clear space clear space clear space white space
 r c h i v e s   o f   M a r y l a n d   O n l i n e

PLEASE NOTE: The searchable text below was computer generated and may contain typographical errors. Numerical typos are particularly troubling. Click “View pdf” to see the original document.

  Maryland State Archives | Index | Help | Search
search for:
clear space
white space
Maryland Manual, 1989-90
Volume 184, Page 43   View pdf image (33K)
 Jump to  
clear space clear space clear space white space

well as minimum standards for hospital patient
utilization review programs. The Committee also
may consider and review issues relating to the State
Health Resources Planning Commission, the State
Health Services Cost Review Commission, the cer-
tificate of need process, the State Health Plan,
studies on the availability of health care cost ser-
vices, and other issues relating to health care cost

The Committee is comprised of five senators
appointed by the Senate President, and five dele-
gates appointed by the House Speaker. Authoriza-
tion for the Committee continues until June 1,


Senate Chairperson: Julian L. Lapides
House Chairperson: Joel Chasnoff

Senate members: Michael J. Collins; Howard A.
Denis; Bernie Fowler; Gerald W Winegrad.

House members: John C. Astle; Peter G. Callas;
Louis L. DePazzo; Donald F. Munson.

Ex officio: Thomas V Mike Miller, Jr., President of
the Senate; Joseph F. Vallario, Jr., designee of Speaker
of the House of Delegates.

Staff: Alan E Deanehan 841-3870

The Joint Committee on Legislative Ethics was
established in 1972 (Chapter 5, Acts of 1972). The
Committee renders advisory opinions and promul-
gates rules of legislative ethics with respect to con-
flicts of interest governing members of the General
Assembly. These rules are effective on a year-round

The Committee consists of twelve members, six
from the Senate and six from the House of Dele-
gates. The Senate President and House Speaker
serve ex officio. They appoint the remaining mem-
bers and chairpersons. At least one member of the
Senate and one of the House are chosen from the
party of the Minority Leader (Code State Govern-
ment Article, secs. 2-701 through 2-707).


Senate Chairperson: Leo E. Green
House Chairperson: Gary R. Alexander

Senate members: Clarence W Blount; Thomas L.
Bromwell; Laurence Levitan.

House members: Richard N. Dixon; Nancy K. Kopp;
Eileen M. Rehrmann.

Staff: Joel D. Lehman 841-3710


The Joint Committee on the Management of
Public Funds was created in 1973 (Chapter 635,
Acts of 1973). The Committee reviews policies and
procedures of the State Treasurer regarding the
investment and management of State funds in the
Treasury, State funds not in the Treasury (excluding
retirement system funds), and public funds invested
and managed by local government. It reports annu-
ally to the General Assembly.

The Committee consists of eight members, four
from the Senate and four from the House of Dele-
gates, appointed by the President and the Speaker.
The chairperson and vice-chairperson are desig-
nated by the President and Speaker jointly and serve
at their pleasure (Code State Government Article,
secs. 2-801 through 2-806).


Senate Chairperson: Laurence Levitan
House Chairperson: R. Charles Avara

Senate members: Raymond E. Beck; Clarence W
Blount; Leo E. Green; Francis X. Kelly; Thomas
Patrick O'Reilly; Catherine I. Riley; James C.

House members: John S. Arnick; Tyras S. Athey;
Daniel M. Long; James C. Rosapepe; Samuel I.
Rosenberg; Charles J. Ryan; Ellen R. Sauerbrey

Ex officio: Thomas V Mike Miller, Jr., President of
the Senate; R. Clayton Mitchell, Jr, Speaker of the
House of Delegates.

Citizen advisory members. John C. Miller; Douglas
Cater; H. Furlong Baldwin; Edward LaMon.

Staff: John S. Donaldson 841-3736

Established in 1982, the Spending Affordability
Committee studies and reviews the status and pro-
jections of State revenues and expenditures and the
status and projections of the Maryland economy
(Chapter 585, Acts of 1982). The Committee's
purpose is to limit the rate of growth of State
spending to a level that does not exceed the rate of
growth of the State's economy

By December 1 each year, the Spending
Affordability Committee submits a report to the
Legislative Policy Committee and the Governor
with recommendations for the fiscal goals of the
budget to be considered at the next General Assem-
bly session. The report includes recommended lev-
els of State spending, new debt authorization, and
State personnel, and provides recommendations for
the use of any anticipated surplus, as well as other
findings or recommendations.

The Committee consists of the Senate President
and House Speaker; chairpersons of the Senate

clear space
clear space
white space

Please view image to verify text. To report an error, please contact us.
Maryland Manual, 1989-90
Volume 184, Page 43   View pdf image (33K)
 Jump to  

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

An Archives of Maryland electronic publication.
For information contact

©Copyright  August 01, 2018
Maryland State Archives