clear space clear space clear space white space
 r c h i v e s   o f   M a r y l a n d   O n l i n e

PLEASE NOTE: The searchable text below was computer generated and may contain typographical errors. Numerical typos are particularly troubling. Click “View pdf” to see the original document.

  Maryland State Archives | Index | Help | Search
search for:
clear space
white space
Maryland Manual, 1979-80
Volume 179, Page 29   View pdf image (33K)
 Jump to  
clear space clear space clear space white space

General Assembly

and effectiveness of State agencies and
institutions; the study of State and local financial
matters and fiscal interrelationships; the collec-
tion of financial data on the State's local
governments and the publication of an annual re-
port on local governmental finances; and the
preparation of evaluation reports required under
the Regulatory Programs Evaluation Act of 1978.

The Office of Legislative Auditor, originally
created as the office of the State Auditor by
Chapter 257, Acts of 1902, and Chapter 226,
Acts of 1929, is responsible by law for conduct-
ing post audits of a compliance or performance
nature of all departments, agencies, and
institutions of State government, including the
offices of clerks of court and registers of wills.
Upon direction by the General Assembly or the
Joint Budget and Audit Committee, the Legisla-
tive Auditor may undertake a management audit
of a State agency or program or an audit of a pri-
vate organization that receives State funds. The
Office also reviews the audit reports of all local
governments and community colleges (Code
1957, Art. 40, sees. 57-61E, 63-70A).


Chairperson: Charles B. Buscher, 1982

Appointed by the Governor: Samuel E. W. Friel,
Jr., 1982; C. Granville Hillen, 1982; Hugh D.
Shires, 1982; George S. Wills, 1982.

Appointed by the President of the Senate: Phyllis
B. Brotman, 1982; Dr. Vernon Gray, 1982.

Appointed by the Speaker of the House of
Delegates: Edward J. Courtney, 1982; N. Page
Worthington, 1982.

13317 Locksley Lane
Silver Spring 20904 Telephone: 384-6463

The General Assembly Compensation Commis-
sion was created in 1970 following ratification of
a Constitutional Amendment by the voters at the
general election of November 3, 1970 (Chapter
576, Acts of 1970). The Commission consists of
nine members, five appointed by the Governor,
two appointed by the President of the Senate, and
two appointed by the Speaker of the House of
Delegates. Members serve four-year terms.
Officers and employees of State or local govern-
mental units are not eligible for appointment to
the Commission. The Commission determines the
compensation and allowances due the members of
the General Assembly. The legislature may re-

Department of Fiscal Services/29

duce but not increase the amounts proposed
(Const. 1867, Art. Ill, sec. 15).


Chairperson: M. King Hill, Jr., 1979

Morton M. Robinson, 1979; Michael A. Cramer,

100 Light Street, 6th Floor
Baltimore 21202 Telephone: 727-1164

The General Assembly, by Chapter 264, Acts of
1896, established the Commission for the Promo-
tion of Uniformity of Legislation. Every four years
the Governor appoints three Commissioners who
represent Maryland in the National Conference of
Commissioners on Uniform State Laws. They re-
ceive no salary but are allowed their actual
disbursements for expenses (Code 1957, Art. 41,
sees. 153, 154). The Commissioners serve on com-
mittees that draft laws to be submitted to the
legislatures of the several states and recommend
measures for the promotion of uniform legislation.


A Constitutional amendment (Chapter 363,
Acts of 1972) ratified by the people on November
7, 1972, divided the State of Maryland into 47
districts for the election of the 188 members of
the Senate and the House of Delegates. Each
Legislative District elects I Senator and 3
Delegates, for a total of 47 Senators and 141
Delegates. Each district may be divided into three
Delegate subdistricts or one multi-member Dele-
gate subdistrict. Each district must consist of ad-
joining territory, be compact in form, and of
equal population (Const. 1867, Art. Ill, sees.
1-4). In districts that contain more than two
counties or parts of more than two counties and
where the Delegates are elected at large by the
voters of the entire district, no county or part of
a county is allowed to have more than one resi-
dent Delegate.

Pursuant to Article III, Section 5 of the Con-
stitution, the Governor presented his legislative
districting plan to the General Assembly and it
became law on February 24, 1973. Since it was
declared not to have been prepared in conformity
with the "public hearings" requirement, the
Court of Appeals invalidated it on July 31, 1973.
The Court of Appeals then established new
boundaries for the forty-seven legislative districts

clear space
clear space
white space

Please view image to verify text. To report an error, please contact us.
Maryland Manual, 1979-80
Volume 179, Page 29   View pdf image (33K)
 Jump to  

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

An Archives of Maryland electronic publication.
For information contact

©Copyright  August 02, 2018
Maryland State Archives