clear space clear space clear space white space
 r c h i v e s   o f   M a r y l a n d   O n l i n e

PLEASE NOTE: The searchable text below was computer generated and may contain typographical errors. Numerical typos are particularly troubling. Click “View pdf” to see the original document.

  Maryland State Archives | Index | Help | Search
search for:
clear space
white space
Maryland Manual, 1981-82
Volume 180, Page 219   View pdf image (33K)
 Jump to  
clear space clear space clear space white space

State Agencies

money orders for a fee or service charge. Persons,
referred to as principals, who wish to transact
such business in Maryland must qualify with the
Bank Commissioner and procure an annual li-
cense from him. All principals must report peri-
odically to the Bank Commissioner as to agents'
charges, financial structure, and other conditions
relative to their functions under the Maryland
Currency Exchange Law (Code Financial Institu-
tions Article, secs. 12-401 through 12-424).

By Chapter 390, Acts of 1967, the General As-
sembly enacted a Secondary Mortgage Law,
which provides generally for the licensing of per-
sons in the business of negotiating secondary
mortgage loans and places the responsibility upon
the Bank Commissioner to license and regulate
these activities. Licensees are required by statute
to report annually, under oath, to the Bank Com-
missioner in such form that he may prescribe
(Code Financial Institutions Article, secs. 12-301
through 12-321).

Mortgage brokers or mortgage bankers are re-
quired to register with the Bank Commissioner
and pay an annual registration fee (Code Finan-
cial Institutions Article, secs. 12-501 through

The department also handles consumer com-
plaints against the various persons and institu-
tions under its jurisdiction.


Ex officio members: Joseph R. Crouse, H. Grant
Hathaway, John A. Hereher, C. Edgar Smith,

Appointed members: Herbert Goldman, 1981;
Saretha Gaskins Greene, 1981; Kathryne C.
Holdt, 1981.

The Bank Regulations Board is comprised of
the Bank Commissioner, the Banking Board, and
three persons not employed by any banking insti-
tution who are appointed by the Governor with
the advice of the Secretary of Licensing and Reg-
ulation for two-year terms. Of the three ap-
pointed members, one must be an economist and
one must represent the public at large.

The Bank Regulations Board may by majority
vote authorize State banks to engage in banking
activities as permitted by federal law, notwith-
standing restrictions and limitations generally
contained in Article 11 (Code Financial Institu-
tions Article, secs. 2-301 through 2-303).

Licensing and Regulation/219


Ex officio member: Louis L. Goldstein, Comptrol-
ler of the Treasury

Appointed members: C. Edgar Smith, Jr., Associ-
ated Mutual Savings Banks of Maryland,
John A. Hereher, Maryland State Bankers Asso-
1983; H. Grant Hathaway, Baltimore
Clearing House,
1985; Gretta A. Middleton,
1986; Michael H. Weinman, 1986.

The Banking Board, established by Chapter
489, Acts of 1935, is composed of the Comptrol-
ler of the Treasury and five members appointed
by the Governor with the advice of the Secretary
of Licensing and Regulation from lists of nomi-
nees submitted by the Baltimore Clearing House,
the Associated Mutual Savings Bank of Balti-
more, and the Maryland State Bankers' Associa-
tion. Two members represent the general public.
Members hold office for six years. The members
of the Banking Board are subject to the call of
the Bank Commissioner to confer and consult
with him in any matter concerning the business
of any State banking institution upon which the
Commissioner requests their advice and counsel.
The law further provides that the Board's func-
tions shall be purely advisory, to assist the Com-
missioner with sound and impartial guidance as
additional protection in maintaining the business
of banking and banking institutions throughout
Maryland in such manner as will give the fullest
possible protection to the interest of depositors
and stockholders (Code Financial Institutions Ar-
ticle, secs. 2-201 through 2-204).


Chairperson: W. Thomas Gisriel, 1981

John F. Pasko, 1981; Jay FitzGerald, 1981;
Charles K. Rittenhouse, 1981; Frank L. He-
witt, Jr., 1982; John M. Balder, 1983; Joanne
Kerstetter, 1983; Broadus E. Sawyer, 1983;
Nancy Erwin, 1984.

One South Calvert Street
Baltimore 21202 Telephone: 659-6330

The Board of Savings and Loan Association
Commissioners consists of nine members ap-
pointed by the Governor with the advice of the
Secretary of Licensing and Regulation and with
the advice and consent of the Senate for four-year


clear space
clear space
white space

Please view image to verify text. To report an error, please contact us.
Maryland Manual, 1981-82
Volume 180, Page 219   View pdf image (33K)
 Jump to  

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

An Archives of Maryland electronic publication.
For information contact

©Copyright  October 06, 2023
Maryland State Archives