clear space clear space clear space white space
 r c h i v e s   o f   M a r y l a n d   O n l i n e

PLEASE NOTE: The searchable text below was computer generated and may contain typographical errors. Numerical typos are particularly troubling. Click “View pdf” to see the original document.

  Maryland State Archives | Index | Help | Search
search for:
clear space
white space
Maryland Manual, 1987-88
Volume 183, Page 102   View pdf image (33K)
 Jump to  
clear space clear space clear space white space

102/Maryland Manual

GENE W. COUNIHAN, Democrat, District 15. Born in Cumberland, February 6, 1941. Port Hill
High School, Cumberland; Frostburg State College, B.S., 1963; American University, M.Ed., 1970.
Educator; supervisor, Montgomery County Schools. Member, Montgomery County Democratic
Central Committee, 1978-82; president, Montgomery Village/Gaithersburg Democratic Club,
1980-82; president, Montgomery Village Foundation Board of Directors, 1979-80; president, Seneca
Valley High School/Community Organization, 1981-82; consultant-trainer, Center for Creative
Communications, 1971-74; youth program director, YMCA, 1968-70. Associate professor/instructor
(part-time), American University, University of Maryland, and Federal City College, 1967-73.
Married; 5 daughters. Member of the House of Delegates since 1983. Vice-Chairman, Ways and
Means Committee. District office: 9901 Dellcastle Rd., Gaithersburg 20879; tel. 977-5045. Annapolis
office: 100 Lowe Bidg., 21401; tel. 841-3521.

WILLIAM H. COX, JR., Democrat, District 34. Born in Edgewood, July 15, 1942. Attended
Harford County public schools; University of Baltimore. Real estate broker; developer. Member, Tax
Appeals Court of Harford County, 1968-70; Governor's Commission to Hire the Handicapped;

Harford County Educational Foundation. Past president, Young Democrats of Harford County,
1969-70. Member, Harford County Board of Realtors; Maryland Real Estate Board. Member and
first State director, Bel Air Jaycees. Received Outstanding Young Man Award, 1969. Member, Elks;

Moose; American Legion. Chairman, Heart Fund Drive, 1970-71. Former member, board of
directors, Children's Fresh Air Society of Maryland; board of directors, Fallston General Hospital.
Chairman, United Appeal Drive, Harford County, 1968. Married; 2 children. Member of the House
of Delegates since 1971; member, Ways and Means Committee. Deputy Majority Whip, 1977-83.
Deputy Majority Floor Leader, 1983- Chairman, Harford County Delegation. Co-chairman, Mass
Transit Oversight Committee; chairman, Special Joint Committee on Transportation. Chairman,
Federal-State Affairs Committee, Southern Legislative Conference; member, State Affairs Committee,
Conference of State Governments. District office: 141 North Main St., Bel Air 21014; tel. 879-9173.
Annapolis office: 326 Lowe Bidg., 21401; tel. 841-3289.

ELIJAH E. CUMMINGS, Democrat, District 39. Bom in Baltimore, January 18, 1951. Baltimore
City College; Howard University, B.S., 1973; University of Maryland School of Law, J.D., 1976.
Attorney. Member of Maryland Bar since 1976. Chief judge, Maryland Moot Court Board; Phi Beta
Kappa; Outstanding U.S. Student Government Leader Award, Royal Arts Society of London; Major
Achievement Award for Scholastic Accomplishment from Afro American News; president, Bancroft
Literary Society. Member of the House of Delegates since 1983. Vice-Chairman, Constitutional and
Administrative Law Committee, 1987-. Chairman, Committee on Economic Development —
Maryland Legislative Black Caucus. Chairman Emeritus, Maryland Legislative Black Caucus.
District office: 2225 St. Paul St., Baltimore 21218; tel. 366-0494. Annapolis office: 141 Lowe Bidg.,
21401; tel. 841-3502.

GERALD J. CURRAN, Democrat, District 43. Bom March 20, 1939. Attended Baltimore parochial
schools; Calvert Hall College High School; University of Baltimore; University of Baltimore School
of Law, LL.B., 1963. Professional insurance broker. Chairman, State Use Industries Advisory
Committee. Past vice-chairman, Commission to Study Non-public Special Education. Past member,
Maryland Task Force on Welfare Reform. Archdiocesan Commission on the Aging. Delegate,
Democratic National Conventions, 1974, 1976, 1980. Member, Lauraville Improvement Association;

Baltimore Life Underwriters; Sigma Delta Kappa Law Fraternity Alumni; Knights of Columbus;

Ancient Order of Hibernians (past president, city board); Friendly Sons of St. Patrick. Past chairman,
Annual St. Patrick's Day Parade Committee. Director, United Third District Democratic
Organization. Member, Third District Young Democratic Club; Hamilton and Unity Democratic
Clubs. Past president, Holy Name Society, Baltimore. Married; 5 children; 3 grandchildren. Member
of the House of Delegates since 1967. Member, Judiciary Committee; Joint Committee on
Administrative, Executive and Legislative Review. Former vice-chairman, Constitutional and
Administrative Law Committee. Former co-chairman, Special Joint Committee on Coal Pipeline
Resources. Former member, Joint Legislative Committee on Metropolitan Mass Transit. 2901
Montebello Terrace, Baltimore 21214; tel. 426-1736. Annapolis office; 321 Lowe Bidg., 21401; tel.

clear space
clear space
white space

Please view image to verify text. To report an error, please contact us.
Maryland Manual, 1987-88
Volume 183, Page 102   View pdf image (33K)
 Jump to  

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

An Archives of Maryland electronic publication.
For information contact

©Copyright  October 06, 2023
Maryland State Archives