clear space clear space clear space white space
 r c h i v e s   o f   M a r y l a n d   O n l i n e

PLEASE NOTE: The searchable text below was computer generated and may contain typographical errors. Numerical typos are particularly troubling. Click “View pdf” to see the original document.

  Maryland State Archives | Index | Help | Search
search for:
clear space
white space
Maryland Manual, 1977-78
Volume 178, Page 319   View pdf image (33K)
 Jump to  
clear space clear space clear space white space

Stewart A. Brooks, M.Ed., Assistant to the
Hillen Road at Cold Spring Lane,
Baltimore 21239 Telephone: 893-3200
Morgan State College was organized in
1867, under the auspices of the Methodist
Episcopal Church, as the Centenary Biblical
Institute. In 1890, the school's name was
changed to Morgan College in honor of Dr.
Lyttleton Morgan, whose gift of a large sum
of money enabled the school to offer aca-
demic work at the college level. The school
remained under church jurisdiction until the
State of Maryland purchased it in 1939.
By Chapter 550, Acts of 1975, Morgan
State was granted university status. A public
University, Morgan now includes the Schools
of Business and Management, Urban Stud-
ies and Human Development, Education,
Graduate Studies and a College of Arts and
The University is governed by a Board
of Trustees consisting of twelve members
appointed by the Governor for six year
terms. Six of those first appointed were
selected from the former Board of Trustees
of Morgan State College. By Chapter 538,
Acts of 1976, a student in good standing
at the University appointed for a one year
term, became a member of the Board.
The University is fully accredited by the
Middle States Association of Colleges and
Secondary Schools and the State Depart-
ment of Education. It is also approved by
the Regents of the University of the State
of New York, the American Chemical So-
ciety, the American Medical Association,
and the Maryland State Board of Public
The University, which consists of twenty-
two departments, offers twenty-eight bac-
calaureate and twenty Master's degree pro-
grams. The faculty, which approves of all
academic programs, consists of 65 full pro-
fessors, 70 associate professors, 81 assistant
professors, 60 instructors, and 7 assistant
instructors. A staff of 467 persons also serv-
ices the University.
During the academic year 1975-76, 6,361
students were enrolled at Morgan. Four

thousand seven (4,007) were full-time stu-
dents and 1,854 were part-time students
(Code 1957, 1975 Repl. Vol., 1975 Supp.,
Art. 77A, sees. 71-82).
Staff: Professional and Faculty: 406;
Classified Service: 344.
Chairman: James R. Worsley, Jr.
Ex officio members: James B. Coulter, Sec-
retary, Department of Natural Resources;
Vladimir A. Wahbe, Secretary, Depart-
ment of State Planning; Robert J. Mc-
Leod, General Manager, Washington Sub-
urban Sanitary Commission.
Appointed members: Arthur T. Bond, mem-
ber, and John J. Coyle, alternate, Alle-
gany County Board of County Commis-
sioners: Donald L. Lewis, member, and
Paul L. Crum, Jr., alternate, Frederick
County Board of County Commissioners;
Dan S. Bender, member, and George C.
Edwards, alternate, Garrelt County Board
of County Commissioners; Dickran Y.
Hovsepian, member, and John L. Menke,
alternate, Montgomery County Council;
Francis B. Francois, member, and Wil-
liam B. Amonett, alternate. Prince
George's County Council; W. Keller Nigh
III, member, and R. Lee Downey, alter-
nate, Washington County Board of
County Commissioners.
Water Resources Administration,
Tawes State Office Building,
Annapolis 21401 Telephone: 269-3846
The Maryland Potomac Water Authority,
created by Chapter 411, Acts of 1969, con-
sists of ten members of whom the Secretary
of Natural Resources, the Secretary of State
Planning, and the General Manager of the
Washington Suburban Sanitary District are
ex officio and non-voting members. The
governing bodies of each of the represented
counties within the Authority's jurisdiction
namely Allegany, Frederick, Garrett, Mont-
gomery, Prince George's, and Washington
counties appoints one of its members to
serve on the Authority. An additional mem-
ber serves as an alternate. All members may
vote except the Garrett County member

clear space
clear space
white space

Please view image to verify text. To report an error, please contact us.
Maryland Manual, 1977-78
Volume 178, Page 319   View pdf image (33K)
 Jump to  

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

An Archives of Maryland electronic publication.
For information contact

©Copyright  October 06, 2023
Maryland State Archives