clear space clear space clear space white space
 r c h i v e s   o f   M a r y l a n d   O n l i n e

PLEASE NOTE: The searchable text below was computer generated and may contain typographical errors. Numerical typos are particularly troubling. Click “View pdf” to see the original document.

  Maryland State Archives | Index | Help | Search
search for:
clear space
white space
Maryland Manual, 1987-88
Volume 183, Page 93   View pdf image (33K)
 Jump to  
clear space clear space clear space white space

JAMES C. SMPSON, Democrat, District 28. Born in Washington, D.C., May 14, 1931. Fomer
president of distribution company. Served in U.S. Marine Corps, 1951-54. Chairman, Charles Coun-
ty Sanitary Commission, 1967-70; president, Board of County Commissioners of Charles County,
1970-74. Past president, Waldorf Lions Club. Past deputy district governor, Lions Club. Honorary
member, Waldorf Jaycees. Member, American Legion; Knights of Columbus; Elks; Izaak Walton
League; Charles County Chamber of Commerce. Selected Citizen of the Year by Waldorf Lions
Club, 1974. Director, Maryland Bank & Trust Company. Married. Member of the Senate since 1975.
Member, Finance Committee. Senate Chairman, Joint Committee on Administrative, Executive and
Legislative Review. District office: P.O. Box 888, Waldorf 20601; tel. 645-2235. Annapolis office: 316
James Bidg., 21401; tel. 841-3616.

CHAKLES H. SMELSER, Democrat, District 4. Bom in Uniontown, Carroll County, July 4, 1920.
Attended Carroll County public schools; University of Maryland, B.S., 1942. Dairy farmer and real
estate broker. Served with U.S. Air Force in World War II. Member, Frederick County Farm Bu-
reau. Past president, Capitol Milk Producers Cooperative, Inc. President, New Windsor State Bank.
Past president, Libertytown-Unionville Lions Club. Married. Member of the House of Delegates,
1955-63. Member of the Senate since 1967. Member, Budget and Taxation Committee (chairman,
capital budget subcommittee; member, subcommittee on public safety, transportation, economic de-
velopment and natural resources); Executive Nominations Committee; Rules Committee. Member,
Legislative Policy Committee; Joint Committee on Administrative, Executive and Legislative Review.
Annapolis office: 100 James Bidg., 21401; tel. 841-3704.

NORMAN R. STONE, JR, Democrat, District 7. Bom in Baltimore, September 8, 1935. Attended
Baltimore public schools; University of Baltimore; University of Baltimore Law School, LL.B., 1960.
Admitted to Maryland Bar, 1960. Past president. North Point Improvement Association; past presi-
dent, St. Luke's Holy Name Society. Member, Beth Council Knights of Columbus; Edgemere Moose;

North Point Peninsula Community Coordinating Council. Married; 4 children. Selected as one of the
10 "Outstanding Legislators in the United States" by the Assembly of Governmental Employees;

"Conservationist of the Year" by Clean Water Action; "Town Notable" in his legislative district.
Member of House of Delegates, 1963-67. Member of Senate since 1967. Vice-Chairman, Judicial Pro-
ceedings Committee. Member, Executive Nominations Committee; Rules Committee; Legislative Pol-
icy Committee. Former chairman, Economic and Environmental Affairs Committee, 1985-86. For-
mer chairman. Constitutional and Public Law Committee, 1983-84 (vice-chairman, 1975-82).
Former chairman and vice-chairman, Joint Committee on Administrative, Executive and Legislative
Review. Former chairman, Baltimore County Senate Delegation, 1968-72. District office: 6905
Dunmanway, Baltimore 21222; tel. 288-5270. Annapolis office: 216 James Bidg., 21401-1991; tel.

DECATUR W. (BUCKY) TROTTER, Democrat, District 24. Born in Washington, D.C., January 8,
1932. Attended Washington, D.C., public schools; Virginia State University, B.S., 1956. Served in
U.S. Army, 1950-52. Adult rehabilitation supervisor for Bureau of Rehabilitation. Glenarden Town
Councilman, 1961-68. Mayor of Glenarden, 1970-74. Judge, Prince George's County Orphans'
Court, 1982-83. Former member, Maryland Municipal League. Married; 2 daughters. Member of the
House of Delegates, 1975-79. Member of the Senate since 1983. Member, Budget and Taxation Com-
mittee (health, education and human resources subcommittee; capital budget subcommittee). Vice-
Chairman, Rules Committee. Member, Special Joint Committee on Pensions; Joint Committee on
Legislative Ethics. Chairman, Legislative Black Caucus, 1986-. Member, Governor's Commission on
Black and Minority Health; Task Force on Infrastructure Financing. District office: 5611 Landover
Rd., Hyattsville 20784; tel. 277-7500. Annapolis office: 313 James Bidg., 21401; tel. 858-3148,

clear space
clear space
white space

Please view image to verify text. To report an error, please contact us.
Maryland Manual, 1987-88
Volume 183, Page 93   View pdf image (33K)
 Jump to  

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

An Archives of Maryland electronic publication.
For information contact

©Copyright  August 02, 2018
Maryland State Archives