clear space clear space clear space white space
 r c h i v e s   o f   M a r y l a n d   O n l i n e

PLEASE NOTE: The searchable text below was computer generated and may contain typographical errors. Numerical typos are particularly troubling. Click “View pdf” to see the original document.

  Maryland State Archives | Index | Help | Search
search for:
clear space
white space
Maryland Manual, 1977-78
Volume 178, Page 420   View pdf image (33K)
 Jump to  
clear space clear space clear space white space

Appeals Board (119)
T. Allan Stradley, Jr., Chairman 1978
Percy M. Hepbron 1977
H. Morris Davies, Jr. 1979
Edward P. Sutton, Alternate 1979
Sanitary Commission
Robert A. Moore, Chairman 1979
Bobby 0. Clark 1977
Medford C. Capel 1981
Board of Parks and Recreation""
G. Clifton Simns, Jr., Chairman 1977
S. Glyn Edwards, County
B. Reginald Cooper 1976
Margaret Dickerson 1976
Robert A. Edler 1976
Irving J. Hamilton 1976
Maryland Massey 1977
Samuel Sessa 1977
Roger Williams 1978
C. Dudley Orem, Jr., Director
Board of Electrical Examiners'"
Carl A. Gustafson, Sr. 1977
Richard L. Hudson 1977
C. Albert Raleigh 1977
Plumbing Boar (122)-
Anthony Johnson, Chairman 1977
Wesley Johnson 1978
Medford C. Capel 1979
C. Albert Raleigh 1980
S. Wickes Westcott 1981
Plumbing Inspector
Charles E. Boulter
Board of Liquor License
Board of County Commissioners,
ex officio
Liquor Inspector™
G. Thomas Williams
Liquor Control Board
Board of County Commissioners,
ex officio
Roads Engineer
William H. Ireland
District Engineer
James M. Wright
Extension Agents
William James Milliken
Thomas Mason
Jane B. Crouse
Carolyn Garrett
Soil Conservation District Supervisors
William Stanley Sutton,
Chairman (124)
S. Wickes Westcott 1977
Walter B. Harris, Jr. 1978
Wesley Kimble 1979
Charles S. Jacquette 1980
William James Milliken, Extension
Agent, Secretary

County Seat: Rockville 20850
Area: 506 sq. miles
Origin and Name of the County:
Named for the Revolutionary General
Richard Montgomery. The County was
created by the Constitutional Convention of
Population, 1970:
Montgomery County 522,809
Dist.1 Laytonsville 3,452
Dist. 2, Clarksburg 3,980
Dist.3,Poolesville 1,993
Dist. 4, Rockville 81,908
Dist. 5, Colesville 49,605
Dist. 6, Darnestown 4,999
Dist. 7, Bethesda 96,912
Dist. 8, Olney 12,890
Dist. 9, Gaithersburg 23,150
Dist. 10. Potomac 16,143
Dist. 1 1, Barnesville 2,266
Dist. 12, Damascus 6,372
Dist. 13, Wheaton 218,869
Estimated Population, 1976: 592,600
Court Terms:
Circuit Court—Jury, first Monday in March,
first Monday in October; non-jury, third
Monday in January, first Monday in June.
Orphans' Court Days — Every Tuesday,
Wednesday, and Thursday.
Courthouse Information Number: 279-1216
Resident Judges, Circuit Court
Ralph G. Shure 1991
Joseph M. Mathias 1981
Plummer M. Shearin 1983
H. Ralph Miller 1985
David L. Gaboon 1987
John F. McAuliffe 1989
Philip M. Fairbanks 1989
John J. Mitchell 1989
"' Appointed by the Board of County Commissioners for
3-year terms.
120 Consists of 9 members appointed by the Board of
County Commissioners for 4-year terms (Ch. 315, Acts
of 1968).
'" Created by Chapter 191, Acts of 1966.
"'" Consists of 5 members appointed by the Board of
County Commissioners for 5-year terms. One member is a
representative of the Master Plumbers Association of Kent
County. One member must be an architect, engineer or
builder, and 3 members must not be connected with the
plumbing or building trade (Ch. 400, Acts of 1968). The
Board appoints the Inspector.
123 Appointed by the Board of County Commissioners.
124 County appointee.

clear space
clear space
white space

Please view image to verify text. To report an error, please contact us.
Maryland Manual, 1977-78
Volume 178, Page 420   View pdf image (33K)
 Jump to  

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

An Archives of Maryland electronic publication.
For information contact

©Copyright  August 01, 2018
Maryland State Archives