clear space clear space clear space white space
 r c h i v e s   o f   M a r y l a n d   O n l i n e

PLEASE NOTE: The searchable text below was computer generated and may contain typographical errors. Numerical typos are particularly troubling. Click “View pdf” to see the original document.

  Maryland State Archives | Index | Help | Search
search for:
clear space
white space
Maryland Manual, 1981-82
Volume 180, Page 267   View pdf image (33K)
 Jump to  
clear space clear space clear space white space

State Agencies

The State Police Local Division provides police
services as a result of a contractual agreement for
a trooper(s) between the Superintendent, Mary-
land State Police, and the governing body of any
county and/or Baltimore City. As a result of the
entered into agreement(s), the State Police will
act and take over all or a portion of a local police
force for the county and/or municipality (Code
1957, Art. 88B, sec. 63).

The Agency carries on its field operations
through barracks, posts, and detachments located
throughout the State as follows:

Baltimore Metropolitan Troop

Annapolis Barrack
Glen Burnie Barrack, headquarters
Security Barrack
Valley Barrack

Washington Metropolitan Troop

College Park Barrack, headquarters
Forestville Barrack
Rockville Barrack

Northeast Troop

Bel Air Barrack, headquarters
JFK Memorial Highway Post
North East Barrack

Eastern Troop

Easton Barrack, headquarters
Salisbury Barrack
Berlin Post
Centreville Post
Cambridge D'.t.
Chestertown Det.
Denton Det.
Princess Anne Det.

Central Troop

Waterloo Barrack, headquarters
Frederick Barrack
Westminster Barrack

Southern Troop

Waldorf Barrack, headquarters
Leonardtown Post
Prince Frederick Post

Western Troop

Cumberland Barrack, headquarters
Hagerstown Barrack
Garrett County Det.

Public Safety and Correctional Services/2 67


Chairperson: Edwin R. Tully, Deputy Secretary for
Public Safety

Vice-Chairperson: Cornelius S. Behen

Ex officio members: James R. McAbee, President,
Maryland Law Enforcement Officers, Inc.;
Stephen H. Sachs, Attorney General of Mary-
John S. Toll, President, University of
Russell E. Wroten, President, Mary-
land Chiefs of Police Association;
Edward D.
Hegarty, Special Agent in Charge. Federal Bu-
reau of Investigation, Baltimore Office;
Thomas S. Smith, Superintendent, Maryland
State Police;
John T. Tarr, President, Eastern
Shore Police Association;
James Young, Presi-
dent, Maryland State Sheriffs' Association;
Donald D. Pomerleau, Commissioner, Baltimore
City Police Department;
David N. Pulgham,
Fraternal Order of Police.

Appointed members: Cornelius S. Behan, Chief,
Baltimore County Police Department.
1981; W.
Elmer Shank, Chief, Cumberland Police Depart-
1982; Russell E. Wroten, Chief, Cam-
bridge Police Department,

Robert L. Van Wagoner, Executive Director
John A. Schuyler, Assistant Executive Director

William E. O'Hara, Jr., Assistant Executive Direc-

3085 Hemwood Road
Woodstock 21163 Telephone: 442-2700

The Maryland Police Training Commission was
created by Chapter 286, Acts of 1966, to fulfill
the need for improvement in the administration
of law enforcement by raising the standards of
training and education.

The Commission consists of fourteen members
of whom eleven are non-appointive office holders.
These include the Deputy Secretary of Public
Safety, the President of the Maryland Chiefs of
Police Association, the President of the Maryland
Law Enforcement Officers, Inc., the Attorney
General of the State of Maryland, the Superinten-
dent of the Maryland State Police, the Commis-
sioner of the Baltimore City Police Department,
the President of the University of Maryland, the
President of the Eastern Shore Police Association,
a representative of the Fraternal Order of Police,
the President of the Maryland State Sheriffs' As-
sociation, and the Agent in Charge of the Baiti-


clear space
clear space
white space

Please view image to verify text. To report an error, please contact us.
Maryland Manual, 1981-82
Volume 180, Page 267   View pdf image (33K)
 Jump to  

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

An Archives of Maryland electronic publication.
For information contact

©Copyright  October 06, 2023
Maryland State Archives