clear space clear space clear space white space
 r c h i v e s   o f   M a r y l a n d   O n l i n e

PLEASE NOTE: The searchable text below was computer generated and may contain typographical errors. Numerical typos are particularly troubling. Click “View pdf” to see the original document.

  Maryland State Archives | Index | Help | Search
search for:
clear space
white space
Maryland Manual, 1977-78
Volume 178, Page 408   View pdf image (33K)
 Jump to  
clear space clear space clear space white space

Building Inspector (81)
Howard A. Townshend, Jr.
Zoning Administrator
James Meyers
Plumbing Inspector
Extension Agents
Martin R. Jones
Mark J. Manno
Linda K. Hawdaker
Channie F. Johnson
Barbara L. Cliff
H. Travis McPherson
Elizabeth Roberts
Soil! Conservation District
W. Mitchell Digges, Chairman 1976
Carl G. Walter'-'
Walter L. Bender, Vice Chairman 1978
Hugh C. Gardiner, III, Treasurer 1979
David W. Cooksey 1977
Martin R. Jones, Extension Agent,
County Seat: Cambridge 21613
Area: 688 sq. miles
Origin of Name of the County:
Named for the Earl of Dorset, a family
friend of the Calverts. The exact date and
the legal origin of the County are unknown,
but it was certainly in existence by Febru-
ary 16, 1668/69 when a writ was issued to
the sheriff of the County.
Population, 1970;
Dorchester County ............. 29,405
Dist.1, Fork 1,548
Dist. 2, East New Market 1,753
Dist. 3, Vienna 1,300
Dist. 4, Taylors Island 285
Dist. 5, Lakes 606
Dist. 6, Hoopers Island 712
Dist. 7, Cambridge 13,863
Dist. 8, Neck 806
Dist. 9, Church Creek 635
Dist. 10, Straits 754
Dist. 1 1, Drawbridge 108
Dist. 12, Williamsburg 1,027
Dist. 13, Bucktown 592
Dist. 14, Linkwood 2,086
Dist. 15, Hurlock 2,532
Dist. 16, Madison 357
Dist. 17, Salem 325
Dist. 18, Elliott 116
Estimated Population, 1976:29,300

Court Terms:
Circuit Court — First Monday in March
and October.
Orphans' Court Days — Every Tuesday.
Courthouse Information Number: 228-1700
Resident Judge, Circuit Court
Charles E. Edmondson 1991
District Court Judge
William B. Yates 11 1985
Thomas White, Administrative Clerk
Charles C. Hillyer, Clerk
Clerk, Circuit Court
Philip L. Cannon 1978
Slate's Attorney
Maurice C.' Lewis, Jr. 1978
James Ira Johnson 1978
Register of Wills
Mrs. Doris K. Lewis 1978
fudges of Orphans' Court
John J. Barth, Chief Judge 1978
Kathleen Henry Coil 1978
George B. Todd 1978
District Public Defender
Alfred T, Truitt, Jr.
Hoard of County Commissioners
Leonard W. Dayton, President 1978
Theodore L. Bramble 1978
Philip G. D'Adamo 1978
Thomas A. Flowers 1978
Calvin Travers 1978
Robert K. Lloyd, Administrative
E. Thomas Merryweather, Attorney
Richard D. Harrington, Deputy
Frederick W. Lucas 1979
Supervisor of Assessments
Arthur S. Parker
Property Tax Assessments
Appeals Board
William David Robbins, Chairman 1977
Edward Conway 1978
Donald R. Stevens 1979
Board of Supervisors of Elections
Leon E. Lewis, Sr., Chairman 1977
" Appointed by the Board of County Commissioners (Ch.
82, Acts of 1967)
"82 County appointee
*' Title changed by Chapter 199. Acts of 1976.

clear space
clear space
white space

Please view image to verify text. To report an error, please contact us.
Maryland Manual, 1977-78
Volume 178, Page 408   View pdf image (33K)
 Jump to  

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

An Archives of Maryland electronic publication.
For information contact

©Copyright  October 06, 2023
Maryland State Archives