clear space clear space clear space white space
 r c h i v e s   o f   M a r y l a n d   O n l i n e

PLEASE NOTE: The searchable text below was computer generated and may contain typographical errors. Numerical typos are particularly troubling. Click “View pdf” to see the original document.

  Maryland State Archives | Index | Help | Search
search for:
clear space
white space
Maryland Manual, 1981-82
Volume 180, Page 35   View pdf image (33K)
 Jump to  
clear space clear space clear space white space
Members of the Senate: Rosalie S. Abrams,
Laurence Levitan

Members of the House of Delegates: Robin
Ficker, John R. Hargreaves

The Joint Committee on the Management of
Public Funds was created by Chapter 635, Acts
of 1973. The Committee consists of six members,
three from the Senate and three from the House
of Delegates, appointed by the President and the
Speaker. The chairperson and vice-chairperson are
designated by the President and Speaker jointly
and serve at their pleasure-

The functions of the Committee are to review
policies and procedures of the State Treasurer re-
garding investment and management of State
funds in the Treasury, State funds not in the
Treasury (excluding retirement system funds), and
public funds by local government.

The Committee reports annually to the General
Assembly (Code 1957, Art. 40, secs. 92-96).


Co-Chairperson: Lucille Maurer
Co-Chairperson: John Carroll Byrnes

Members from the Senate: Tommie Broadwater,
Jr., Sidney Kramer, Julian L. Lapides, Clarence
M. Mitchell III.

Members from the House of Delegates: Bert
Booth, Thomas B. Cumiskey, R. Clayton
Mitchell, Jr., Francis W. White.

Ex officio members from the Senate: James dark,
Jr., President of the Senate; Rosalie S. Abrams,
Majority Floor Leader; Edward J. Mason, Mi-
nority Floor Leader.

Ex officio members from the House of Delegates:
Benjamin L. Cardin, Speaker of the House of
Donald B. Robertson, Majority Floor
(designee—Thomas A. Rymer); Ray-
mond E. Beck, Minority Floor Leader.

William Donald Schaefer, Mayor of Baltimore
City, President, Maryland Association of
Counties, Inc.
(designee—Althea O'Connor,
Assistant Executive Director, Maryland Associa-
tion of Counties)

Legislature/3 5

John R. Freeland, Councilman, City of Rockville,
President, Maryland Municipal League, Inc.
(designee—William E. Hanna, Jr., Mayor of

Advisory Committee: Thomas E. Schmidt, Secre-
tary, Department of Budget and Fiscal Planning;
Michael F. Canning, Executive Assistant to the
Richard E. Israel, Assistant Attorney
David Schad, Director, Maryland Na-
tional Relations Office;
Constance Lieder, Secre-
tary. Department of State Planning
James W. McConnaughay, Department of State

Staff contact: David S. lannucci

90 State Circle
Annapolis 21401 Telephone: 841-3863

The Maryland Commission on Intergovern-
mental Cooperation, originally created by Chap-
ter 331, Acts of 1937, had its membership recon-
stituted by Chapter 37, Acts of 1964, by Chapter
34, Acts of 1975, and by Chapter 281, Acts of
1976. The Commission consists of eighteen mem-
bers appointed by the president of the Senate and
the speaker of the House of Delegates. Eight
members are selected from the Senate and eight
from the House of Delegates. Members include
the president of the Senate, the speaker of the
House of Delegates, and the majority and minori-
ty leaders of both Houses, all of whom serve ex
officio. Appointments to the Commission are at
the pleasure of the president of the Senate and
the speaker of the House, who also designate the
chairperson and vice-chairperson. Two members
of the Commission are the president of the Mary-
land Association of Counties, Inc., and the presi-
dent of the Maryland Municipal League, Inc., or
their designees.

The Advisory Committee consists of five mem-
bers, two of whom are appointed by the Gover-
nor. The other members are the Secretary of Bud-
get and Fiscal Planning or an alternate, the
Secretary of State Planning or an alternate, and
the Attorney General or an alternate.

It is the function of this Commission to further
the involvement of the State of Maryland as a
member of the Council of State Governments.
The Commission participates in activities of the
National Conference of State Legislatures and the
Southern Legislative Conference of the Council of
State Governments. It encourages the cooperative
exchange of information and research with offi-
cials and employees of other states, the federal
government, and local units of government. It


clear space
clear space
white space

Please view image to verify text. To report an error, please contact us.
Maryland Manual, 1981-82
Volume 180, Page 35   View pdf image (33K)
 Jump to  

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

An Archives of Maryland electronic publication.
For information contact

©Copyright  October 06, 2023
Maryland State Archives