clear space clear space clear space white space
 r c h i v e s   o f   M a r y l a n d   O n l i n e

PLEASE NOTE: The searchable text below was computer generated and may contain typographical errors. Numerical typos are particularly troubling. Click “View pdf” to see the original document.

  Maryland State Archives | Index | Help | Search
search for:
clear space
white space
Maryland Manual, 1989-90
Volume 184, Page 275   View pdf image (33K)
 Jump to  
clear space clear space clear space white space


Chairperson: Carville M. Akehurst, 1990

Appointed by Governor: Vivian C. Bailey, 1988;
Pamela Brewington, 1988; Philip L. Jones, 1988;
F. Perry Smith, Jr., 1988; James T. Estes, M.D.,
1989; Mary Etta Mills, Sc.D., 1989; Dominic B.
Raino, 1989; Harvey R. Wertlieb, 1989; Walter
Joseph Hall, 1990; Patricia Joan Horsey, 1990;
Francis A. Pommett, Jr., 1990; Nick Rajacich,

Ex officio: Mack Bonner, Jr., M.D., M.P.H.,
designee of Secretary of Health & Mental Hygiene

James R. Stanton, Executive Director
Edward A. Pigo, Associate Director

201 W Preston St.
Baltimore, MD 21201 225-5141

In 1982, the State Health Resources Planning
Commission replaced the State Health Planning
and Development Agency (Chapter 108, Acts of
1982). The Commission promotes the develop-
ment of a health care system that provides quality
care at reasonable cost for all citizens. The Commis-
sion plans the development of quality health ser-
vices within each health service area to meet current
and future needs; identifies essential resources; and
encourages the effective use of those resources. The
Commission advocates policies and systems for ef-
ficient access to services, including acute, long-
term, mental health, primary care, and community
alternatives. The Commission also coordinates its
work with the State Health Services Cost Review
Commission and assesses the impact of plans and
projects on total health care costs to Maryland and
its citizens. In addition, the Commission prepares
the State Health Plan and conducts the Certificate
of Need program to assure that institutions meet
standards of public need before building or con-
structing new facilities.

The Commission consists of the Secretary of
Health and Mental Hygiene or designee, and thir-
teen members appointed to four-year terms by the
Governor. Five members represent local health
planning agencies, six represent health care provid-
ers, and two represent the general public. The Gov-
ernor designates the chairperson. The Executive
Director is appointed by the Commission with the
approval of the Governor.

The law creating the Commission also estab-
lished local health planning agencies to serve health
service areas designated by the Governor. These
agencies are required to assure broad citizen repre-
sentation on their boards and in their activities,
formulate local health plans, and help develop
statewide criteria and standards for Certificate of
Need and health planning. Local agencies also may

Department of Health & Mental Hygiene/275

testify at evidentiary hearings or submit recommen-
dations on the evaluation of Certificate of Need
applications. Presently, the following areas are
served by designated local agencies: 1) Western
Maryland counties of Garrett, Allegany, Washing-
ton, Frederick and Carroll, served by Western Mary-
land Health Planning Agency; 2) Montgomery
County; 3) Southern Maryland counties of Prince
George's, Charles, Calvert and St. Mary's, served by
Southern Maryland Health Systems Agency; 4)
Central Maryland area of Baltimore City and Anne
Arundel, Baltimore, Harford and Howard coun-
ties; and 5) Eastern Shore counties of Cecil, Kent,
Queen Anne's, Talbot, Caroline and Dorchester,
served by Chesapeake Health Planning System
(Code Health—General Article, secs. 19-103
through 19-122).


Margaret S. Mason, Coordinator

201 W Preston St.
Baltimore, MD 21201 225-5837

The Division of Boards and Commissions was
reorganized in 1986 as the Office of Boards and
Commissions Programs. The Office is responsible
for the examination, licensing, regulation, and sur-
veillance of health professionals in Maryland.

Under the Office of Boards and Commissions
Programs are twenty-three licensing and regulatory
boards and commissions. They include the State
Anatomy Board, State Commission on Arthritis
and Related Diseases, State Board of Examiners for
Audiologists, State Board of Chiropractic Examin-
ers, State Board of Dental Examiners, State Board
of Dietetic Practice, State Board of Electrologists,
State Commission on Hereditary and Congenital
Disorders, State Commission on High Blood Pres-
sure and Related Cardiovascular Risk Factors, State
Commission on Kidney Disease, State Board of
Morticians, State Board of Nursing, State Board of
Examiners of Nursing Home Administrators, State
Board of Occupational Therapy Practice, State
Board of Examiners in Optometry, State Board of
Pharmacy, State Commission on Physical Fitness,
State Board of Physical Therapy Examiners, State
Board of Podiatric Medical Examiners, State Board
of Examiners of Professional Counselors, State
Board of Examiners of Psychologists, State Board
of Social Work Examiners, and State Board of Ex-
aminers for Speech-Language Parhologists. The
State Board of Physician Quality Assurance receives
staff support from the Office of Boards and Com-
missions Programs but is separate from the Office.

clear space
clear space
white space

Please view image to verify text. To report an error, please contact us.
Maryland Manual, 1989-90
Volume 184, Page 275   View pdf image (33K)
 Jump to  

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

An Archives of Maryland electronic publication.
For information contact

©Copyright  October 06, 2023
Maryland State Archives