


Dennis F. Rasmussen, Baltimore County Executive

Vice-Chairperson: William V. Lauterbach, Jr.,
member, Carroll County Planning Commission
Secretary: Anthony J. Ambridge, Jr., member,
Baltimore City Council

Anne Arundel County: James Lighthizer, County
Executive (Thomas L. Osborne, alternate); Virginia
P. Clagett, Chairperson, County Council (Carole B.
Baker, alternate); Joan Thomasson, member,
Planning Advisory Board.

Baltimore City: Kurt L. Schmoke, Mayor (Robert
Hearn, alternate); Mary Pat Clarke, President, City
Council (Agnes P. Welch, alternate); Kenneth J.
Strong, Chairperson, Planning Commission.

Baltimore County: Dennis F. Rasmussen, County
Executive (Kenneth D. Dryden, alternate); Dale T.
Volz, Chairperson, County Council (Melvin G.
Mintz, alternate); Barbara Jean DeGuilmi, member,
Planning Board.

Carroll County: John L. Armacost, President, Board
of County Commissioners (Vacancy, alternate); Julia
W. Gouge, Vice-President, Board of County Commis-
sioners (Edmund Cueman, alternate); William V.
Lauterbach, Jr., member, Planning & Zoning

clear space
clear space
white space

Please view image to verify text. To report an error, please contact us.
Maryland Manual, 1989-90
Volume 184, Page 469   View pdf image (33K)
 Jump to  

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

An Archives of Maryland electronic publication.
For information contact

©Copyright  October 06, 2023
Maryland State Archives