clear space clear space clear space white space
 r c h i v e s   o f   M a r y l a n d   O n l i n e

PLEASE NOTE: The searchable text below was computer generated and may contain typographical errors. Numerical typos are particularly troubling. Click “View pdf” to see the original document.

  Maryland State Archives | Index | Help | Search
search for:
clear space
white space
Maryland Manual, 1987-88
Volume 183, Page 41   View pdf image (33K)
 Jump to  
clear space clear space clear space white space




The Legislative Policy Committee is required to
compile and make public in a report to the Gener-
al Assembly recommendations of the standing,
statutory, and special committees prior to each
regular session of the legislature.

The Committee consists of twenty-six members,
thirteen from the Senate and thirteen from the
House of Delegates. The Senate is represented by
the President of the Senate; chairpersons of the
standing committees on Budget and Taxation, Ec-
onomic and Environmental Affairs, Finance, and
Judicial Proceedings; President Pro Tern; Majori-
ty Leader; and Minority Leader. The President
appoints five additional members to represent the
various areas and interests of the State. The
House of Delegates is represented by the Speaker
of the House; chairpersons of the standing com-
mittees on Appropriations, Constitutional and
Administrative Law, Economic Matters, Environ-
mental Matters, Judiciary, and Ways and Means;
Speaker Pro Tern; Majority Leader; and Minority
Leader. The Speaker appoints three additional
members to represent the various areas and inter-
ests of the State. The President and Speaker serve
as co-chairpersons (Code State Government Arti-
cle, sees. 2-401 through 2-410).


Senate Chairperson: James C. Simpson

House Chairperson: Larry Young
Senate Members: Howard A. Denis; Arthur
Dorman; Barbara A. Hoffman; Paula C.
Hollinger; Philip C. Jimeno; Charles H. Smelser;
Thomas A. Yeager.
House Members: R. Terry Connelly; Gerald J.
Curran; George H. Littrell, Jr., Daniel M. Long;
James E. McClellan; American Joe Miedusiewski;
Elizabeth S. Smith.

Telephone: 841-3870

The Joint Committee on Administrative, Execu-
tive and Legislative Review (AELR Committee)
was created in 1964 as a joint standing committee
known as the Committee on Legislative Review
(Chapter 96, Acts of 1964). It was renamed the
Committee on Administrative, Executive and Leg-
islative Review in 1972 (Chapters 400 and 699,
Acts of 1972).

The Committee primarily reviews the rules and
regulations that are adopted by any State agency
as to intrusion on the legislative prerogative and

as to the issue of procedural due process. The
Committee also may inquire into the failure of an
officer or employee of either the legislative, execu-
tive, or judicial branches of State government to
comply with the statutory or constitutional law of
the State. Further, the Committee sits as a legisla-
tive advisory board for the Code of Maryland
Regulations and COMAR publications of the Di-
vision of State Documents of the Office of the Sec-
retary of State.

The AELR Committee receives copies of all
rules of each State agency. Unless submitted to
the Committee, certain rules, regulations, or stan-
dards may be invalid.

The Committee is required to receive emergen-
cy energy executive orders promulgated by the
Governor (Chapter 1, Acts of 2nd Special Session
of 1973). This legislative authority has been up-
dated annually.

By law, the Committee reports annually to the
Legislative Policy Committee and the General As-

The Committee is composed of eight Senators
and eight members of the House of Delegates, all
of whom are appointed by the President of the
Senate and the Speaker of the House of Delegates
at the beginning of each regular session. Members
serve for one year. The chairperson and vice-
chairperson alternate each year between the two
Houses. Representation of each political party is
approximately in the same proportion as their
membership in each House (Code State Govern-
ment Article, sees. 2-501 through 2-507).


Senate Chairperson: Julian L. Lapides
House Chairperson: John W. Douglass
Barbara A. Hoffman, designee of Senate President
Clarence W. Blount, Senate Majority Leader

F. Vernon Boozer, designee of Senate Minority

Samuel I. Rosenberg, designee of House Speaker

Nancy K. Kopp, designee of House Majority

John J. Bishop, designee of House Minority Leader


clear space
clear space
white space

Please view image to verify text. To report an error, please contact us.
Maryland Manual, 1987-88
Volume 183, Page 41   View pdf image (33K)
 Jump to  

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

An Archives of Maryland electronic publication.
For information contact

©Copyright  August 02, 2018
Maryland State Archives