clear space clear space clear space white space
 r c h i v e s   o f   M a r y l a n d   O n l i n e

PLEASE NOTE: The searchable text below was computer generated and may contain typographical errors. Numerical typos are particularly troubling. Click “View pdf” to see the original document.

  Maryland State Archives | Index | Help | Search
search for:
clear space
white space
Maryland Manual, 1983-84
Volume 181, Page 35   View pdf image (33K)
 Jump to  
clear space clear space clear space white space

procedural due process. Further, the Committee
sits as a legislative advisory board for the Code
of Maryland Regulations and COMAR publica-
tions of the Division of State Documents of the
Office of the Secretary of State.

By Chapter 1 of the Acts of the Second Special
Session of 1973, the Committee is required to re-
ceive emergency energy executive orders promul-
gated by the Governor. This legislative authority
has been updated annually.

Chapter 776, Acts of 1973, removed the Com-
mittee as an adjunct of the Legislative Council.
By law, the Committee reports annually to the
Legislative Policy Committee and the General

The AELR Committee receives copies of all
rules of each State agency (Chapter 777, Acts of
1973). Unless submitted to the Committee, cer-
tain rules, regulations, or standards may be inval-
id (Chapter 778, Acts of 1973; Code 1957, Art.
40, sec. 40A).


Senate Chairperson: Dennis F. Rasmussen
House Chairperson: John W. Douglass

Stewart Bainum, Jr., designee of the President of
the Senate

Clarence W. Blount, Senate Majority Floor Leader
Edward P. Thomas, Senate Minority Floor Leader

Benjamin L. Cardin, Speaker of the House of Del-

Donald B. Robertson, House Majority Floor

Robert R. Neall, House Minority Floor Leader

Members appointed by the President of the Sen-
ate: William H. Amoss; John A. Cade; Francis
X. Kelly; Frank J. Komenda; Julian L.
Lapides; Laurence Levitan.

Members appointed by the Speaker of the House
of Delegates: Tyras S. Athey; William J. Bur-
gess; Gerard F. Devlin; Nancy K. Kopp (desig-
nee of Donald B. Robertson); R. Clayton
Mitchell, Jr.; Paul D. Muldowney; Frank B.
Pesci, Sr.

Originally created by Chapter 456, Acts of
1968, the Joint Budget and Audit Committee had
its membership changed by 'Chapter 227, Acts of
1971. It consists of twenty members, including

Legislature/3 5

the President of the Senate, the Speaker of the
House of Delegates, and the majority and minori-
ty floor leaders. The remaining members are di-
vided equally between legislators who serve on
the fiscal committees in the Senate and the House
of Delegates. The chairperson and vice-chair-
person are named by joint action of the presiding

The Committee provides detailed study and re-
view of budget analyses, the capital budget, fiscal
policy, fiscal research, post audits, departmental
operation and efficiency within State government,
and other matters relating to fiscal matters. It re-
ceives from the Executive Department and the
Department of Fiscal Services annual reports on
the effect of long-term State debt on the State's
financial condition. The Committee also annually
reviews federally-funded projects requiring future
State funds and nonbudgeted funds used for capi-
tal programs, reviews rules and regulations that
require increased expenditures, establishes policies
and directives for the Department of Fiscal Ser-
vices, and submits an annual report to the Gener-
al Assembly (Code 1957, Art. 40, secs. 54-56B).


Co-Chairperson: Julian L. Lapides
Co-Chairperson: Thomas A. Rymer

Members from the Senate: John A. Cade; Leo E.
Green; Thomas M. Yeager.

Members from the House of Delegates: Michael
J. Collins; Donald F. Munson; Wendell H.

Ex officio members: Melvin A. Steinberg, Presi-
dent of the Senate; Benjamin L. Cardin, Speak-
er of the House of Delegates.

Committee counsel: Myriam Marquez Bailey

The Joint Committee on Legislative Ethics was
established by Chapter 5, Acts of 1972. The
Committee consists of ten members, five from the
Senate and five from the House of Delegates. The
President of the Senate and the Speaker of the
House of Delegates serve ex officio, and they ap-
point the remaining members who serve at the
pleasure of the President and the Speaker.
The function of the Committee is to render ad-
visory opinions and promulgate rules of legisla-
tive ethics with respect to conflicts of interest
governing members of the General Assembly.
These rules are effective on a year-round basis
(Code 1957, Art. 40, secs. 89-91).


clear space
clear space
white space

Please view image to verify text. To report an error, please contact us.
Maryland Manual, 1983-84
Volume 181, Page 35   View pdf image (33K)
 Jump to  

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

An Archives of Maryland electronic publication.
For information contact

©Copyright  October 06, 2023
Maryland State Archives