clear space clear space clear space white space
 r c h i v e s   o f   M a r y l a n d   O n l i n e

PLEASE NOTE: The searchable text below was computer generated and may contain typographical errors. Numerical typos are particularly troubling. Click “View pdf” to see the original document.

  Maryland State Archives | Index | Help | Search
search for:
clear space
white space
Maryland Manual, 1985-86
Volume 182, Page 577   View pdf image (33K)
 Jump to  
clear space clear space clear space white space

County Code: See Charter and Code of Wicomico
County, State of Maryland (1978) with

Area: 393.50 sq. miles (379.10 land, 14.40 water)

Population. 1900: 22,852; 1950: 39,641; 1960:
49,050; 1970: 54,236; 1980: 64,540.

Principal Incorporated Places (1980 census):
Salisbury (16,429), Fruitland (2,694), Delmar

Voter Registration, Oct. 8, 1984. Democrat:
20,288; Republican; 9,603; Other Parties: 1;
Decline to Affiliate: 2,300; Total: 32,192.

Per Capita Income (1980): $7,375.
State Forests: Wicomico (1,110 acres)

Colleges/Universities: Salisbury State College,
Salisbury; Wor-Wic Tech Community College,

Museums/Historical Societies: Wicomico
Historical Society, Inc., 106 W. Main St.,
Salisbury 21801


Circuit Court
P.O. Box 198
Salisbury 21801 Telephone: 742-3533

District Court
P.O. Box 629
Salisbury 21801 Telephone: 543-6600

Court Terms:

Circuit Court—Grand Jury and Petit Jury, second
Monday in February and September.

Orphans' Court Days—Tuesdays

Wicomico County/577

Circuit Court Resident Judges
Richard M. Pollitt, Chief Judge and Circuit
Administrative Judge, 1989; Alfred T. Truitt,
Jr., 1993.

Circuit Court Clerk
A. James Smith, 1986

District Court Judge
D. William Simpson, 1988. Thomas H.
White, Administrative Clerk; William R. Wil-
son, Jr., Clerk.

Orphans' Court Judges
Severn H. Cooper, Chief Judge, 1986;
Norma Lee Barkley, 1986; June P. Dukes,

Register of Wills
A. L. Lambertson, 1986

R. Hunter Nelms, 1986

State's Attorney
Richard D. Warren, 1986

District Public Defender
Robert B. Fine


County Council
P.O. Box 870
Salisbury 21801 Telephone: 749-5127

Meeting Days: First and third Tuesdays, 10:00

County Council

County Council
Henry S. Parker, President................. 1986
Bruce W. Ruark, Vice-President........... 1986
Betty K. Gardner ............................ 1986
Victor H. Laws............................... 1986
John M. Morris ..............................1986

Administration and Finance

Administrative Director
Matthew E. Creamer

Personnel Board
Prank Snead, Chairperson, 1985; R. W.
Thomas, 1985; Nola Arnold, 1986; Donald
Dennis, 1986; Paul M. Wilson, 1986.

Director of Personnel
Theodore E. Shea


clear space
clear space
white space

Please view image to verify text. To report an error, please contact us.
Maryland Manual, 1985-86
Volume 182, Page 577   View pdf image (33K)
 Jump to  

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

An Archives of Maryland electronic publication.
For information contact

©Copyright  October 06, 2023
Maryland State Archives