clear space clear space clear space white space
 r c h i v e s   o f   M a r y l a n d   O n l i n e

PLEASE NOTE: The searchable text below was computer generated and may contain typographical errors. Numerical typos are particularly troubling. Click “View pdf” to see the original document.

  Maryland State Archives | Index | Help | Search
search for:
clear space
white space
Maryland Manual, 1979-80
Volume 179, Page 257   View pdf image (33K)
 Jump to  
clear space clear space clear space white space

Transportation, the Secretary of Natural
Resources, and the Secretary of Health and Men-
tal Hygiene were made non-voting ex officio
members of the Council By Chapter 699, Acts of
1975, the Council also includes a representative of
a municipal corporation within the regional plan-
ning area appointed by the Governor on the ad-
vice of the chief executives of all the municipali-
ties in the area
By Executive Order on February 7, 1972, the
Governor assigned the Regional Planning Council
to the Department of State Planning for certain
administrative matters Basic responsibility for
policy, direction, and operations remains with the
membership of the Council
The Council's area of jurisdiction covers all of
Baltimore City and Anne Arundel, Baltimore,
Carroll, Harford, and Howard counties, and
encompasses an area of 2,259 square miles The
1970 Census shows that this metropolitan area
has a population of 2,070,670 The Regional
Planning Council is in effect a council of local
governments with State participation Its voting
membership of twenty-three persons consists of
three representatives from each of these six-mem-
ber jurisdictions, a member of the State Senate, a
member of the House of Delegates, an elected
municipal official, and two members-at-large The
last five members are appointed by the Governor
Of the three members from each of the six
junsdictions the following are members the May-
or of the City of Baltimore, the County
Executives of Baltimore, Anne Arundel, Harford,
and Howard countiesi the President of the
Baltimore City Council, the Chairperson of the
County Council in Baltimore, Anne Arundel,
Harford, and Howard counties, the President and
a member of the Board of County Commissioners
from Carroll County, and a member of the Plan-
ning Commissions or Advisory Boards of each of
the six-member junsdictions The elected officials
representing the six-member political subdivisions
have the right to designate an alternate to act in
their absence
The Regional Planning Council provides an
opportunity for its member governmental units to
work together with the State in dealing with com-
mon problems and planning for the future devel-
opment of the region
By law, the Council is required to reexamine,
revise if necessary, readopt, and republish the
General Development Plan for the region every
five years, with the next revision scheduled in
1982 Cnminal justice, transportation, housing,
recreation, water/sewer, solid waste, and environ-

mental planning are all facets of the Regional
Planning Council program The Regional Plan-
ning Council's work also encompasses socio-eco-
nomic analysis and evaluation of regional
problems and opportunities Housing, manpower
training, job placement, regional economy, and
coordination of statistical data resources are in-
cluded (Code 1957, Art 78D)
Chairperson Thomas A Rymer
Southern Maryland Legislative Delegation Ans
T Allen, Roydon P Dyson, William R
McCaffrey, Thomas V Mike Miller, John W
Quade, Thomas A Rymer, James C Simpson,
Michael J Sprague, Joseph F Vallano, John
W Wolfgang
County Commissioners C Bernard Fowler, H
Gordon Trueman, David M King, Eleanor F
Carnco, James Dent, Loretta Nimmernchter,
George R Aud, Richard D Arnold, J
Laurence Millison
Southern Maryland Municipal Association John
D Newman, Jr
Members-at-Large John Thomas Parran, Jr, J
Frank Railey, Anne Mohler
Non-Voting Members
County Economic Development Commissions
Ward Miller, Betsey Cooksey, Eugene Wood
County Planning Commissions Frank
Jocklitsch, Harry Stine, Joseph M Gough, Jr
Department of State Planning Richard A
Department of Economic and Community Devel-
opment Michael Kilpatnck
Executive Director Gerald C McKinney
Box 301
Waldorf 20601 Telephone 843-8367
The Tn-County Council for Southern Mary-
land was formed on December 6, 1964, to initiate
and coordinate plans and projects for the devel-
opment of human and economic resources in
Calvert, Charles, and St Mary's counties

clear space
clear space
white space

Please view image to verify text. To report an error, please contact us.
Maryland Manual, 1979-80
Volume 179, Page 257   View pdf image (33K)
 Jump to  

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

An Archives of Maryland electronic publication.
For information contact

©Copyright  October 06, 2023
Maryland State Archives