clear space clear space clear space white space
 r c h i v e s   o f   M a r y l a n d   O n l i n e

PLEASE NOTE: The searchable text below was computer generated and may contain typographical errors. Numerical typos are particularly troubling. Click “View pdf” to see the original document.

  Maryland State Archives | Index | Help | Search
search for:
clear space
white space
Maryland Manual, 1985-86
Volume 182, Page 434   View pdf image (33K)
 Jump to  
clear space clear space clear space white space

43 4/Maryland Manual

The State Reporter, appointed by the Court of
Appeals, is responsible for the publication of the
Maryland Reports and the Maryland Appellate
Reports, which respectively contain the official
opinions of the Court of Appeals (Const. 1867,
Art. IV, sees. 14-18A) and Court of Special
Appeals (Code Courts and Judicial Proceedings
Article, secs. 13-201 through 13-204).


Chairperson: Richard P. Gilbert, Chief Judge,
Court of Special Appeals, 1987

Nathan Patz, 1985; Dr. Morris E. Sumner, 1985;
Wilbur D. Preston, Jr., 1987; James H. Taylor,
1987; George J. Helinski, 1988; Marshall A.
Levin, 1984.

Howard E. Wallin, Executive Secretary

University of Baltimore
1420 N. Charles St.
Baltimore 21201 Telephone: 625-3086

The Commission on Judicial Disabilities was
established by constitutional amendment in 1966
and strengthened in 1970; its powers were further
clarified by a 1974 constitutional amendment. The
Commission is empowered to investigate com-
plaints against members of the Maryland Judicia-
ry. It conducts hearings, or takes informal action
as it deems necessary, provided that the judge
involved has been properly notified.

Commission operating procedures involve a pre-
liminary investigation to determine whether to
initiate formal proceedings, after which a hearing
may be held regarding the judge's alleged miscon-
duct or disability. If, as a result of these hearings,
the Commission, by majority vote, decides that a
judge should be retired, removed, censured, or
publicly reprimanded, it recommends that course
of action to the Court of Appeals. The Court of
Appeals may also order a more severe discipline of
the judge than the Commission recommends. In
addition, the Commission has the power in limited
situations to issue a private reprimand.

The Commission's primary function is to re-
ceive, investigate, and hear complaints against
Maryland judges. Formal complaints must be in
writing and notarized, but no particular form is
required. Individuals also may write or call the
Commission to express dissatisfaction concerning
the outcome of a case or some judicial ruling.

Pursuant to a revision in Rule 1227 of the
Maryland Rules, the Commission also supplies

judicial nominating commissions with confidential
information concerning reprimands to or pending
charges against those judges seeking nomination to
judicial offices.

The Commission consists of seven members
appointed by the Governor. Members include four
judges presently serving on the bench, two mem-
bers of the bar for at least fifteen years, and one lay
person representing the public (Code 1957, Art. 40,
sec. 45; Code Courts and Judicial Proceedings
Article, secs. 13-W1 through 13^03; Md. Rule


Chairperson: John F. McAuliffe

Walter M. Baker; Lowell R. Bowen; Robert R.
Bowie; Albert D. Brault; James L. Bundy;
William A. Franch; Larry S. Gibson; John 0.
Herrmann; Frederick W. Invernizzi; Alexander
G. Jones; Joseph H. H. Kaplan; James J.
Lombard;; David B. Mitchell; Paul V.
Niemeyer; Anne C. Ogletree; Joseph E. Owens;
Kenneth C. Proctor; Linda M. Richards; A.
James Smith; Paul F. Strain; Melvin J. Sykes;
Arnold M. Weiner.

Julia M. Freit, Reporter

P. 0. Box 1911
District Court Building
Annapolis 21404 Telephone: 269-2492

The Standing Committee on Rules of Practice
and Procedure, usually called the Rules Commit-
tee, was originally appointed by an order of the
Court of Appeals in 1946 to succeed an ad hoc
Committee on Rules of Practice and Procedure
appointed by the Court in 1940. The Committee
meets regularly to recommend changes in or
additions to Court of Appeals rules governing the
practice and procedure of law and judicial admin-
istration. Its membership consists of lawyers,
judges, and other persons competent in judicial
practice, procedure, or administration (Code
Courts and Judicial Proceedings Article, sec.


Chairperson: Charles H. Dorsey, Jr., 1988

M. Natalie McSherry, 1985; Robert H. Reinhart,
1985; William F. Abell, Jr., 1986; David C.
Daneker, 1986; John F. Mudd, 1987; John W.
Souse, Jr., 1989.


clear space
clear space
white space

Please view image to verify text. To report an error, please contact us.
Maryland Manual, 1985-86
Volume 182, Page 434   View pdf image (33K)
 Jump to  

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

An Archives of Maryland electronic publication.
For information contact

©Copyright  October 06, 2023
Maryland State Archives