clear space clear space clear space white space
 r c h i v e s   o f   M a r y l a n d   O n l i n e

PLEASE NOTE: The searchable text below was computer generated and may contain typographical errors. Numerical typos are particularly troubling. Click “View pdf” to see the original document.

  Maryland State Archives | Index | Help | Search
search for:
clear space
white space
Maryland Manual, 1979-80
Volume 179, Page 25   View pdf image (33K)
 Jump to  
clear space clear space clear space white space

General Assembly Statutory Committees/25

By Chapter I of the Acts of the Second Special
Session of 1973, the Committee is required to re-
ceive emergency energy Executive Orders promul-
gated by the Governor. This legislative authority
has been updated annually.

Chapter 776, Acts of 1973, removed the Com-
mittee as an adjunct of the Legislative Council.
The Committee by law reports annually to the
Council (now the Legislative Policy Committee)
and the General Assembly.

The AELR Committee was added to the list of
agencies that receive copies of all the rules of
each State agency by Chapter 777, Acts of 1973.
Chapter 778, Acts of 1973, provided that certain
rules, regulations, or standards may be invalid
unless submitted to the Committee (Code 1957,
Art. 40, sec. 40A).


Chairperson: Victor L. Crawford
^"Ke-Chclirperso^t:lotm W. Douglass
James dark, Jr., President of the Senate
Rosalie S. Abrams, Senate Majority Floor Leader
Edward J. Mason, Senate Minority Floor Leader

Benjamin L. Cardin, Speaker of the House of

Donald B. Robertson, House Majority Floor

Raymond E. Beck, House Minority Floor Leader

Members appointed by the President of the Sen-
ate: Aris T. Allen, Tommie Broadwater, Jr.,
Arthur H. Helton, Jr., Julian L. Lapides, Ed-
ward J. Mason.

Members appointed by the Speaker of the House
of Delegates: Gerard F. Deviin, John R. Har-
greaves, R. Clayton Mitchell, Jr., Robert R.
Neall, Frank C. Robey, Jr.

The Joint Budget and Audit Committee, origi-
nally created by Chapter 456, Acts of 1968, had
its membership changed by Chapter 227, Acts of
1971. It consists of twenty members, including
the President of the Senate, the Speaker of the
House of Delegates, and the majority and minor-
ity floor leaders. The remaining members are

divided equally between legislators who serve on
the fiscal committees in the Senate and the House
of Delegates. The chairperson and vice
chairperson are named by joint action of the pre-
siding officers.

The Committee gives detailed review and
study of budget analysis, the capital budget,
fiscal policy, fiscal research, post audit, depart-
mental operation and efficiency within State
government, and other matters relating to fis-
cal matters. It receives annual reports on the
effect of long-term State debt on the State's
financial condition from the Executive Depart-
ment and the Department of Fiscal Services.
The Committee also reviews annually federally-
funded projects requiring future State funds
and nonbudgeted funds used for capital
programs, reviews rules and regulations that
require increased expenditures, establishes poli-
cies and directives for the Department of Fis-
cal Services, and submits an annual report to
the General Assembly (Code 1957, sees.


Co-Chairperson: Kay G. Bienen
Co-Chairperson: Julian L. Lapides

Members from the Senate: John A. Cade, Victor
Cushwa, Dennis F. Rasmussen.

Members from the House of Delegates: William
H. Amoss, Raymond E. Beck, Marilyn Gold- '

Ex officio members: James dark, Jr„ President of
the Senate; Benjamin L. Cardin, Speaker of the

The Joint Committee on Legislative Ethics
was established by Chapter 5, Acts of 1972.
The Committee consists of ten members, five
from the Senate and five from the House of
Delegates. The President of the Senate and the
Speaker of the House of Delegates serve ex offi-
cio and they appoint the remaining members
who serve at the pleasure of the President and
the Speaker.

The function of the Committee is to render ad-
visory opinions and promulgate rules of legisla-
tive ethics with respect to conflicts of interest
governing members of the General Assembly.
These rules are effective on a year-round basis
(Code 1957, Art. 40, sees. 89-91).

clear space
clear space
white space

Please view image to verify text. To report an error, please contact us.
Maryland Manual, 1979-80
Volume 179, Page 25   View pdf image (33K)
 Jump to  

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

An Archives of Maryland electronic publication.
For information contact

©Copyright  October 06, 2023
Maryland State Archives