clear space clear space clear space white space
 r c h i v e s   o f   M a r y l a n d   O n l i n e

PLEASE NOTE: The searchable text below was computer generated and may contain typographical errors. Numerical typos are particularly troubling. Click “View pdf” to see the original document.

  Maryland State Archives | Index | Help | Search
search for:
clear space
white space
Maryland Manual, 1987-88
Volume 183, Page 117   View pdf image (33K)
 Jump to  
clear space clear space clear space white space

RICHARD C. MATTHEWS, Republican, District 5A. Born in Hampstead, July 11,1926. Attended
Hampstead public schools; LaSalle University. Auto parts jobber. Member, Power Plant Siting
Advisory Board. Member, Carroll County Republican State Central Committee, 1962-66. Alternate
delegate, Republican National Convention, 1964. Member, Carroll County Economic Development
Commission, 1958-62. Past president, Hampstead Chamber of Commerce. Director, Hampstead
Bank. Charter member, Hampstead Lions Club. Member, Elks; Farm Bureau; Izaak Walton League;

St. John's Methodist Church. Married. Member of the House of Delegates since 1967. Member,
Judiciary Committee. District office: 1309 Taylor St., Hampstead 21074; tel. 239-3400. Annapolis
office: 306 Lowe Bidg., 21401; tel. 841-3371.

WILLIAM R. McCAFFREY, Democrat, District 27. Bom in Washington, D.C., July 28, 1934.
Attended Washington, D.C., public schools; Southeastern University; Pennsylvania State University.
Business consultant. Retired telephone company manager. Sports columnist. Served in U.S. Navy
Reserve. Past chairman, Human Resources and Urban Affairs Committee, Southern Legislative
Conference. Member, Brandywine, Ft. Washington, Surratts, Nottingham, and Marlborough
Democratic Clubs. Life member, Telephone Pioneers of America. Member, Surratt Society; Prince
George's County United Way Executive Board; Easton Moose; Clinton American Legion; Camp
Springs Elks; Professional Basketball Writers Association of America; Home Plate Club; Society of
American Baseball Research. Inducted into Washington Metropolitan Slow Pitch Softball Hall of
Fame, 1983; 1978 Twentieth Coach Award; VFW Voice of Democracy Citation. Master of
ceremonies, Prince George's Special Olympics. Managed 1980 Women's A.S.A. National Slow Pitch
Softball Champions (Encore). Married; 4 children. Member of the House of Delegates since 1975.
Vice-chairman, Environmental Matters Committee. Member, Special Advisory Commission on
Professional Sports and the Economy. District office: 12405 Lytton Ave., Brandywine 20613; tel.
372-6786. Annapolis office: 161 Lowe Bidg., 21401; tel. 841-3534.

JAMES E. McCLELLAN, Democrat, District 3B. Bom in Frederick, March 22, 1926. Massanutten
Academy, Woodstock, Va.; University of Maryland; University of Georgia, D.V.M., 1955.
Veterinarian. Served in U.S. Army; received E.T.O. with 3 Battle Stars, Army Occupation Medal.
Past president, Maryland Board of Veterinary Examiners; past president, Board of Aldermen,
Frederick City. Member, Elks; Moose; American Legion; Independent Hose Company; Catoctin
Club; Cotillion Club; Farm Bureau; VFW; Jeffersonian Democratic Club; Lions Club; AMVETS;

Chamber of Commerce; Camp Kanawha; Frederick County Agricultural Society. Director and
founder, Francis Scott Key Bank and Trust Company; past president, Maryland Veterinary Medical
Association; past president, Great Frederick Fair. Married; 6 children. Member of the House of
Delegates since 1979. Member, Appropriations Committee. Chairperson, Frederick County
Delegation and Western Maryland Delegation. District office: 215 Rockwell Ten-., Frederick 21701;

tel. 662-3804. Annapolis office: 324 Lowe Bidg., 21401; tel. 841-3240.

PAULINE H. MENES, Democrat, District 21. Hunter College. Economist. Maryland State Arts
Council, 1968-; Commission on Aging, 1975-; president. National Order of Women Legislators,
1979-80; founder, and president, 1977-79, Women's Network, National Conference of State
Legislatures. Member, Prince George's County Domestic Violence Task Force, 1983-; Prince
George's Women's Political Caucus; Women's National Democratic Club; League of Women Voters;

B'nai B'rith Women of Prince George's County; College Park Business and Professional Women;

Women's Club of College Park; West College Park Civic Association; College Park Board of Trade.
Member, The Arts, Tourism and Cultural Resources Committee, National Conference of State
Legislatures, 1981- President, Maryland Order of Women Legislators, 1975-79. Vice-president,
Prisoners Aid Association of Maryland. Board member, Jewish Social Service Agency, 1978- Ann
London Scott Award for Legislative Excellence, 1976. College Park BPW Woman of the Year, 1978.
Member of the House of Delegates since 1967. Chair, Special Committee on Drug and Alcohol
Abuse. Member, Judiciary Committee, 1979-; Rules and Executive Nominations Committee, 1979-.
District office: 3517 Marlbrough Way, College Park 20740; tel. 935-6270 or 5093. Annapolis office:

210 Lowe Bidg., 21401; 858-3114.

clear space
clear space
white space

Please view image to verify text. To report an error, please contact us.
Maryland Manual, 1987-88
Volume 183, Page 117   View pdf image (33K)
 Jump to  

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

An Archives of Maryland electronic publication.
For information contact

©Copyright  October 06, 2023
Maryland State Archives