clear space clear space clear space white space
 r c h i v e s   o f   M a r y l a n d   O n l i n e

PLEASE NOTE: The searchable text below was computer generated and may contain typographical errors. Numerical typos are particularly troubling. Click “View pdf” to see the original document.

  Maryland State Archives | Index | Help | Search
search for:
clear space
white space
Maryland Manual, 1987-88
Volume 183, Page 44   View pdf image (33K)
 Jump to  
clear space clear space clear space white space

44/Maryland Manual



Senate members: Clarence W. Blount; Thomas L.
Bromwell; Laurence Levitan.

House members: Richard N. Dixon; Nancy K.
Kopp; Eileen M. Rehrmann.

Telephone: 841-3710

The Joint Committee on the Management of
Public Funds was created in 1973 (Chapter 635,
Acts of 1973). The Committee reviews policies
and procedures of the State Treasurer regarding
the investment and management of State funds in
the Treasury, State funds not in the Treasury (ex-
cluding retirement system funds), and public
funds by local government. It reports annually to
the General Assembly.

The Committee consists of eight members, four
from the Senate and four from the House of Dele-
gates, appointed by the President and the Speaker.
The chairperson and vice-chairperson are desig-
nated by the President and Speaker jointly and
serve at their pleasure (Code State Government
Article, sees. 2-801 through 2-806).


Senate Chairperson: Laurence Levitan
House Chairperson: R. Charles Avara

Senate members: Raymond E. Beck; Clarence W.
Blount; Leo E. Green; Catherine I. Riley.
House members: John S. Arnick; Tyras S. Athey;
John W. Douglass; Daniel M. Long; Charles J.
Ryan; Ellen R. Sauerbrey.

Ex officio; Francis X. Kelly, assignee of President
of the Senate;
R. Clayton Mitchell, Jr., Speaker
of the House of Delegates.
Staff contact: Frederick Puddester

Telephone: 841-3736

Established in 1982, the Spending Affordability
Committee studies and reviews the status and pro-
jections of State revenues and expenditures and
the status and projections of the Maryland econo-
my (Chapter 585, Acts of 1982). The Committee's
purpose is to limit the rate of growth of State
spending to a level that does not exceed the rate
of growth of the State's economy.

By November 1 of each year, the Spending Af-
fordability Committee submits a report to the
Legislative Policy Committee and the Governor

with recommendations for the fiscal goals of the
budget to be considered at the next General As-
sembly session. The report includes recommended
levels of State spending, new debt authorization,
and State personnel, and provides recommenda-
tions for the use of any anticipated surplus, as
well as other findings or recommendations.

The Committee consists of the president of the
Senate and the speaker of the House of Delegates,
the chairpersons of the Senate Budget and Taxa-
tion Committee and the House Appropriations
Committee, the majority and minority leaders of
the Senate and House or their designees, and an
equal number of other senators and delegates as
the president and speaker may designate (Code
State Government Article, sees. 2-1001 through


The Legislative Policy Committee periodically
establishes special joint committees and task
forces for particular purposes. These special com-
mittees and task forces function during the inter-
im between sessions of the General Assembly.
Each is reviewed annually at the end of the legis-
lative session by the Legislative Policy Committee,
which decides whether the committee or task
force shall continue its work or cease to function.
Staff for special joint committees and task forces
is provided by the Department of Fiscal Services
and the Department of Legislative Reference. A
committees membership list is published each
summer and is available on request.

Staff Contact: Michael I. Vblk

Department of Legislative Reference
90 State Circle
Annapolis 21401 Telephone: 841-3849

1985 Interim Special Joint Committees and Task
Forces: Maryland Legislative Information System
(MLIS) Steering Committee; Special Joint
Committee on Pensions; Special Joint Committee
on Ports; Special Joint Committee to Review the
Impact of the Federal Budget and Tax Decisions;
Southern Maryland Agriculture Commission;
Task Force to Study Tax Incentives for Woodland

1986 Interim Special Joint Committees and Task
Forces: Joint Task Force on Catastrophic
Liability Insurance Fund and Maryland Insurance
Exchange; Special Joint Oversight Committee on


clear space
clear space
white space

Please view image to verify text. To report an error, please contact us.
Maryland Manual, 1987-88
Volume 183, Page 44   View pdf image (33K)
 Jump to  

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

An Archives of Maryland electronic publication.
For information contact

©Copyright  August 02, 2018
Maryland State Archives