clear space clear space clear space white space
 r c h i v e s   o f   M a r y l a n d   O n l i n e

PLEASE NOTE: The searchable text below was computer generated and may contain typographical errors. Numerical typos are particularly troubling. Click “View pdf” to see the original document.

  Maryland State Archives | Index | Help | Search
search for:
clear space
white space
Maryland Manual, 1989-90
Volume 184, Page 299   View pdf image (33K)
 Jump to  
clear space clear space clear space white space


45 Calvert St.
Annapolis, MD 21401 974-2701

The Advisory Commission on Industrialized
Building and Mobile Homes was formed in 1971
(Chapter 662, Acts of 1971). The Commission
makes recommendations to the Secretary of Hous-
ing and Community Development on rules and
regulations prescribing standards for the construc-
tion of industrialized building units and mobile
homes. The same act provided for the inspection of
the manufacturing facilities and the assemblies
being produced.

The Commission submits an annual report to
the Secretary on rules, regulations, and programs
relating to the Industrialized Building and Mobile
Homes Act of 1971.

The Commission comprises fifteen members ap-
pointed to three-year terms by the Secretary of
Housing and Community Development. The
Commission includes representatives of industries
and professions involved in the development and
construction of industrialized buildings and mobile
homes. Persons are selected from building code
enforcement agencies, architectural and engineer-
ing associations, building construction trades, the
contracting and manufacturing industry, legislative
bodies of local government, the financial industry
and the public (Code 1957, Art. 83B, secs. 6-201
through 6-208).

Dr. Donald E. Milsten, Director

45 Calvert St.
Annapolis, MD 21401 974-3752

Formerly under the Department of Natural Re-
sources, the Maryland Energy Office became part
of the Department of Housing and Community
Development in 1987 (Chapter 311, Acts of
1987). The Office implements the State Energy
Conservation Plan, funded under the National En-
ergy Policy and Conservation Act. A State Energy
Conservation Board assists the Office in this effort.
The Office also sponsors educational programs for
users of energy in homes, commerce, industry
transportation, and government. It implements the
federal Institutional Conservation Program, the
federal Energy Extension Service, and certain oil
overcharge projects.

The Office is responsible for fuel allocations and
contingency planning for energy supply emergen-
cies. It also advises State agencies on matters of fuel
oil shortage (Code 1957, Art. 83B, secs. 7-101
through 7-211).

The Office is served by two boards: the State
Energy Conservation Board and the Local Govern-
ment Energy Committee.

Department of Housing & Community Development/299

Contact: Dr. Donald E. Milsten 974-3752

Appointed by the Secretary of Housing and
Community Development, the Board evaluates and
coordinates energy-related policies and activities of
all agencies of the executive branch of State govern-
ment. The Board also monitors energy savings ac-
crued by energy management and conservation
efforts undertaken by State agencies (Code 1957,
Art. 83B, sec. 7-102).

Chairperson: Vacancy 974-3752

The Committee was established under the State
Energy Conservation Plan to respond to the needs
of local jurisdictions. Appointed by the Energy
Office Director, the Committee assists with confer-
ences and round tables and advises on literature and
programs (Code 1957, Art. 83B, sec. 7-102).


J. Rodney Little, Director & State Historic
Preservation Officer

45 Calvert St.
Annapolis, MD 21401 974-2150

The Division directs five programs: Commission
on Afro-American History and Culture; Maryland
Ethnic Heritage Commission; Commission on In-
dian Affairs; St. Mary's City Commission; and
Maryland Historical Trust. The Division Director
serves as the designee of the Secretary of Housing
and Community Development in all aspects of
State cultural programs.


Chairperson: Mary S. Johnson, 1989

Appointed by Governor with Senate advice &
consent: Harry J. Bunch, 1989; A. Pierce
Middleton, 1989; William H. Kiah, 1990;
Elizabeth M. Oliver, 1990; Mary B. Adams, 1991;
Ann J. P. Dearing, 1991; Dr. Roland C.
McConnell, 1991; Josephine R. Sloan, 1991.

Steven C. Newsome, Executive Director

c/o Banneker-Douglass Museum
of Afro-American Life & History
84 Franklin St.
Annapolis, MD 21401 974-2893

The Commission on Afro-American History and
Culture originated in 1969 as the Maryland Com-
mission on Negro History and Culture (Chapter
435, Acts of 1969). In 1971, it was assigned to
Morgan State College by Executive Order. The

clear space
clear space
white space

Please view image to verify text. To report an error, please contact us.
Maryland Manual, 1989-90
Volume 184, Page 299   View pdf image (33K)
 Jump to  

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

An Archives of Maryland electronic publication.
For information contact

©Copyright  October 06, 2023
Maryland State Archives