clear space clear space clear space white space
 r c h i v e s   o f   M a r y l a n d   O n l i n e

PLEASE NOTE: The searchable text below was computer generated and may contain typographical errors. Numerical typos are particularly troubling. Click “View pdf” to see the original document.

  Maryland State Archives | Index | Help | Search
search for:
clear space
white space
Maryland Manual, 1989-90
Volume 184, Page 41   View pdf image (33K)
 Jump to  
clear space clear space clear space white space


Senate Chairperson: James C. Simpson
House Chairperson: Daniel M. Long

Senate Members: Howard A. Denis; Arthur
Dorman; Barbara A. Hoffman; Paula C. Hollinger;
Philip C. Jimeno; Charles H. Smelser; Thomas M.
Yeager; one vacancy.

House Members: R. Terry Connelly; Gerald J.
Curran; George H. Littrell, Jr., James E.
McClellan; Margaret H. Murphy; Elizabeth S.
Smith; two vacancies.

Staff: Stuart Y. Gordon; Denise Cleveland-
Leggett 841-3870

The Joint Committee on Administrative, Exec-
utive and Legislative Review (AELR Committee)
was created in 1984 as a joint standing committee
known as the Committee on Legislative Review
(Chapter 96, Acts of 1964). It was renamed the
Committee on Administrative, Executive and Leg-
islative Review in 1972 (Chapters 400 and 699,
Acts of 1972).

The Committee reviews State agency regula-
tions with regard to the legislative prerogative and
procedural due process. The Committee also may
inquire into any failure of an officer or employee of
the legislative, executive, or judicial branch of State
government to comply with State statutory or con-
stitutional law. Further, the Committee sits as a
legislative advisory board for the Code of Maryland
Regulations (COMAR).

The AELR Committee receives copies of all
regulations of each State agency. Unless submitted
to the Committee, certain regulations or standards
may be invalid (Code State Government Article,
secs. 10-101 through 10-139).

The Committee is required to receive emergency
energy executive orders promulgated by the Gov-
ernor (Chapter 1, Acts of 2nd Special Session of
1973). This legislative authority has been updated

By law, the Committee reports annually to the
Legislative Policy Committee and the General As-

The Committee is composed of nine Senators
and nine Delegates, who are appointed by the
President of the Senate and the Speaker of the
House of Delegates at the beginning of each regular
session. Members serve for one year. The chairper-
son and vice-chairperson alternate each year be-
tween the two houses. Representation of each
political party is approximately in the same propor-
tion as its membership in each house (Code State
Government Article, secs. 2-501 through 2-507).



Senate Chairperson: Julian L. Lapides
House Chairperson: Richard N. Dixon

Barbara A. Hoffman, designee of Senate President
Clarence W. Blount, Senate Majority Leader
F. Vernon Boozer, designee of Senate Minority
Samuel I. Rosenberg, designee of House Speaker
Nancy K. Kopp, designee of House Majority Leader
John J. Bishop, designee of House Minority Leader

Appointed by Senate President: William H. Amoss;
Raymond E. Beck; Francis X. Kelly; Frank J.
Komenda; Laurence Levitan; Catherine I. Riley.

Appointed by House Speaker: Tyras S. Athey; William
J. Burgess; Susan R. Buswell; Robert L. Flanagan;
Henry R. Hergenroeder, Jr.; Samuel C. Linton.

Staff: Lewis E. Logan 841-3710

The Joint Budget and Audit Committee was
created in 1968 (Chapter 456, Acts of 1968). The
Committee studies and reviews State fiscal policies
and post audits, and other matters relating to fiscal
affairs. From the Executive Department and the
Department of Fiscal Services it receives annual
reports on how long-term State debt affects the
State's financial condition.

Annually, the Committee reviews federally-
funded projects requiring future State funds and
nonbudgeted funds used for capital programs. It
also reviews rules and regulations that require in-
creased expenditures, establishes policies and direc-
tives for the Department of Fiscal Services, and
submits an annual report to the General Assembly.

The Committee's twenty members include the
Senate President, the House Speaker, and the ma-
jority and minority floor leaders or designees. Other
members are divided equally between legislators
from the fiscal committees in the Senate and House
of Delegates. Chairperson and vice-chairperson are
named by the presiding officers (Code State Gov-
ernment Article, secs. 2-601 through 2-606).


Senate Chairperson: James C. Simpson
House Chairperson: Michael H. Weir

Senate members: William H. Amoss; Bernie Fowler;
Frederick C. Malkus, Jr.; Gerald W. Winegrad.

House members: William A. Clark; Ronald A. Guns;
Daniel M. Long; Michael J. Sprague.

Staff: Myron H. Miller 841-3875

clear space
clear space
white space

Please view image to verify text. To report an error, please contact us.
Maryland Manual, 1989-90
Volume 184, Page 41   View pdf image (33K)
 Jump to  

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

An Archives of Maryland electronic publication.
For information contact

©Copyright  August 01, 2018
Maryland State Archives