clear space clear space clear space white space
 r c h i v e s   o f   M a r y l a n d   O n l i n e

PLEASE NOTE: The searchable text below was computer generated and may contain typographical errors. Numerical typos are particularly troubling. Click “View pdf” to see the original document.

  Maryland State Archives | Index | Help | Search
search for:
clear space
white space
Maryland Manual, 1985-86
Volume 182, Page 495   View pdf image (33K)
 Jump to  
clear space clear space clear space white space

Librarian (or Library Director): Appointed by the
Board of Library Trustees, except in Montgomery
County where the County Executive makes the
appointment upon recommendation of the Library
Board and with the consent of the County Council
(Code Education Article, sec. 23-306).


Social Services Board: Appointed by the governing
body 'of the County for three-year terms. The
Board consists of nine members. One must be a
member of the governing body of the county and
serves ex officio. In Baltimore City the Board is
called the Social Services Commission. (Code 1957,
Art. 88A, secs. 13-14A).

Director of Social Services: Appointed by the
County Social Services Board. In Baltimore City
the Mayor selects the Director. (Code 1957, Art.
88A, secs. 13).

Commission on the Aging: Appointed by the
governing body in each county for indefinite terms
(Code 1957, Art. 70B).

Children's Council: Appointed by the chief execu-
tive officer of each county and Baltimore City as
per Chapter 426, Acts of 1978. The Children's
Councils are a part of the Maryland Office for
Children and Youth (Code 1957, Art. 49D, sec. 4).

Foster Care Review Board: Appointed by the
Governor from residents of the county (or
Baltimore City) which the Board serves. The
Board is composed of five members and two
alternates. Members serve four-year terms without
compensation. They are citizens whose interest in
children has been shown through community ser-
vice or professional experience, or who have a
background in law, sociology, psychology, educa-
tion, social work, or medicine. Board members are
subject to the same standards of confidentiality as
Social Services Administration employees. The
Board elects its own chairperson from among its
number for a four-year term.

Two or more counties may agree to establish one
multicounty Board instead of individual county
boards. Each multicounty Board is composed of
five members and two alternates appointed by the
Governor from residents of two of the counties
which the Board serves (Code Family Law Article,
secs. 5-540 through 5-545).

Disabled Person's Review Board: Consists of nine
members appointed by the County Commissioners.
In Baltimore City and the charter counties, the
Board is chosen by the Mayor or County Executive
with the advice and consent of the City or County

County Government/495

Council. The Board includes a professional repre-
sentative of the local Department of Social Ser-
vices, two physicians, a local commission on aging
representative, a professional representative of a
local nonprofit social service organization, an
attorney, two lay individuals, and a public health
nurse. Members serve three-year terms (Code
Family Law Article, secs. 14—401 through

Community Action Agency: Designated by the
governing body of the county (Code 1957, Art. 41,
sec. 205G).

Community Action Board of Trustees: Consists of
at least fifteen members. One-third of the members
are elected public officials currently in office, or
their designees. At least one-third of the members
represent the poor in the area served. Remaining
members are officials or members of business,
industry, labor, religious, welfare, education, or
other major groups and interests in the communi-
ty. The Secretary of the Department of Human
Resources establishes procedures to carry out the
purposes of the community services program
(Code 1957, Art. 41, sec. 205G).

Recreation and Parks Board: Appointed by the
governing body of the county, it must include a
member of that body and a member or representa-
tive of the county board of education (Code 1957,
Art. 25, sec. 226).


Planning and Zoning Commission: Appointed by
the local legislative body or by the County Execu-
tive with County Council confirmation. The Board
consists of five to seven members and may include
one member of the governing body of the county
who serves ex officio. The term of the ex officio
member corresponds to his term of office on the
county governing body. The remaining members
serve five-year terms. In Allegany County the
Commission consists of seven members. The
Charles County Commission has six members who
serve four-year terms (Code 1957, Art. 66B, sec.

Planning Director: Appointed by the Planning
Commission for an indefinite term (Code 1957,
Art. 66B, sec. 3.04).

Board of (Zoning) Appeals: Appointed by the
governing body of the county. In charter govern-
ment counties, the County Executive makes the
appointments subject to County Council confirma-
tion. The Board consists of three or five members
who serve three-year terms. In Frederick County,


clear space
clear space
white space

Please view image to verify text. To report an error, please contact us.
Maryland Manual, 1985-86
Volume 182, Page 495   View pdf image (33K)
 Jump to  

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

An Archives of Maryland electronic publication.
For information contact

©Copyright  August 02, 2018
Maryland State Archives