clear space clear space clear space white space
 r c h i v e s   o f   M a r y l a n d   O n l i n e

PLEASE NOTE: The searchable text below was computer generated and may contain typographical errors. Numerical typos are particularly troubling. Click “View pdf” to see the original document.

  Maryland State Archives | Index | Help | Search
search for:
clear space
white space
Maryland Manual, 1983-84
Volume 181, Page 178   View pdf image (33K)
 Jump to  
clear space clear space clear space white space

178/Maryland Manual

a library of archival and photographic material
relating to Maryland's historic architecture.

The Trust reports annually to the Governor
and the General Assembly (Code 1957, Art. 41,
secs. 181A-181K).


Chairperson: Orlando Ridout IV

Tyier Bastian, Orin M. Bullock, Jr., Rhoda
Dorsey, John W. Hill, Aubrey C. Land, Phoe-
be Stanton, Robert M. Vogel, Mark P. Leone.

21 State Circle
Annapolis 21401 Telephone: 269-2438

The Governor appointed this special Commit-
tee in 1967 to carry out the terms of the National
Historic Preservation Act of 1966 (P.L. 89-665).
This Act requires that the State of Maryland
nominate properties to be on the National Regis-
ter of Historic Places. These nominations must be
reviewed and approved by the Consulting Com-
mittee prior to their submittal to the National
Park Service. The Committee selects its own


Chairperson: Dr. Earl C. Brooks, 1984

Carl A. Durkee, 1983; Patricia L. Salcido King,
1983; Colmorene Evans Wilson, 1983; Michele
T. Crockett, 1984; James Fowler, 1984; Eliza-
beth C. Proctor, 1985; Ms. Mervin A. Savoy,
1985; one vacancy.

Director: Vacancy

2525 Riva Road
Annapolis 21401 Telephone: 269-3381

Originally a part of the Commission on Afro-
American and Indian History and Culture, creat-
ed by Chapter 386, Acts of 1974, the Commis-
sion became an agency of the Department of Eco-
nomic and Community Development on July 1,
1976 (Chapter 148, Acts of 1976). The Commis-
sion consists of nine members, a majority of
whom must be members of the Native American
Indian communities of Maryland. Appointed by
the Governor with the advice and consent of the
Senate, members serve for three-year terms. They
must have knowledge of Indian culture and histo-
ry and be sensitive to the problems of the Indian
communities. Members annually elect a chair-
person and vice-chairperson from the member-

ship. Subject to the approval of the Secretary of
Economic and Community Development, mem-
bers appoint, from without their number, a direc-
tor of the Commission.

The Commission is charged with undertaking a
comprehensive study of indigenous American
Indian tribes and their influence upon Maryland
history and culture. The study includes but is not
limited to the Crees, Creeks, Cherokees, Chippe-
was, Choptanks, Delawares, Haliwas, Lumbees,
Nanticokes, Piscataways, Potomacs, Rappahan-
nocks, Seminoles, Susquehannas, and Wicomicos.
In addition, the Commission studies the economic
and social needs of Indians in Maryland and
makes recommendations for the alleviation of
such needs. Information developed by the Com-
mission that relates to Indian culture and history
is to be disseminated to the public (Code 1957,
Art. 41, sec. 409-1).


Chairperson: John Hanson Briscoe, 1985
Vice-Chairperson: Roy N. Staten, 1983
Treasurer: John T. Daugherty, 1984

Jane C. Gude, 1983; Francis Elliott Burch, Sr.,
1985; Marianne Ellis Alexander, 1986; Henry
P. Turner, 1986; Beatrice Wright, 1987; Rich-
ard D. Weigle, 1988.

Daniel J. Reed, Director

P. 0. Box 38
St. Mary's City 20686 Telephone: 994-0779

At the recommendation of the 1965 committee
that studied the feasibility of restoring historic St.
Mary's, the St. Mary's City Commission was cre-
ated by Chapter 115, Acts of 1966, and came
into being on July 1, 1966.

The Commission consists of nine members
appointed by the Secretary of Economic and
Community Development with the approval of
the Governor for five-year terms. Two of the
Commissioners must be residents of St. Mary's
County and no fewer than five must be Maryland
residents. The Commissioners are selected on the
basis of ability, public spirit, and historical and
professional interest. The Commission selects its
own officers. Subject to the approval of the Secre-
tary of Economic and Community Development,
it also appoints the Director from without its

The St. Mary's City Commission was created
to preserve, develop, and maintain ancient St.
Mary's City, Maryland's first settlement and for
sixty-one years its colonial capital. A master plan


clear space
clear space
white space

Please view image to verify text. To report an error, please contact us.
Maryland Manual, 1983-84
Volume 181, Page 178   View pdf image (33K)
 Jump to  

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

An Archives of Maryland electronic publication.
For information contact

©Copyright  August 02, 2018
Maryland State Archives