clear space clear space clear space white space
 r c h i v e s   o f   M a r y l a n d   O n l i n e

PLEASE NOTE: The searchable text below was computer generated and may contain typographical errors. Numerical typos are particularly troubling. Click “View pdf” to see the original document.

  Maryland State Archives | Index | Help | Search
search for:
clear space
white space
Maryland Manual, 1985-86
Volume 182, Page 40   View pdf image (33K)
 Jump to  
clear space clear space clear space white space

40V Maryland Manual

Advisory Commission on Federal-Local

not yet appointed
Staff contact: Orin J. Durey

90 State Circle
Annapolis 21401 Telephone: 841-3763

The Joint Committee on Federal Relations,
formerly the Maryland Commission on Intergov-
ernmental Cooperation, was created by Chapter
401, Acts of 1983. The Committee monitors and
evaluates the relations between State and federal
government, and the impact of proposals to alter
those relationships on the State, local government,
and Maryland citizens. It informs State legislative
and executive officials concerning federal relations
and the impact of proposals for change. The
Committee serves also as a forum for the consider-
ation of certain State-local issues. In addition, it
endeavors to advance cooperation between the
State and other units of government by formulat-
ing proposals for the adoption of compacts, the
enactment of uniform or reciprocal statutes, the
adoption of uniform or reciprocal administrative
rules, the informal cooperation of governmental
offices with one another, the personal cooperation
of government officials and employees with one
another, and the exchange and clearance of re-
search and information.

The Committee consists of sixteen members,
with eight members of the Senate appointed by the
President and eight members of the House of
Delegates appointed by the Speaker. The President
of the Senate and the Speaker of the House
designate the chairperson and vice-chairperson
(Code State Government Article, secs. 2-901
through 2-906).

The Advisory Commission on Federal-Local
Relations meets from time to time to consider
issues of concern to the Joint Committee on
Federal Relations. The Advisory Commission con-
sists of an equal number of members of the Senate
and House of Delegates appointed, respectively, by
the President and the Speaker (Code State Govern-
ment Article, secs. 2-907 through 2-909).


Senate Chairperson: Leo E. Green
House Chairperson: Gary R. Alexander

Members from the Senate: Clarence W. Blount;
Thomas L. Bromwell; Laurence Levitan.

Members from the House of Delegates: Nancy K.
Kopp; Robert R. Neall; Eileen M. Rehnnann.

Telephone: 841-3710

The Joint Committee on the Management of
Public Funds was created by Chapter 635, Acts of
1973. The Committee reviews policies and proce-
dures of the State Treasurer regarding the invest-
ment and management of State funds in the
Treasury, State funds not in the Treasury (exclud-
ing retirement system funds), and public funds by
local government. It reports annually to the Gener-
al Assembly.

The Committee consists of eight members, four
from the Senate and four from the House of
Delegates, appointed by the President and the
Speaker. The chairperson and vice-chairperson are
designated by the President and Speaker jointly
and serve at their pleasure (Code State Govern-
ment Article, secs. 2-801 through 2-806).


Senate Chairperson: Laurence Levitan
House Chairperson: R. Clayton Mitchell, Jr.

Members from the Senate: Raymond E. Beck;
Clarence W. Blount; Leo E. Green; Dennis F.

Members from the House of Delegates: Tyras S.
Athey; John W. Douglass; Robert R. Neall;
Donald B. Robertson.

Ex officio: Francis X. Kelly, designee of President
of the Senate; Benjamin L. Cardin, Speaker of
the House of Delegates.

Telephone: 841-3736

The Spending Affordability Committee was es-
tablished by Chapter 585, Acts of 1982, to study
and review the status and projections of State
revenues and expenditures and the status and
projections of the Maryland economy. The Com-
mittee's purpose is to limit the rate of growth of
State spending to a level that does not exceed the
rate of growth of the State's economy.

By November 1 of each year, the Spending
Affordability Committee submits a report to the
Legislative Policy Committee and the Governor
with recommendations for the fiscal goals of the
budget to be considered at the next General
Assembly session. The report includes recom-
mended levels of State spending, new debt authori-


clear space
clear space
white space

Please view image to verify text. To report an error, please contact us.
Maryland Manual, 1985-86
Volume 182, Page 40   View pdf image (33K)
 Jump to  

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

An Archives of Maryland electronic publication.
For information contact

©Copyright  August 02, 2018
Maryland State Archives