clear space clear space clear space white space
 r c h i v e s   o f   M a r y l a n d   O n l i n e

PLEASE NOTE: The searchable text below was computer generated and may contain typographical errors. Numerical typos are particularly troubling. Click “View pdf” to see the original document.

  Maryland State Archives | Index | Help | Search
search for:
clear space
white space
Maryland Manual, 1981-82
Volume 180, Page 272   View pdf image (33K)
 Jump to  
clear space clear space clear space white space

272/Maryland Manual

Members are selected as far as possible to reflect
different broad geographic, economic, and social
interests in the State. The chairperson of the
Commission is designated by the Governor.

The State Planning Commission advises and re-
ports to the Secretary of State Planning on all
matters submitted to it by the Secretary, such as
the State Development Plan. It may also consider
current operations and activities of the Depart-
ment, the needs of the State for further develop-
ment, the establishment of regional or metropoli-
tan planning areas, the effectiveness of the De-
partment and its planning activities, and the
public awareness and understanding of the objec-
tives and functions of State and local planning.
The Commission may establish such subcommit-
tees as may be necessary, and may, with the ap-
proval of the Secretary of State Planning, hold
private or public hearings and sponsor public fo-
rums in any part of the State whenever it deems
it necessary or useful in connection with its advi-
sory functions (Code 1957, Art. 88C, secs. 1-11).


Chairperson: Milton H. Miller
Vice-Chairperson: C. Bowie Rose, Sr.

Ex officio members: James J. O'Donnell, Secre-
tary of Transportation;
Charles R. Buck, Jr.,
Secretary of Health and Mental Hygiene; James
B. Coulter,, Secretary of Natural Resources;
Constance Lieder, Secretary of State Planning.

Members appointed by Governor: J. Joseph Cur-
ran, Jr., State Senate; Thomas B. Kernan,
House of Delegates; Milton H. Miller; C. Bowie
Rose, Sr.; Lloyd R. Helt, Jr.

Appointed members: Anne Arundel County:
Robert A. Pascal, County Executive; George F.
Bachman, Chairperson, County Council; Joseph
Procaccini, Vice-Chairperson, Planning Advisory

Representative of the Municipalities: Lloyd R.
Helt, Jr.

Baltimore City: William D. Schaefer, Mayor; Wal-
ter S. Orlinsky, President, City Council; Charles
S. Colson, Acting Chairperson, Planning Com-

Baltimore County: Donald P. Hutchinson, Coun-
ty Executive;
Norman W. Lauenstein, Chair-
person, County Council;
Dale Balfour, Member,
Planning Board.

Carroll County: Roger L. Mann, President, Board
of County Commissioners;
Louis B. Scharon,
Secretary, Board of County Commissioners;
James J. Schwartz, Member, Planning and Zon-
ing Commission.

Harford County: J. Thomas Barranger, County
John W. Hardwicke, President,
County Council;
Harold Hatton, Chairperson,
Planning Advisory Board.

Howard County: J. Hugh Nichols, County Execu-
Ruth U. Keeton, Chairperson, County
Helen E. Ruther, Member, Planning


Anne Arundel County: Florence B. Kurdle, for
Mr. Pascal; Edward Ahern, for Mr. Bachman.

Baltimore City: Honora M. Freeman, for Mayor
Schaefer; Barbara F. Bachur, for Mr. Orlinsky.

Baltimore County: Larry Walsh, for Mr. Hutch-
inson; Vacancy for Mr. Lauenstein.

Carroll County: J. Norman Graham, for Mr.
Mann; George A. Grier, for Mr. Scharon.

Harford County: Vacancy, for Mr. Barranger;
Barbara A. Risacher, for Mr. Hardwicke.

Howard County: Thomas G. Harris, Jr., for Mr.
Nichols; Elizabeth Bobo, for Ms. Keeton.

Walter J. Kowalczyk, Jr., Executive Director

Harold 0. Wright, Director, Administrative Ser-

Alfred P. Gwynn, Deputy Director and Director,
Development Planning

Naomi S. Russell, Director, Housing and Commu-
nity Development

David J. Dunlap, Director, Transportation Plan-

Josef Nathanson, Director, Economic Research
and Information Systems

2225 N. Charles Street
Baltimore 21218 Telephone: 383-5838

The Regional Planning Council was created by
Chapter 753, Acts of 1963, as the official succes-
sor to the Baltimore Regional Planning Council,


clear space
clear space
white space

Please view image to verify text. To report an error, please contact us.
Maryland Manual, 1981-82
Volume 180, Page 272   View pdf image (33K)
 Jump to  

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

An Archives of Maryland electronic publication.
For information contact

©Copyright  October 06, 2023
Maryland State Archives