clear space clear space clear space white space
 r c h i v e s   o f   M a r y l a n d   O n l i n e

PLEASE NOTE: The searchable text below was computer generated and may contain typographical errors. Numerical typos are particularly troubling. Click “View pdf” to see the original document.

  Maryland State Archives | Index | Help | Search
search for:
clear space
white space
Maryland Manual, 1987-88
Volume 183, Page 482   View pdf image (33K)
 Jump to  
clear space clear space clear space white space

482/Maryland Manual

5th Judicial Circuit: Lewis Straughn Nippard,
Chairperson; William A. Franch; Vincent M.
Guida; Shiriey Hager Hobbs; Walter E. Morgan;
James Patrick Nolan; George Pettigrew; Robert
K. Parker; Marion Satterthwaite; Barry Silber;
Ruth Uhrig; Thomas M. Yeager; one vacancy.

6th Judicial Circuit: Devin John Doolan,
Chairperson; Francis J. Ford; Margaret Hindman;
Roberta B. Hochberg; Edwin Frederick Nikirk,
Sr.; Miriam S. Raff; Donald B. Rice; William J.
Rowan III; Don Franklin Ryder, Jr.; Lois 0.
Stoner; Roger W. Titus; Charles E, Wilson, Jr.;
Charles F. Wilding.

7th Judicial Circuit: Benjamin R. Wolman,
Chairperson; Thomas Amenta; Paul J. Bailey;
Warren E. Barley; Shiriey E. Colleary; Annette
Funn; Rev. Andrew Johnson; Thomas F. Mudd;
Ralph W. Powers, Jr.; Victoria E. Selph; Thomas
L. Starkey; George A. Wilkinson, Jr.; John F.

8th Judicial Circuit: Benjamin C. Whitten, Ed.D.,
Chairperson; Peter F. Axelrad; Paul D. Bekman;
Pearl Cole Brackett, Ph.D.; John B. Ferron;
Marianne Githens, Ph.D.; Paula M. Junghans;
Antonia Keane; Albert J. Matricciani, Jr.;
Theodore S. Miller; Mary E. Robinson; Kenneth
L. Thompson; William H. C. Wilson.

Courts of Appeal Building
Annapolis 21401 974-2141

In 1970, the Governor by executive order estab-
lished a statewide judicial nominating commission
to propose nominees for appointment to the ap-
pellate courts, and eight regional trial court nomi-
nating commissions to perform the same function
for trial court vacancies. The nine commissions
began operation in 1971. Each judicial vacancy
filled pursuant to the Governor's appointing pow-
er must be filled from a list of nominees submitted
by one of these nominating commissions.

When a judicial vacancy occurs or is about to
occur, the Administrative Office of the Courts no-
tifies the appropriate commission and then solicits
applications from interested persons through an-
nouncements in the press and by contacting inter-
ested bar associations. Applications received are
distributed to the commission members.

After the filing deadline for the particular va-
cancy has passed, the commission meets and con-
siders the applications and other relevant informa-
tion, such as recommendations from bar
associations or individual citizens. Each candidate
is interviewed either by the full commission or by

commission panels. The commission then prepares
a list of those candidates deemed to be legally and
professionally most fully qualified for judicial of-
fice. This list is prepared by secret written ballot,
and no applicant may be included on the list un-
less that applicant has the affirmative vote of not
less than seven members of the commission. The
list is forwarded to the Governor, who must make
his appointment from the commission list.

Each of the nine commissions consists of thir-
teen members. Six members are lawyers elected by
other lawyers within designated geographical ar-
eas. Six are lay members appointed by the Gover-
nor. The chairperson, who may be either a lawyer
or a lay person, also is appointed by the Gover-
nor. The Administrative Office of the Courts acts
as secretariat to all commissions and provides
them with staff and logistical support.


Chairperson: Robert C. Murphy, Chief Judge,
Court of Appeals

James H. Norris, Jr., Executive Secretary

Courts of Appeal Building
Annapolis 21401 Telephone: 974-2141

The Maryland Judicial Conference was organ-
ized in 1945, and presently operates under the
provisions of Maryland Rule 1226. The Confer-
ence considers the status of judicial business in the
various courts, devises means for relieving conges-
tion of dockets, and considers improvements of
practice and procedure in the courts. It also con-
siders and recommends legislation and discusses
proposals for improving the administration of jus-
tice and the judicial system in Maryland.

The Conference consists of all judges of the four
Courts of Maryland. The Chief Judge of the
Court of Appeals serves as chairperson, and the
State Court Administrator as executive secretary.
The Conference meets annually in plenary session.
Between these sessions, its work is conducted by
an Executive Committee and by a number of oth-
er committees, as established by the Executive
Committee in consultation with the Chief Judge.
The various committees receive staff support from
the Administrative Office of the Courts.


Chairperson: I. John Ritterpusch, 1987


clear space
clear space
white space

Please view image to verify text. To report an error, please contact us.
Maryland Manual, 1987-88
Volume 183, Page 482   View pdf image (33K)
 Jump to  

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

An Archives of Maryland electronic publication.
For information contact

©Copyright  August 02, 2018
Maryland State Archives